All parent member reviews for The Hurt Locker

Parents say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent Written byagenthappyman July 20, 2012

War violence

Lots of alcohal use, war violence, and religious exclamanitions.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFiggy66 July 26, 2010

Ok for 13 and up

My favorite movie, sooooooo good very sad and gory.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPlague March 8, 2010

The Hurt Locker

This is a really stunning thiller. I'm a big, big fan of war movies, that this is one of my new all time favorites.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 15 and 17 year old Written bycitizenhope July 31, 2009

Great movie for seventeen and up.

I thought the movie was very well done. My husband loved it. It is very complex and realistic so younger kids would be negatively impacted and probably would not understand its significance. This is really a movie for 17 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byharris231 September 10, 2012

Lots of swearing.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byHonestreviewer October 22, 2010

Fantastic war movie

Great movie, it's about a bomb tech in iraq (to put it shortly). The body bomb is pretty sad. But that's what makes this movie so good! It's real (not literally) but it feels like it could be.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written by4Spice September 16, 2010

great

this movie is the best war movie i've seen so far it has a perfect story line it shows whats really going on in the war in iraq watch but know kids 16 and over for violence and blood and some language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2, 8, and 11 year old Written byDa Nerd March 27, 2010

Adults ONLY!

BLA! I saw it and is was waaay to bad for MY kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byREDSOX101 February 28, 2010

And The Winner For Best Picture Is... The Hurt Locker!

Greatest movie of 2009. If it doesn't win best picture then I'll be pretty mad. The academy gets so much wrong. Slumdog over Benjamin Button? No Country over There Will Be Blood? Blasphemy!!! This film is great. I reccommend it to any person over 13. Some of the most intense war scenes I've ever seen.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byTiredofSexScenes January 25, 2010
I did not find it very interesting myself, my husband found it fine, nothing really special though. Was not one of the better movies that have been done over the years about war. I think its good for older kids to see how things are in war situations if they are accompanied by an adult to talk about things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 year old Written byMaxmum August 28, 2009

Will blow adults away; hurtful for the less mature...

This is a quality film which is both exciting and thought-provoking. Teens may have heard it's "cool" and be interested, but it is not appropriate for youth - certainly not without adult accompaniment. It is very realisticly violent, and the themes need a mature understanding.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models