Kid reviews for The Pilgrim's Progress

Common Sense says

Violence, mature concepts in faith-based animated adventure.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 8+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 7+
Based on 9 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byPslm47-6 April 22, 2019

Just trying to clarify...

Hey there. I'm not sure if anyone will bother to read this review but I hope I can set a few things right. First of all, in the review on this page it states that the "Law" is considered an evil character. While this is true, this wouldn't and shouldn't cause anyone to think that the law is not worth upholding. The reason for this is the fact that the main character, Christian, doesn't just go crazy and stray from the path afterward. In fact, later he IS tempted to stray from where he is going multiple times but he tries to remain strong. It is worth pointing out that when the movie talks about the law, it doesn't mean this in any legal sense, but that doing "good" things can never free your burdens. The burden can only be loosed at the cross.
Another important factor to consider, is, when Christian leaves his family, it is an allegory teaching one to not be held back by the comforts of this world when one is pursuing the Christian walk, even your family can hold one back. This is obviously not to mean that one should leave his/her family to pursue Jesus, or to disrespect them or not give them attention, but to not conform to his/her family's desires when they get in the way of Jesus and the cross. This being said, I agree with the writer of the review on this page that it could confuse younger audiences. I also agree that the violence in this movie was pretty disturbing, but I also believe it adds credibility and believability to the movie. The movie might have been cheesy if it didn't portray evil that way because evil is and should be seen as scary and, well, evil.
One last thing, this movie is not supposed to be a theological textbook. in another review a parent posted on this page, he (or she) was disappointed because the movie misses issues like God's wrath and how salvation can only be found through Christ. There certainly were Christian themes, but these things were not illustrated in the movie. I think that whoever this person is, he/she is worried that one will watch the movie and pursue a Christianity that is twisted and not Christianity at all. This may indeed be the case, but I think that the purpose of the Pilgrim's Progress movie was to expose more people to Christian themes so that they might do some more research if they are not already Christians. And for people who already are Christians, that Heaven is worth the journey.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byAnonymou s July 12, 2020

PORNOGRAPHY - Be sure to skip this one part...

Very good messages, BUT, sadly, there is one part you should DEFINITELY SKIP, especially for kids. From 1 hr 12 min 34 seconds in up to 1 hr 13 minutes 42 seconds in you should skip because there's a scene in that interval at the Vanity Fair that shows an overtly sexual innuendo. There's no explicit nudity, but still PORNOGRAPHY. One can see very clearly for several seconds the sides of the naked rear ends of showgirls displayed in an overtly sexual way. This scene is included because it's an example of sexual immorality that is to be resisted like the rest of the evil, worldly things at the carnival, yet it is still absolutely UNECCESSARY as it does more harm to the viewer than good. Be sure to skip that scene with the given timestamps above. Anything else missed in that interval can be missed too because it's not that important to the movie. So, the movie can definitely do without that one short, yet very inappropriate and unnecessary, definitely pornographic, scene. I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FOR CHRISTIANS, LET ALONE KIDS!!! There are no other innuendos in the rest of the movie besides that one. Excluding that one scene, the movie is very good and can greatly strengthen one in his own Pilgrim's progress in life and give light to the too often unacknowledged struggles that every Christian faces in his journey.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byDNeuner7 May 1, 2021

LIFE CHANGING

It was a tad bit frightening for my 7 year old brother, but he LOVED it! It really puts life into perspective and it has the best content in the world!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old October 11, 2020

Great Evening of Family Entertainment that can lead to so much more

My 7 year old (boy) and 11 year old (girl) as well as my husband and I loved this film. We had low expectations so when the story of Christian unfolded, we were all surprised how quickly we were drawn in. If you know Jesus, you immediately catch on to the amazing allegory that opens up many points of discussion after the film. Why did Christian hesitate leaving such a depressing place? Why did the judge sentence Faithful and Christian to death for doing nothing? Why does God allow pain? There is a great scene where Christian asks forgiveness and immediately is forgiven. It even made me take pause to think--wow, God forgive me like that. It made me think of our walk with God in a whole new way.


It's a bummer to see reviews critiquing the portrayal of the devil and his henchmen. The reality is, the devil is terrifying and I think this movie does a great job of portraying that they are more than "bad", but satan has come to steal and destroy. This is not gratuitous and it would not be described as violence. This is seeking to convey truth. My sensitive 7 year old was empowered by the battle between satan and Christian. Christian was not alone!

To my fellow brothers and sister reviewers whose critique included making some of the characters female, the original book was written in the 1600's. The license taken did not change the message of the book. The vast majority of the criticism appears to be people who read the book and felt this version did not live up to the original. See this as a springboard for further conversations where you can fill in the gaps. There is so much junk made for kids. Do you really want to deter an honest attempt at explaining the road to the Celestial City?

BTW, I completely disagree with Common Sense media's "professional" review. The reviewer is 1 mom of 1 kid who likes Phineas and Ferb. I learned that I want to read the Common Sense reviewer's background as well.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old August 2, 2020

Scary

I even thought it was scary it should be pg 13 intense very intense not for younger kids good messages and role models

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written bynot a Karen July 7, 2020

the movie was great :)

Exactly like how I imagined it from reading the book. Of course some of the things from the book were missing from the movie but, that's only because they had to cram everything into a movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 10 years old August 28, 2019

Watch this Movie

I read the original Pilgrim's Progress. It would be extremely difficult to make a good movie from the book. That said, this movie does it well. Apollyon was frightening but not overwhelming for younger children. The movie clearly pointed to salvation. I liked the animation (especially the judge on the mountain of Legality). A couple of things could be improved. For one, it wasn't clear why people would want to stay in the City of Destruction. (In the book, those living there seemed to have a good life.) I also wish the movie had included the scroll. (The point of going through the Gate was to get the scroll, which represented Salvation. In the book, a pilgrim who tried to go around the Gate couldn't make it into the Celestial City. Without the scroll in this movie, going through the Gate didn't seem as important.) Overall, I would recommend seeing this movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old April 27, 2019

Amazing

I think this is an excellent movie for all families. There is nothing very scary and no bad language. There is a liquor sign at the fair but I think most kids already know to drink responsibly and to be of age. I definitely recommend this movie. It shows how everything is possible through God and to keep fighting.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byshiinymoth April 24, 2019

An okay adaptation of a classic Christian allegory

My family and I read the childrens’ version of this book over the school year. We really enjoyed it and I plan to read the adult version soon. It was fantastic and every little thing had a deeper meaning.
However, the movie adaptation was a bit disappointing. The animation wasn’t impressive, and it seemed like they couldn’t decide between realism and cartoon in certain areas. A lot of it was dumbed down and in the beginning it was very silly and not at all what I had expected. Around the last 45 minutes, it got more serious and it ended well, but overall it was just “okay”.
I’d recommend it for younger children who can understand older concepts, but older children may find it difficult to focus on in the parts where it becomes more childish. I don’t regret watching it, but I wouldn’t watch it again.

This title contains:

Positive Messages