Kid reviews for The Mask of Zorro

Common Sense says

Violent '90s action-adventure epic has some gore.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 6+
Based on 4 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 14 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written byAGClyde May 24, 2021

Romantic Spanish Take on Historic Event

I thought this movie was a piece of art. The cinematography was excellent, the characters were intriguing, the plot was driving, and the story was fun! When I think of the sissy word for fox, this movie will come to mind.

When it comes to the standard PG-13 rating, there were some instances that made me cringe on the inside. The gore is shocking, but the worst parts aren't more than a minute. It also is within the bonds of its given ratings. Also, one scene is a little sexual, but nothing beyond a female back and stomach. Those are also not too long. Other than those and the common number of swearing, the movie is great.
Teen, 15 years old Written byR8 mcu fan May 17, 2021

Kinda good kinda bad

This movie is great but there is two parts that were disturbing to me 1 there was one part where someone’s decapitated head was shown off and it was bloody 2 there was 1 part where someone was talking and you could clearly see to naked men stuck on the side of a cactus and that was disturbing to me but overall it’s a good movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byrooster887 February 27, 2021

i loved it

A fun and violent story with some sexy stuff.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 10 years old November 2, 2015

This movie is great

I would say positive messages 3/5 there is great messages about fighting for your country positive. role models 2/5 again great role models for standing up for your country. Violence 3/5 there are tons of sword fighting several stabbings [one with blood] and where he drinks somebody's head. Sex 3/5 there are several kisses. Consumerism 2/5 try's to steal gold Drinking, drugs, and smoking, 1/5 smokes a I think I remember a few cigar smokes.
Kid, 9 years old August 14, 2014

good movie

good movie the violence isn't that bad but some good role models

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written by98Lynny February 26, 2014

It's Fine

My teacher let us watch it in Spanish class and there was nothing wrong with it. It just really depends on what you or your child has issues with in movies.
Kid, 12 years old July 27, 2012

Great! But a bit shocking. Iffy for 10 and under.

My Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of action violence, some smoking, and a few suggestive references.


Violence-4/5 Pretty violent/sometimes disturbing I should say. Multiple people get stabbed in the chest with swords (one with blood). One rather disturbing scene a character presents a severed head and hand in a jar off-screen. Lots of "Ow! That has to hurt!" moments.

Sex-3/5- In one scene that takes place in a dessert, two men are tied up with there bodies lying in the cactus frontward naked. It's Shown from behind. 'New' Zorro comically showing his swashbuckling results of a girls top off. No nudity but she covers her breast from a hat. Also one very memorable innuendo, two characters challenging to a playful sword fight and fall in love joke about there 'special purpose' since they had before, referring to love.

Language-1/5- D*mn is as salty as it gets.

Drugs/alchahol/smoking-3/5- basically, the master Zorro smokes with a pipe. Drinks are offered at a ball.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAqua-marine!!! January 9, 2012

The Mask of Zorro

It is an exiting fun movie to me. I watched it many years ago when i was nine or younger. i loved it and became one of my favoerite all time movies. there were some scenes of violence and one scene shows a dead man's head and hand floating in a jar of water. Language consists of one use of "d*mn" but i don't think that it was said to much. Sex consists of one shot of several men's bare behinds near the begining, and one playfull duel scene where Elena's dress is cut off (but no nudity shown at all) while she was fighting with the young Zorro. There was also some kissing in that scene and some other scenes also. Near the end of the movie there were some scenes of people getting abused by whips. I think It's a fun, exciting adventure that makes a good family movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2011

The Mask Of Zorro

I was a very geursome movie. A lot of people died and it was very scarey. I had to lock all the doors after the movie. It is a good movie for adults but for kids like myself i dont recimend it. Sorry for all the bad spelling.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybgirl Missy August 30, 2011

One of my favourite movies of all time!!

The hand and head in a jar is seriously disturbing and quite a few ppl r killed. But awsum sword fighting and action scenes!!!! Catherine Zeta Jones looks stunning in this movie, even more so than in the second. Antonio Banderas and his character's brother fight men of the law and strip them naked and strap them to bamboo, but only their behinds are shown. In one scene Antonio strips Catherine down to the waist but nothing is shown as she uses his hat and her extremely long hair to cover up. A passionate kiss follows. Other than that, nothing really that bad. Id even say that its iffy for age 9.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 May 22, 2011
this film is an action epic, featuring mostly sword fighting and some significantly intense moments of violence and (cartoonish) gore. The film is not suitable for any child who is easily upset by intense action or simulated gore. Teenagers are its target audience, but not much in the film would bother younger children that are used to Hollywood action clichés.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008

I was jumping up and down.

Teen, 16 years old Written bydark rose April 9, 2008

better than the second one

luved it :-D the part where the head and hand are shown in jars is sooo fake. everything else is just action vioence. this movie is a lot more serious and action filled than the second one.
Teen, 14 years old Written bysoluxe April 9, 2008

Would be a great movie if they took out one scence

I watched this movie with my family and I suprsingly liked it. It was great, except for the part when the blond guy takes out Alejandro's brothers head. That was very disturbing and unexpected.