Kid reviews for The Book of Henry

Common Sense says

Muddled dramedy deals with dark, disturbing topics.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 8 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 16 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byNZkool19 June 17, 2017

Heavy themes

I loved this movie I gave it 16 and up because the overall theme of the movie is upsetting a boy dies and his mother pulls off his plan to murder his neighbors step father because he has been raping her and in one scene we see a boy on the floor mhaving a seizer and his brother yells for their mom

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCalifeet June 18, 2017
Kid, 11 years old June 20, 2017

Best movie since La La Land

Wow. This movie basically changed my life. A story of two young boys, a single mom, and the girl next door who is living a terrible life. There is a lot more mature topics, but this movie is overall amazing. There is some swearing, drinking, and Naomi Watts almost murdering someone, but in the end she redeems herself. Great movie but I would recommend it for age 12 and up.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byevaiforever June 29, 2017

Breaks your heart and puts it back together again

I honestly didn't think that this movie was going to be as amazing as it was. The movie was shocking and heart breaking (for reasons I can't say because I will spoil the movie) as well as joyful and beautiful. Everyone can learn so much from this movie. It's a great tale of "good always prevails." It's also a tale of child abuse and it will make the public more aware of what goes on in the world. Therefore, I believe that everyone should see this movie, with friends and family.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJsci26 June 28, 2017

Sad but amazing!

The plot line was very sad, but insanely enthralling. The resolution was very settling and happy and every movie has to have at least one hardship. I thought the plot was so good and interesting and well thought out. One of my favorite movies, if not my favorite.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMirandahedgehog07 July 4, 2017

Great movie

Besides all of the negative reviews, I thought this movie was very good. It definitely is aimed towards older kids/teens though.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 9, 2018

Great Lesson

When I watch this this movie With my little sister she got confused on some part it was a little hard to explain to her what was happening without giving her too much information I think this movie was Amazing. However there is a scene in the movie where the mother decides to listen to her 11-year-old son Henry in which she decides to almost murder her neighbor but after it is almost like a fairytale the daughter of the neighbor who had been harassing his daughter is given to Henry’s mother and they all live happily ever after

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byXxCharlottexX June 2, 2018

Pretty great

Honestly I believe that there should be more movies alike this movie, I understand this is a dark subject but this does happen in real life and this movie shows it perfectly I strongly recommend this film xx

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old April 10, 2018

Book of Henry review

This film has some very violent topics but I think that 12 year olds up can cope with this. If you disagree then please comment down below but it also shows that abuse is very wrong and there are no exuses. It stars Maddie Ziegler who is my role model and Naomi Watts. Over all I think that the film should only be watched by children/teens/adults 12 and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written byxmoon January 17, 2018

really good

i think this movie was good. it was dark, intense, makes you want more. some people may be offended or even cry because it's a sad movie. however, there is some swearing and abuse (not shown) going on which may trigger some people

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byteenreview December 13, 2017

Better Than Expected!

Many critics have been calling this movie bad and not worth watching. I watched this because I love Jaeden Lieberher's work, and now I love it for many more reasons. The plot is very heartbreaking and dark, but by the end it really lifts your heart and puts things into perspective. Although the movie contained things a child probably should'nt be doing (putting together a dark plot to murder someone), there were many positive aspects.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byhrose2903 October 20, 2017

Incredible story, makes me cry every time.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bynajaahmad123456789 September 18, 2017

hej

love this movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 16 years old Written byphoebeforbe1 July 6, 2017

the book of henry

I think that the plot is disjointed and confusing But the actors are good especially Maddie Z who plays Christina who really captures you attention

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Kid, 12 years old August 14, 2018

Dark movie but overall amazing

This movie is amazing but wouldn’t recommend to anyone under 12 because of death and emotionally upsetting scenes. There is no actual child abuse but there is quite a few references to it and strong language but very infrequent.the 11 year old Henry dies and he has left a plan that he was planning to do himself but left it for his mum and it was to kill the person nextdoor who is abusing his stepdaughter and the mum thought Henry knew what he was doing but he wasn’t really so she didn’t do it make Henry not a good role model. But children aged 12 and up will really enjoy it if they are mature enough

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bykaliweb July 23, 2018

Quality Movie with Great Messages

This movie was really amazing. It’s very sad, but has great messages and is definitely a must watch. This movie deals with very very dark issues but always in a way that isn’t gory or raw or obvious. The characters are real role models, and the story delivers. I would definitely recommend for 10-11 and up depending on your child’s maturity level.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking