Parent reviews for The Nice Guys

Common Sense says

Freewheeling buddy comedy has lots of mature content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 14 reviews
Adult Written bySam M. May 21, 2016

They dont make Movies like this anymore.

I loved it! The snappy dialog, pitch perfect performances and chemeistry from the 2 leads (who knew Gosling and Crowe could be so hilarious XD?). The young girl actor as Goslings daughter was great too! Deatiled and smart writing filled with twists without being tiring or overly convoluted, and taut action to punctuate major plot points. Even the films odd jokes
play into the plot at some points. This and Civil War are among my
favorite films of 2016 so far.
With a plot revolving around a dead porn star in 70s LA and an
"experimental" film, there is a considerable amount of risque content. A
centerfold pans up and focuses on the said porn stars breasts for several
seconds (we also see some pubic hair as the cam pans up the page). The
same star is show naked and covered in bloody cuts after a car crash soon
after with her breasts shown several times up close. A film staring said
star also shows her topless in an intro sequence. Said film has an intro
with a man thrusting between a womans legs (we see his rear end as the
company logos come up). A 13 year old boy mentions his endowment
several times in crude terms to our heroes for comedic effect. A 13 year
old girl watches a porn film, nothing is visble but noises heard. Mention
of anal sex in this scene. A party has many scantly clad women with lots
of cleavage, nipples poking through shirts, short skirts and panty cla
women shaking thier rears. One tabletop dancer is fully nude but body
paintings obscure genital and breast detail. 2 topless "mermaids" kiss
underwater, breasts clearly visible for several seconds. A poster in
background shows a bare breasted woman. An ad for a porn company has
the O's made to look like nude breasts.
The violence is often undercut by humor but can get bloody. This includes
man whos face a very bloody after getting hit by a van. A dead body with a gory face wound in its face as if it was shotgunned (the protagonists try to gide it with hilarious results). A young woman is shot from a distance. We later see her with a bloody exit wound in her back. Another mans face is bloody after a long fight. A man who is grabbing his throat turns out to have been slit when we see blood start to soak thru his fingers. Shortly after a man is shot several times with bloody spurts that stain a wall. 2 men fall off a building and one bloodily splats on pavement. Several shootouts and explosions with some civilain casualtues but without much blood. A man tries to smash a window but badly cuts his arm (he bleeds profusely and is rushed to the hospital).
62 F words and 5 uses of D--k. 1 use of C--k.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byabraxas November 19, 2018

Umbrella for Pedophiliac Romp

This should be dumped in the sea. It is uneven as a a film and derivitative, There are much better films in the genre that don't stoop to exploiting children inside their sex jokes; it was very weird and I felt the director and writer were pushing their pedophiliac tendencies inside a generic film. I left nauseous.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byhappymaddison October 16, 2017

If your kids have seen lethal weapon let them watch this

The film is set in the 70s and it is a action thilled buddy cop movie. It is about the porn infustry because this is what these police man are trying to solve because a adult movie star is shown killed at the beging of the movie only seeing her boobs and pubic hair. After that there is some quick topless womem shown. You then hear in the background porn being played but never showned. If you let your kids watch lethal weapon letbthem watch this. Theres some minor swearing which is likely to be heard in a rated R movie. Then some minor realistic violence. there is also non detailed pot smoking. and there is smoking and drinking and a caracter that drives when drunk

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJoe J. March 9, 2017

Funny, and re-watchable. Could be a future cult-classic.

Parent Written byLaura M. November 23, 2016

Same old story just more gory

If you take out the pornography, constant cursing and violence this is basically the same story told 1 million times. The difference is they just try to be more shocking. This movie crosses the line though between child and adult. Here we have children discussing a*** sex and a child asking an adult if he can show him his p**** for $20. This should make any parent uncomfortable by themselves and I can't believe anyone would even consider watching this with their children of any age. In terms of what it actually shows, I saw a fully naked woman, so anyone who says it's just breasts wasn't paying attention. And yes it also showed two women from the side having sex. The irony of this movie is that had it been filmed in the 70s it would've got an x rating instead of an R. Same old story though. They just tried to make you forget by raising the shock factor.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byGary B. October 16, 2016

Talent & Resources Tilted @ Windmills

Gosling and Crowe are good actors that had to work with a script that seemed to be made up on scene. The inconsistencies of character and logic are myriad. Too many to list. I loved the scene created by 70's era cars, houses, music and wardrobe. Why spend so much on the set and so little on the script? I thought the most offensive moment came when the 13 year old daughter was watching porn and then talking about incest and anal sex. What parent would allow such a thing? The director and writer should be held to account! Furthermore, that scene was gratuitous in that it didn't move the story along. I wasted my time, don't waste yours.
Adult Written byPepe A. August 12, 2016
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 11, 2016

70s set mystery is a fun, original time in a world filled with reboots

In a world where we don't have a sequel, a reboot, a franchise installment, remakes, prequels being shoved down our throats by marketers who apparently think we don't want/deserve original content, maybe "Nice Guys" wouldn't be praised as highly as it is now. But, sad to say, that IS the world we live in. In the mostly straightforward plot, private eyes Gosling and Crowe team up to investigate the death of porn star Misty Mountains, and a mysterious girl on the lam named Amelia. Assisting them is Gosling's daughter, played by Angourie Rice in a modest, totally unusual child star performance. The focus is on Gosling and Crowe, but the girl is a huge asset. The laughs come at a pretty steady rate, and though you never get to know the characters terribly well (especially Crowe) I suppose you don't really need to. It's just a great ride that starts with a car crash. Go check it out and support witty, original filmmaking!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDarylTheStudent June 6, 2016

The Nice Guys

"The Nice Guys" revolves around two private eyes, Jackson and Holland, played by Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling respectively, who investigate the case of a missing woman named Amelia, who is linked to a dead porn actress, Misty Mountains. That said, the film features skimply dresses women at times, we hear moaning from a porn film (not actually shown), and another porn film is shown briefly. The main female character, Holland's teen daughter Holly, however, does NOT get naked. In addition, the violence includes (but not limited to) fighting, car chases and gunfights, which are at times bloody, though humor is peppered throughout the film. There is also frequent coarse language (f*ck, sh*t, Jesus among others, some uttered by Holly), and Holland smokes a lot too. Ultimately, the film's message is that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, and the film was very enjoyable. That said, it is more suitable for older teens and adults due to the sexual content, violence and coarse language.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byStevie111 June 1, 2016

The Nice Guys is an excellent mash up of action, humor and a great story

I was expecting a lot from The Nice Guys, and I was not disappointed. It has a great story and Russel Crowe and Ryan Gosling are great together. It is funny, but still has the serious mystery elements. It deals with pornography and adult themes, so I wouldn't suggest kids or even younger teens watch this. Sexual content is limited to references mostly, but there if a fair bit of nudity. There is some stronger violence and language, as well as drinking and drug use, too. I loved the film and highly recommend it, just to older audiences.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 7 and 12-year-old Written byDad1000 May 29, 2016

My rating R

This is a good movie but Brests are shown so not for the kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byJim Macen101 May 26, 2016

The Nice Guys is a fantastic time for 15 and up, little blood and boobs.

Common Sense Media is yet again overreacting. The violence is frequent but very rarely gory.


The film does revolve around the 70's porn industry but very little is shown. The only nudity is breasts and even though they are on screen throughout the film, the camera never lingers on it too long and is almost always used in either a comedic or realistic fashion. There are no sex scenes at all or full frontal nudity.


The swearing is there but it is always used comically.


This film is fantastic and surprisingly not too mature. If you kid is 15 or older, let them watch it! CSM often overreacts (like they did with Deadpool, The Revenant etc.) and I think they need to have a look back at their ratings since they are often wrong and inconsistent.

Have Fun!
Adult Written byAllie P. May 22, 2016

Extremely Violent

The story is good and it is very funny, but the amount of violence in the movie takes away from the plot and the humour. Could have been better without the violence.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking