All teen and kid member reviews for The Descendants

Kids say

(out of 18 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old December 13, 2011

Thought-Provoking and Beautiful Film

I know I've been handing out many positive reviews lately, but only because I know which movies to watch. This is a lovely film. The second half is much better than the first half. That said, it never really drags and has good cinematography, good acting, and absolutely Oscar-worthy editing. Critics don't lie, the public doesn't lie. There are a few concerns for parents, though. Lots of language, and almost all of the language is spoken by teens, so kids may receive mixed messages on profanity. It's very moving, and may even be too sad for younger viewers. It's really not only the language that makes it for older kids or teens; it's also the subject matter. Not for kids anyway, unless the child is very intellectual, intelligent, mature, and patient.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2012

Amazing!!!!! :)

I love this movie!!!!!!! I am nine, and I saw it. The only bad stuff is the language, but it is a great movie and Mummy didn't mind me seeing it. It should not be R rated, but it has lots of bad words, so I know that it is for a reason. Mummy says nine is a good age, but no younger. My sisters (they're thirteen, fifteen, seventeen, and one) all saw it except for my baby sister Lenny. It's super great! Star :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2014

Amazing

It was a good movie with much swearing. It is iffy for anyone under 15. It has a great movie that shows a real family
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMaWalker66 April 22, 2014

Good Movie

Absolutely No Violence or Sexual Content Is only R for 20 F Words Which isn't that much and most of it comes from one character it's not that sad should possibly be PG-13 and could definitely be PG if there were no swears if you are 8 and up you should watch this movie It's pretty good, but not amazing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybeautifuldarkness December 25, 2012

Great for 13 and up!

The Descendants is a VERY touching movie. the whole story bases around George Clooney trying to find out who was having an affair with his wife who is currently in a coma. The few problems in the film are 1) Language, shows a -lot of swear words coming from a 10 year old (Whore and middle finger.) and a lot of uses of the f-word and the s-word. 2) Sex- an issue of an 11 year old wanting to watch porn, and the whole story revolves around the affair the wife has. 3) A-lot of drinking drugs and smoking from the 17 year old who is trying to get back on track.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byC202C November 10, 2012

Good movie. 10 and up.

It is a really good movie. It's really sad though. There is nothing to bad in this movie. The kids do some bad things, but I don't think your kids will want to be like them!! Nothing bad is shown it is just said that one of the kids did drugs, the mom had an affair, and the kids use some bad language. It is no big deal. The movie was really interesting and it is really moving. I must of cried like 6 different times throughout the movie!! The only thing is the little kids won't even understand the movie until they are at least 10, so that is the only reason why I choose for kids 10 and up.
Kid, 10 years old September 10, 2012

Only Bad Words

I know it's rated R,but I kind of saw anyway. It's depressing,but funny. The bad words were really annoying. But the acting is spectacular.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byILuvCandy August 6, 2012

only for 13

I cried soo much but i loved it! i watched it with my 9 year old cuzzin and she didnt get wat it wz about!! so only 13+ watch it!!
Kid, 9 years old July 7, 2012

It makes you think.

The movie was great it may be intense for some kids. I laughed I cried but it still has issues. There was alot of sex talk because that is in the plot point. And there was issues with an 11 or 12 year old wanting to watch porn. It was an amazing story of an affair and jealousy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. June 23, 2012

Great move has tons of heart, and lots of kindness. One of my favorite

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobbyboyfye16 April 1, 2012

kmol78

Fantastic well made Dramedy is sad but really touching and remarkable.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 31, 2012

Amazing

I loved this movie! The swearing was not appropriate for younger viewers but the role models were improving as the movie went on. Basically, when tragedy stroke, they pulled together as had to accept that life is not perfect; messy is a good word for it. Recommend to any mature person over the age of 14
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 25, 2012

The Descendants

This was a heartwarming and sad film. Some punches were thrown. A major plot point is about an affair. 'Porn' is mentioned. Language is used occasionally, and Alex gets hungover. This was an amazing movie that was very sad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 26, 2012

A Must See

I think it is a great movie that I could watch over and over again, it is a comedy with drama. It gives you an idea of what Hawaii is really like I saw it and enjoyed it. It left me with tears and a smile on my face :), there is a lot of bad language but it gives kazam!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byWillML January 26, 2012

Shailene Woodley Stole the Entire Film

The thing that surprised me about The Descendants was that it seemed like the cast was way too weak compared to Shailene Woodley (including George Clooney). Ms. Woodley was incredible and spontaneous and made everyone else look like they were in some sort of community theatre piece. The Descendants did do wonderful things for me though. The writing was magnificent and it makes you cry and laugh and feel the pain that this family goes through. My major complaint was that while I was watching it, I knew that I was watching a movie, which is not a good thing. When watching a movie that strives to be as touching and good as it is, it's incredible when you find yourself lost in the story, but I didn't find myself in that situation. I definitely recommend this film to all, yet it has its minor flaws.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bythemoviejunkie January 7, 2012

Simply Amazing

This is a beautiful and utterly relevant film. I beg you to let your kid see this. I laughed, I cried, and I gobbled down popcorn. Do not let the language prevent your child(ren) from seeing this film, they will have missed out on one of the best movies of their life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 19, 2011

One of 2011's best offerings

"The Descendants" will definitely pull at your heart, but the rich characters in it that make it so relatable make the journey all worth it. The scenery's beautiful, the script is great, with good lines (Grampa says to Sid "I'm gonna hit you now" and punches him in the face, my favorite part) and outstanding acting with Oscar-worthy performances from Clooney and especially Woodley. Take older teens for this one.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 18, 2011

:D

Really moving. A must see.