Kid reviews for The Kids Are All Right

Common Sense says

Mature, witty family dramedy explores love, parenthood.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 8 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavispittman January 5, 2017

Great meaningful drama with impeccable acting

The kids are all right starring mark ruffalo, Annette benning, and Julianne Moore is really a well written, impeccably acted movie. The messsages it sends are very important too, yes it does deal with indefelity in a marriage, but it shows cheating as wrong and hurtful to all parties involved. And the lesbian characters in the movie aren't stereotypical or portrayed in a bad light. As far as content goes, the sex scenes are pretty strong and feature male backside nudity and female breast nudity. The profanity is pretty strong too, mostly in tense scenes with heavy confrontation. It should be alright for mature teens 15+.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byNeon_Fish May 14, 2016

It's okay

The movie is okay overall and expresses many issues that people of all ages AHVE to deal with. I think this movie provides a good insight into homosexuality, being a teenager, and being middle aged.
The movie is not that entertaining however, which is why I'd say it's 3 stars.
16+ due to the frequent sexual nature of the movie (people can be seen explicitly having sex, watching a porn movie and masturbating.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written byMiranda B. February 4, 2013

A good watch for families with older, more mature teens.

The Kids Are All Right delves into a different side of the family story. It is enriching and entertaining to watch the struggles and triumphs of Nic and Jules's family. The casting choices were perfect, including: Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, and Josh Hutcherson (he has always been one of my favorite actors, very cute too). The language was strong but perfectly poised and placed in the proper instances (not used senselessly). The main thing to look out for with this film is definitely the sexual content. There is plenty of sex between multiple characters and breasts are visible at times. At one point two teens find a vibrator, which is briefly shown, and a pornographic movie from which bits and pieces are shown. Early on in the movie, these same teens are seen snorting a crushed pill. There is also teen drinking at a party though it is only briefly viewed. A woman appears to, at times, drink a little bit too much. This causes bickering between her and her partner. Laser (Josh Hutcherson) and Jonie (Mia Wasikowska) sometimes push against the limit with their moms, but they still all love each other. I don't know if I would watch this more than once, but if you are considering watching, I encourage you to do so.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAllie P. June 24, 2011

Disappointed

I thought it was disappointing. I would also say that it kind of homophobic. Way too many sex scenes. Not too violent though, which is good. My dad thought it was just OK and my friend thought it horrible.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byperson14 February 6, 2011
Supportive parents , lots of sex and funny witty dialog. For once a comedy that has a gay couple in it. well acted and very unique.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011

good movie

good movie

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bymardoggie2013 December 30, 2010

Oscar worthy, not for younger teens.

This is a wonderful comedy film, although it's for older, mature teens. Honestly, they've seen this material before, and they're at the age that they are mature enough to look beyond it and see a well done film.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old October 20, 2010
just shows where are world is

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language