Kid reviews for The Fast and the Furious

Common Sense says

Flashy street-racing movie with violence, profanity, sexism.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 32 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byfoxirox March 23, 2010

good

ok so how can you think this is a bad movie. seriously? action packed series gives this movie quite an adrenaline rush

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written byMiranda B. February 3, 2011

Movie shows excellent rendition of street racing, though filled with inappropiate content for younger eyes and ears.

People say this movie is crappy, well you gotta cut it a little slack because it was made way back in 2001. So maybe the action level and visual effects weren't enough for some... I though it was a very well made movie. The camera really captured the nitty gritty side of street racing. There is a lot of language and violence though (oil is poured into a man's mouth and a main character is trapped against a moving gas truck, which is shown in great and bloody detail) the n-word and other language is also used. The casting was great, especially Vin Diesel as Dominic Toretto, Paul Walker as Brian O'Conner, and the extremely beautiful Jordana Brewster as Mia Toretto. The language, violence, poor choices, and flashy cars will not mix well with those under 14 years old.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheHonestGuy July 9, 2014

Decent action movie, pretty violent

I watched this movie a few years ago when I was maybe 11 or 12 and it was probably not the best thing for me to see. There is a lot of sexual content. At one point a man and a woman make out very intensely and the man buries his face in the woman's breasts (as a song plays in the background which says "I don't give a sh*t about it) which was confusing for me and very awkward with my family. As a race starts a man puts his hand under his girlfriend's shirt and grabs one of her breasts. As far as violence goes, there are a lot of shootings and beatings. Some blood and standard stuff that shouldn't bother your kids. However, there were several parts that disturbed me as a child. At one point gangsters torture their mechanic by shoving an oil pump down his throat and pumping oil into him. The lead gangster then forces him to kiss his shoes and kicks him in the face. This sequence was particularly disturbing to me. A also vaguely recall a point where a man is beaten over the head with a shotgun and interrogated. Other than that the violence isn't too bad. Standard action stuff. There is quite a bit of language and illegal content involving drugs. All I can say is if you think your kids can handle this then let them watch it. Make sure they are mature enough so that this bad behavior doesn't rub off on them. Common Sense way overreacted in saying "this is a bad, bad movie."

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 December 30, 2013

thrilling, bloody, raucnhy, and not for young car lovers

I had seen the last 2 in the series before I saw this one, and it was good, but not what I was expecting. It is more graphic, explicit, and raunchy than the 5th and 6th movies. but this movie was good nonetheless, even though most of the movie is fit for older kids. there are many violent instances, including shootouts, car chases, car crashes, beatings, bloody wounds, an explosion, and a graphic torture scene with motor oil. there are plenty of shots of scantily clad women, along with scenes involving touching certain areas. there is also a scene with a topless man and woman in bed, presumably after sex, though they start caressing each other shortly after. the language is extremely strong for a PG-13, with fa**ot used in the first few minutes, and later, one fully enunciated f**k and the N word. other obscenities include sh*t, bulls**t, a**, b***h, and others. characters smoke and drink heavily during the movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byPaulWalker4life April 8, 2015

Amazing

Literally the best movie I've ever seen. the whole franchise is so good. id die for these movies. some things are iffy for kids under 12, but nothing that this generation cant handle.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylololololol42 July 1, 2013

dond watch

bad show

This title contains:

Positive role models
Kid, 8 years old June 27, 2015

Insanely violent, thriller is very racy and has tons of strong language.

My rating:R for strong sequences of violence, intense sequences of frenetic gun violence, pervasive language, and strong racy content.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySuperheroguy77 August 2, 2014

Great movie

Common Sense Media are being too harsh on this brilliant movie the violence is just at the same level as any other movie in the series so the violence is 3/5 despite stupid common sense thinking its 5/5
Teen, 13 years old Written bydabossmatt January 1, 2018

Cops, Guns and Cars

Great movie, some ‘romance’ no nudity. Cars, guns are used and one man is shot, cars crash and some volence is used. Should be a 12 but I can see why some class it as a 15.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTotally500 June 22, 2011

The Fast Is Right

This is a great action film with lots of action and suspense best film ever

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byUnknownpearson May 30, 2013

Good

The movie is great but language includes F--k s--t a-s h--l d--n the n word B---h c--p and more Dom and petty are naked in the shower kissing

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag November 29, 2012

Cars, skimpy dresses and action dominate this poorly written drama-thriller hybrid.

"The Fast and the Furious" is a drama/thriller/action movie by Rob Cohen. Explosions, girls wearing skimpy dresses and illegal drug races - that's pretty much all to expect from this movie. Like its sequels, this movie is made especially for people who are intersted in cars and action movies, especially the male ones. But for all the other viewers, out of the target group, there is not much to see. It desperately tries to connect the sequences of car races and action with a storyline, the script is very poorly written and has questionable messages. It is a story of friendship, yes, but the movie makes it look like being befriended with a gangster is an excuse of letting him do anything. You have to keep in mind that the protagonist is an undercover cop. Women are nothing more than the male protagonist's accessoirs, rather than having any personality or any contribution to the plot. The actors are so-so - they are not overacting, but there are no memorable performances. Overall, t is not the worst movie, at least it has a plot, and some entertaining content, but still, the screenplay is very weak, the messages and the depictions of women are bad and the movie as a whole is a very shallow and disappointing movie. (NOTE: Because of all the gender-based informations given here, i want to note that i am male. I just want to support women's rights) ---------------------------------------------- The movie is a pretty accurate PG-13. A man is tortured by having motor oil spilled over him. A man's arm is stuck in a truck, is shot and gets very bloody. Many shootings, a violent undertone. One use of the f-word, several other tems such as s--t and d--n. Some racist or homophobic terms. A sexual innuendo, but no sex or nudity. A man grabs a woman's breasts. It is an average PG-13, if you don't mind it has bad messages and questionable messages. Should be okay for teens and up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr. Tights June 5, 2012

Okay movie

If I could rate this it would be: PG-13 Violence, language and some senuality

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byCahpoewn January 13, 2018

Great movie, but could have been better without profanity and sex

Definitely not for kids under 13. Movie has interesting plot, but there is too much profanity and sex that takes away from the rest of it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Kid, 11 years old April 24, 2014

Good movie

Very good movie with some violence and blood moderate cursing but overall very good

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 10 years old October 30, 2010

awsome!

awsome! a lot of bad stuff like 2 girls kiss long and they use both f words f**k u and fa**ot and the n word. they got the rating wrong. its pg-13 for violence, sexual content, and language. overall 1 of my fav movies!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byMoviecritic777 April 5, 2015

It's not as bad as it looks

The movie has a lot of life. The stylish plot about street racing is what keeps the movie going. the acting may not be that great but besides that the action and violence is very awesome. With all of these elements the fast and the furious keeps being backs memories of the tv shows of the 1950's and classics.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 8, 2011

i rate this title IFFY for 13+

What to watch out for * Role models: Gangs mostly divide along racial lines, strong women characters but also many bimbos. * Violence: Chases, shoot-outs, characters injured and killed Charaters in peril * Sex: Sexual references and brief sexual situation, bimbo behavior * Language: Very strong language, including the n-word * Consumerism: Not an issue. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Characters drink and smoke

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byRocketsfan05 October 25, 2010

Anyone 11 or 12 or older should be able to handle it.

Nothing too bad. In terms of cinema, I liked it, but not as much as the newest one.
Kid, 11 years old July 12, 2018

be fast be furious

its really good but the scene where vince gets his hand stuck to the car is very bloody

Pages