All parent member reviews for The Departed

Parents say

(out of 30 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written byMzMonique June 4, 2009

Although, GREAT FILM ...Not even a movie I would EVER chose to watch with my children!

First saw the beginning of this movie on cable channel (that censored some of the profanity) I was not able to finish it and ended up borrowing it from a library. For some reason I watched it by myself instead of watching it with my family first - GREAT CHOICE. I was definitely pulled in by the plot and characters! Fantastic job in script and directing. However, that MAIN things that turned me off was the excessive PROFANITY AND SEXUAL CONTENT OF JOKES. In addition, to the profanity, sexual innuendos and jokes the scene in the porno theater is what got me the most! Nicholsons character acts as if he is sexually gratifying himself and acts as if he is pulling out his penis!!! Well, the camera actually shows one! I was a bit taken aback and glad that I did not watch it with my children or anyone else! Like I said-- great plot and fantastic acting, directing and filming but the profanity, sexual jokes and nudity was not necessary. No one under 17 or 18 should see this movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bySam Marrick March 14, 2016

See it! Not for Kids at all but see it with them anyway!!!

NON STOP profanity with MANY memorable uses of each word especially with is thesaurus wide variety of F and C word varients along with hateful slurs on race and gender. I was waiting for the Halo announcer to start calling out all the headshots in the movie especially gowards the end. Some (most only show brief squirts ) accompanied with graphic noises and lots of splattered blood. Yet all are depicted with a sense of sadistic or cold brutality (like the couple executed in the beginning who the killer sez fell funny) One character is shot multiple times until he starts couphing up blood like a volcano. Several beatings, some have bloody faces and knocked out teeth. A man is thrown out a window with messy results and a protagonist ends up splattered with his blood and we see the body with a blood pool around it. A shootout commences shortly after with one causualty who we later see is very bloody before he succumbs to his injuries. A man is stabbed bloodlessly. A man is beaten over the head with a painting (glass shatters) and is shot in the knee (blood violently pours out). A few men are shot in a junkyard with brief blood spurts. One of whom is shot below the neck (he covers his wound without much blood) before shooting himself in the head (off screen). A scene in a XXX theater shows suggestive activity but no nudity or explicit acts. A brief sexual prelude shows a woman in a thong with a shirtless man. Several graphic sexual references include oral sex, impotence, masturbation, periods, and a lewd doodle of a nun. A scene shows the antagonist throwing cocaine in the air in reat amounts and a hooker presumable goes to snort some. We later see him inspecting a large shipment of cocaine. GREAT MOVIE THAT ACTUALLY DESERVES ITS OSCARS! NUFF SAID!
Adult Written byhappiday April 9, 2008
Adult Written byRachel D April 9, 2008

not recommended

Very violent, lots of language and a surprise but depressing ending. Nothing very good to say for it except well done acting. How come the award winners are usually the movies that are crummy?
Adult Written bycutypa2ty April 9, 2008

Way graffic

Okay, this movie was probably the most graffic movie I have seen(but I don't usually watch many graffic films). I have to admit the story line was captivating . . . otherwise I would've just turned it off. But the story line was a bit disappointing as there was no happy ending. There was nothing really uplifting or positive about the film at all . . . just a movie of people who made really horrible decisions, evil decisions, and the web they created for themselves because of it. They all got their just rewards I guess, but it was just horrible. Why make a movie like this? What is the point? I was hoping for redemption at some point, but never got it.
Adult Written bydarthsitkur December 11, 2015

Another great gangster movie by Scorsese

Martin Scorsese NEVER makes a bad movie
Parent Written bygrapelover46 September 13, 2012

It's a good movie.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 year old Written byTheMichaelgs August 1, 2010

not for kids

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byGinger Locks April 27, 2010

Best movie of 2006

I really enjoy watching this movie, lots of twist and turns, suspense, action, just a all around good movie. Not for kids under 15 though, I was pretty immune to the swearing/violence/sex, but then again, lots of adults would probably not feel comfortable watching this.
Parent Written byPlague March 5, 2010

The Departed

A fantastic thriller with an amazing cast. The younger population might find it hard to follow the plot, but a good movie for adults and teens.
Adult Written byuytt2 December 17, 2009

watch it with your oldest son

really good i expected it to be like the other scorcesse movies but it really brought something new
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byiamthepinkcupcake November 14, 2009

Cover Your Ears

The language in this movie was so offensive I could only manage to watch half of it and even then I felt like I needed a bath. I couldn't even keep up with the conversation for the superfluous cursing. My boyfriend did watch it in its entirety and commented that after a while he just got oblivious to the language. Personally, that's not something I want to get numb to.
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009

okay

pretty good movie 16 and over
Adult Written bymoviemadness April 22, 2009

Fantastic Film -not for kids

The Departed is, without doubt, one of the five best movies that I have ever seen. It is excellently written, acted, and filmed. It is also brutally and graphically violent. Bloody murders, shootings, and graphic facial expressions to go along with them abound. Literally every sentence contains some sort of f__k, s__t, p___y,c__t, p___k, and other expletives. Sex is not much of an issue, but sexual dialogue is frequent and graphic. Characters drink and abuse drugs to cope with the horrors of their jobs. Not a movie for kids, tweens, or most teens. Excellent film! Well worth every second.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 28, 2009

Violent, well-done thriller. Not for kids

Adult Written bymathu April 9, 2008

good movie- bad stuff

this movie was awesome. it deserved best picture, but the sex, violence, and language made it hard to sit through this gangster epic. it is for adults and adults only
Adult Written byelmatador666 April 9, 2008

Great movie, very graphic

This film definately deserved best pic. I thought it was absolutely amazing. It is definately for adults because of the cussing throughout, intense violence, and other things.
Adult Written byjzfields1 April 9, 2008

Very Good, yet disturbing movie

I saw this movie shortly after it won the academy award mostly for that reason and because of all the all star actors! I wasn't dissapointed! The movie proved to be very interesting and smart. Although violence, and language proved to be EXTREMELY bad, the movie was fun to watch if you could ignore all of it... One of my favorites! And fyi Nicholson's performance as Frank Costello is one of the best all-time performances!!!
Adult Written byProspero06 April 9, 2008

An American Tragedy

Martin Scorsese has made a matching masterpiece to his historical film "Gangs of New York". Now, it's the Boston Irish, cops versus thugs on both sides. Want to be a Cop? Check out the Rough-Rider aspects of this genius' film. Want to live a life of honor? This may give you a hint as to the price to be paid. What is an 11-year-old doing in a movie theatre with this violent epic playing. Want to witness how men speak/relate in a Police Trooper environment. You can learn maore than enough here. How old most you be to witness a Masterpiece of Cinema Art and elegant writing? I was 16 when I saw "La Strada" and it changed my life; I discovered what was living reality versus the "Man in the Grey Flannel Suit" supposed culture of the 1950s. It made me the man I am today. I am eternally grateful to my older brother--ten years older!--to think that I should see Federico Fellini's master work. So, think carefully before you go to see this film; think carefully before you take a little brother or sister to see this film, but it is real, indeed, and speaks to us as reality speaks to us, rough-shod, broken and sometimes beautiful.
Adult Written bysfilbey@comcast.net April 9, 2008
Extremely violent! images of heads being shot off, women being murdered, detective being thrown off a building and picture of him landing. Definitely not for any 9/11 survivors! Yes the acting is good and it keeps you hardly breathing thoughout, but I would have felt better if I had seen a romantic comedy. Very disturbing story, and basically everyone gets killed in the end. Life is brutal enough, do I really have to pay to see more of it?

Pages