All teen and kid member reviews for The Hurt Locker

Kids say

(out of 31 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byGoodActionMovieFan7 August 5, 2012

Movie reviews from a teenager: The Hurt Locker

Wow. I've never been this moved by a movie before. 'The Hurt Locker' is tough, serious, moving and very well put together. This movie, Jeremy Renner and all of the actors were outstanding. The concept, story, everything was just, whoa. Here is the list of content that parents might want to consider. Language: frequent uses of 'f**k', 'sh**', 'da**', 'a**', 'b***h' and other expletives. The film contains the realistic use of salty language used in a warzone. In one scene, Will gives another teammate 'the finger'. Violence: This is a war movie, so there is a lot of violence in the film. Many explosions occur in the film. A person has a bomb strapped to them and is blown up, a boy's body is found with a bomb inside the body and is gruesomely removed. Blood is shown on characters after close calls, blood is shown splattering after characters are shot. Many people are shot and killed and blood is shown frequently. Two soldiers have a brief brawl, a few punches are exchanged. Positive role models: The main character, Will James, (Jeremy Renner), is a 'live on the edge' kind of guy, who enjoys the thrill of almost dying. This quality is not what I'd particularly call good, but later in the movie Will realizes how he puts others in danger with his actions. He is brave (to the point of foolishness) and calm in tight and dangerous situations. But is being fearless always a good thing? Overall I'd give this movie five stars because it simply deserves it. 'The Hurt Locker' is definately one of my all-time favorite movies now. I would suggest that ages 16 and up see this due to the movie's graphic content.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 12, 2010

It is fine for a ten year old.

Great movie. MUst see watch it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byNitro_Python November 17, 2013

G

Very good movie, with a lot of language and violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 October 27, 2012

War is a drug

This EXTREMELY tense Iraq war drama features brave performances by Renner, Mackie, and Geraghty, the film's leads. Especially Renner, though. His James isn't a psychopath, more of a renegade, but he gives off this "What's he gonna do next?" vibe. The set pieces in Iraq are cruel and unforgettable, the imagery burned into your head long after filming. I can see why this took home Best Picture back in 2009, it's very thrilling, and well directed. It requires viewing from any film buff!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old September 19, 2010

Great modern war movie, expressed realisticly.

This movie is a pretty good and realistic view of the Iraq war, not World War 2, as most of this genre is based on. Violence, but not always, is present throughout the movie, and sexual jokes are made. In one scene, a bomb specialist has to disarm a bomb in a dead boy's body, which this guy knows pretty personally, and can frighten some viewers. When shots are fired at insurgents, sprays of blood can be seen, but will disappear in a few frames. But, sometimes situations in this movie can be solved peacefully, and when violence is present, the soldiers normally shoot the baddies. As in most war movies, vulgar language can be heard, such as f---, a--, b----, and two D words (you probably know those). In somewhere in the end, the message is expressed as "war is a drug, and you can't get away from the addiction" when the main character tells his baby son that everything that mattered to him then would not matter in the future, leaving only one thing that mattered, so this movie's message is both good and bad. What I don't like about this movie is that plot isn't that great and you can ask questions in the end. Other than that, great movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJasonr July 1, 2010

Good but sad movie

This movie is a sad movie like when the main character finds a boy he knows dead and bloody with a bomb inside. Language was also a problem because the characters said f--k and even one use of the n word. Role models aren't the best because two soldiers almost blow up their comrade and were going to say it was an accidental detonator problem. When people get shot it is usually bloodless. Plus there isn't a lot of shooting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byindiemovies August 14, 2015

A Realistic Look into What War does to a Man

If there is one thing we think about when we see soldiers coming home from war, it's that they'll never go back there again. But when you walk the line between life and death, there's a sort of adrenaline, as is used in most of Kathryn Bigelow's movies, that makes average life to hard to adjust back into, and makes it seem to dull to even continue living like that. This movie is hard, gritty, and raw, but focuses on a man who has grown apart from the family he has back home, raising questions throughout the film as to why he goes out there and risks his life every chance he gets? The main character and his personality is the answer to that, and the result is a tense and gripping war movie that seems to realistic to be fiction, which is also why it's not for younger audiences. The violence is strong throughout, as is the language. There are a couple sexual references, but they are not graphic or frequent at all. But before watching this with your teen or your kid, just make sure they know, this doesn't fit the bill for a regular action movie, because it isn't one. It's a war movie, and it tells of the sadness that comes with men going to fight.
Teen, 14 years old Written byalexander1997 December 27, 2011

Great movie a little to tense for some

It is a great representation on the life of an eod squad but along the way there are many gruesome bits eg: a young boy called becam has a bomb planted in his chest and and sgt James has to "remove it" and a man has a metal cage strapped to his body ( the cage is lined with bombs and he is frantic to get it of because it is on a timer) the bomb squad dosnt get it off in time and a few seconds later he disappears in a explosion but you don't see any real gory parts as you would exept in a eod squad.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow August 17, 2012

Not the best war film

When I found out this won Best Picture, I was instantly interested. I am a die-hard fan of war films like Saving Private Ryan and Pearl Harbor, so I was always willing to watch new war films. I started The Hurt Locker with enormous expectations, but, to my surprise, it didn't elate me nearly as much as I thought it would. I'm not saying it's terrible or anything, I just think it could have been a lot better. Like, its plot wasn't very strait-foreward, and it was hard to follow with all its twists and turns. Also, Kathryn Bigelow's direction was very shakey, and while she did get some very nice close-ups, I don't think she deserved an Oscar. I guess the thing that I disliked the most about this movie was how much it seemed to trivialize everything. There aren't any real emotional moments, and when someone dies, there aren't really any scenes where the characters seem upset about it. I guess this wouldn't bug me so much if it weren't for the fact that in Saving Private Ryan, there was always, and I mean ALWAYS, a moment of deep grief and sorrow when a main character dies. So I find The Hurt Locker's way of handling war and death kind of insulting, especially considering that it contradicts its own anti-war message. Plus, there are a few historical inaccuracies; for example, in real life, EOD techs don't conduct dangerous missions as autonomous three-man teams without communications gear. Without that connection, they would be totally screwed. But don't get me wrong, this is still a very realistic war movie. It has great acting and some exciting moments. I guess I can kind of see why some people would think of it as Best Picture material, but if this is worthy of that award, I am stunned at why Saving Private Ryan (a MUCH better film in my humble opinion) didn't win. Still, this movie will most likely entertain most war movie fans.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 25, 2009

EXCELENT EXTRODINARY GRIPPING DRAMA

THE BEST FILM I'VE SEEN IN 2009 IS THIS ONE NO FILM THIS YEAR OTHER THAN HARRY POTTER ANF I LOVE YOU MAN THIS DRAME DESERVES OSCARS HANDS DOWN. THE TICK TICK OF THIS MOVIE WILL GET TO YOU WAY BEFORE THE BOOM FACTOR OF THE MOVIE THE GRIPPING SHEER REALISTIC ATMOSPHERE AND SHEER RAW POWER. IF YOU CAN FIND ONE OF THE 4 THEATERS THAT IT'S PLAYING IN GO SEE WHAT IS THE BEST MOVIE OF 2009 PERIOD
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old April 27, 2016

Great but very disturbing and graphic war movie has some swearing, gory images.

This violent and disturbing war drama is about a man named Will who is the newest team leader on a team bent on stopping and disarming bombs and terrorists all over Iraq, he's replacing the job of another team leader that was murdered. He will be working with his taskforce, Sanborn and Eldridge. A few days into the mission, James meets a 12 year old boy that he has a liking with, and when he finds him dead, he starts going crazy and and is almost disturbed to his core. Can some of his missions go to far? Violence 4/5: Violence is frequent, strong, and very graphic or disturbing. A disturbing scene shows members of the army looking at a building that was burned, and many Iraq members are shown dead, and US friendlies are put on beds with extremely bloody and graphic wounds. A sequence shows US army members sniping terrorists, and some of the US armies are shot and some terrorists are too, blood splatters, and gory wounds are shown. A bomb goes off killing a man and his head explodes. A suicide bomber commits suicide which is implied, but very disturbing. Many implied murders with bombs. An extremely disturbing sequence shows a man trying to get a bomb out of a dead 12 year old body covered in blood and guts, his heart is shown for a long while. Graphic violent discussions. Many characters are shot and stabbed with blood splatters. Gory wounds. Lots of intense and suspenseful moments of members trying to disarm bombs. Sexual content 4/5: Frequent, and strong sexual references. A boy tries to sell a man donkey porn and gay sex. Two shirtless male characters fight in a comedic way, and the man puts the other mans head in front of his clothed genitals, and shoves his pants onto the other mens head, not intended to be sexual, but seems awkward and somewhat graphic. A discussion about a man talking about how his girlfriend wants to get pregnant, and the other man comments graphic and awkward references including "shove your d--k in her p---y" and "give her those spermies" and a few others. Characters make graphic jokes about their genitals. Language 5/5: Constant, strong, and sometimes racy language: f--k is used in a sexual way once but mostly in conversations, other language includes d--k, p---y, motherf--ker, s--t, c--t, and c--ksucker. Drugs and drinking 3/5: The main characters smokes frequently and also gets very drunk in one scene. Although this movie is great and thrilling, it felt like something was missing. My rating:R for brutal disturbing war violence throughout, gory and graphic images, language, and some sexual content.
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2012

Great Movie! But.....

This was a FAB movie with great actor Jeremy Renner. This movie takes place in a war setting, so you can expect violence. Also, it does have quite a lot of language, but that sorta makes sence for the characters and whats happening. Throught the movie, Sergent Will James(Jeremy Renner) defuses bombs and what not. There is one scene that I think makes this movie an R beside the language, the body bomb scene. It is pretty graphic and bloody. What also might make the scene worse is the body bomb is a child. For me, it was upsetting because Sergent James thinks he knows this boy. (Later you find out that it is not...but still) Also, the kid that Sergent James knows, sells him porn movies. But most younger viewers won't know this, its not extreamly clear...you dont actually see the movies or the cover of them. Over all, great movie, but probably should wait until you are atleast 13-15. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011

favorite movie of all time

this movie is so compelling and amazing i didnt know what to say afterwars but now that im fully aware of my surroundings i would like to take the time to say what a movie this is brilliant with a cast that is not well known this movie should launch them into superstardom TWO BIG THUMBS ALL THE WAY UP.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 April 4, 2012

Very Intense War Thriller

Very intense and mature. Lots of drama and emotion, but very good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic March 27, 2012

The Hurt Locker Review

This is a tense, well-crafted motion picture that keeps viewers on edge. It's an exhausting 130 minutes; many viewers will leave the theater feeling drained. The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byreed Carson January 9, 2011

The Hurt in the Locker with the f's and s's

Be prepared for intense language, brutal bloody violence, and a lot of smoking and drinking. This film won the Oscar for best film and you will soon learn why. This a great film, slight humor, great sequences of violence. I recommend seeing it BUT YOU MUST BE 14 AND OVER.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. January 15, 2012

Great acting, lots of swearing.

This Oscar winning film, is well acted, intense, and has plenty of constant swearing, as well as drinking. Some shoot outs and explosions that is definitly not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byno name. January 22, 2012

Kathryn Bigelow's war masterpice.

The decade's best film about its real war, it's great perspective on the workplace high of delivering containment from crysis, and an explanation for the addiction of war.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKoreanRabbit July 21, 2011

One gruesome part, not that violent

If your child is mature enough to handle violence, and is not one of those super hyper immature kids, than this movie is just fine for adolescents.
Kid, 11 years old January 15, 2012

Excellent

This movie is one of the most important war movies ever made. The movie makes war look exciting, and It makes war seem terrible. There are some characters in this movie that hate war, and for some, its the only thing that brings them joy. It is intense, rough, and sometimes downright sad and depressing. Someone I watched it with was depressed for a day. A masterpiece of cinema. I wouldn't watch it again, but others will. There is not too much graphic violence in this movie. It's not explicit at all, but it very sad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages