The Last Lions

  • Review Date: March 22, 2011
  • Rated: PG
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Year: 2011
  • Running Time: 88 minutes

Common Sense Media says

Visually stunning nature docu has some upsetting scenes.
  • Review Date: March 22, 2011
  • Rated: PG
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Year: 2011
  • Running Time: 88 minutes

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Educational value

Kids learn that lions aren't nearly as plentiful as they once were; they now number fewer than 20,000, when they were once 450,000 strong. There are some vivid lessons about how lions hunt their prey and how they sometimes make unthinkable-to-humans decisions because it's the way of the wild. The shrinking habitats of lions is also explained.

Positive messages

Even though the movie's message itself is disheartening -- that the fewer than 20,000 lions left in the wild are dwindling day by day -- it's also one of hope. If we, as humans, can find it in ourselves to care about endangered species, we can help save the big cats of Africa before they become extinct.

Positive role models

The mother lioness is portrayed as having human characteristics and almost always acts in the best interest of her cubs. Unfortunately one of her decisions, while completely appropriate in the wild, will be difficult for children (and mothers!) to understand in that humanized context.

Violence & scariness

As in many nature documentaries, there are some possibly disturbing sequences of carnivores acting like carnivores -- they fight each other for territory rights (leaving each other bloodied, blind, and, in one case, near death), banish the losers of those fights off the territory, and then prey on each other for food or dominance. In three heartbreaking scenes (possible spoiler alert), the central lioness discovers that her immediate family is dead or near death. Knowing that there's nothing she can do, a lioness abandons her severely injured cub, who's left growling after her -- which could upset young children. A lion takes down a buffalo whose carcass is shown being divided up by hyenas. Several lions are injured -- by each other or buffalo -- and the buffalo, in turn, injure or kill lions.

Sexy stuff
Not applicable
Language
Not applicable
Consumerism
Not applicable
Drinking, drugs, & smoking
Not applicable

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that this visually arresting nature documentary portrays how one mother lioness in Botswana attempts to keep her cubs alive in perilous territory. As in many wildlife films, there are some disturbing sequences in which lions (or their prey) are chased, attacked, and, in some cases, killed. The cameras never focus too closely on the blood or gore, but viewers definitely see the carcass of a lion's kill being scavenged by hyenas. Defenseless cubs are injured, swallowed, lost, and (possible spoiler alert), in one heartbreaking scene that could upset younger kids, intentionally left behind. Although this is an educational documentary, the occasional violent scenes involving the lioness and her cubs may prove too upsetting for younger elementary schoolers.

Parents say

Kids say

What's the story?

In THE LAST LIONS, husband-and-wife filmmakers Dereck and Beverly Joubert -- who are veteran National Geographic wildlife photographers and conservationists -- turn their eyes to the lions of Botswana's Okavango Delta. But instead of making an epic survey of lions in general -- the movie begins with Jeremy Irons' dramatic narration explaining that although there were more than 450,000 lions a scant 50 years ago, there are now fewer than 20,000 -- the Jouberts focus on just one family of big cats. Early in the film, the lion is severely injured by an encroaching pride, and the lioness must flee with her three cubs from the pride's territorial alphas. Called Ma Di Tau ("Mother of Lions"), she escapes to Duba Island, loses a cub in the process, and struggles to survive against a herd of invading buffalo and the threat of a vengeful lioness out to erase her bloodline.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

The Jouberts have a beautiful style, and it's easy to fall for their lyrical visuals of a lioness' life on the Delta. They obviously love their subject matter, and they make the wetlands come alive. It's always amazing when a nature documentary can be as suspenseful as a fictional thriller, but since Ma Di Tau's story deals with universal matters of motherhood, life, and death, it's not all that surprising that audiences will find themselves biting their nails and possibly even crying during certain heartbreaking scenes. Many shots are so perfect that they seem almost staged -- but of course, that's impossible considering that the cast is carnivorous animals, not Hollywood actors or computer-generated creatures.

Some of what makes the movie so memorable also makes it difficult to watch. This isn't the typical "isn't nature beautiful and wonderful" tale. Irons' melodramatic narration anthropomorphises Ma Di Tau's quest for survival to an off-putting degree -- no, Jeremy, we will never comprehend animal "grief," just as we can never comprehend how a mother could leave behind her dying baby. And Ma Di Tau's suffering is inconsolably never-ending, even if it's also the way of the wild. At the end, we feel a glimmer of hope that we should be doing something, anything to help the African cats, even if the Jouberts don't spell out exactly how we can help -- other than text $10 to a charity. Still, it's important to know that the King of the Jungle could be permanently dethroned quite soon if we don't intervene.

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about the proverbial circle of life. How did the lioness' trials and losses affect you? Was it too upsetting to see animals -- at times cubs -- turn up missing or killed?

  • Did the narration over-dramatize the action? Is it OK to assume that wild animals have human-like traits and emotions?

  • Talk about the movie's overwhelming call to action to help save the lions of Africa. Why is it so important? Is it clear after watching the movie how people can help?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:February 18, 2011
DVD release date:January 3, 2012
Cast:Jeremy Irons
Directors:Beverly Joubert, Dereck Joubert
Studio:National Geographic
Genre:Documentary
Topics:Science and nature, Wild animals
Run time:88 minutes
MPAA rating:PG
MPAA explanation:some violent images involving animal life.

This review of The Last Lions was written by

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 October 19, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

last lions

Families can talk about the proverbial circle of life. How did the lioness' trials and losses affect you? Was it too upsetting to see animals -- at times cubs -- turn up missing or killed? Did the narration over-dramatize the action? Is it OK to assume that wild animals have human-like traits and emotions? Talk about the movie's overwhelming call to action to help save the lions of Africa. Why is it so important? Is it clear after watching the movie how people can help?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemonster98 January 14, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I love this movie...but very sad

I love animals...but little did I know that this was a documentary where lions eat other animals, and die! Sooooo sad! Amazing visuals though, and I guess i should just suck it up, cause it's human nature.....huhhh
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byComedyKing December 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's a good educational movie

This movie has alot of educational value to kinda teach us what Lion prides do and it also teaches us to never give up hope for your kids. There are positive messages to support dying lions. There is one positive role model which is the main lioness who is trying to defend her cubs and make sure they survive. There are some scary moments were a lioness pride and their male leader wants to go kill the main lioness. There are a few scary moments were the lioness' mate dies after he was murdered by the lioness pride and where one of her cubs gets eaten by an alligator after being chased through the lake by the pride but we don't actually see it getting eaten. There is also a scary moment where she encounters a pack of hyenas which might worry the viewers. Only one cub survives and he grows up to be a sucsceful lion. In conclusion, The Last Lions is pretty depressing during the death sences and the scences where the mate dies. But it's still a fun movie that teaches us alot about Lion life. So, I'd say it's okay for atleast 10 year old kids to watch.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Essential School Tools