Parent reviews for The Punisher

Common Sense says

Bad big screen adaptation of comic book.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 20 reviews

Wondering if The Punisher is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Adult Written byTacoshrimp00returns June 12, 2020
not a lot of action sequences, needs a bit more plot twists. The violence in this movie is usually just bloodless.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 7-year-old Written byBillie C. October 1, 2017

Bad

Ok for everyone, but bad.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Adult Written bydarthsitkur June 3, 2014

I thought it was awesome

I saw this on spike tv several days ago and I really enjoyed it, but I will tell you that punisher: war zone knocks it out of the ball park and takes the cake for sure
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 May 25, 2014

Action packed hardcore action film is great but not for the youngest audiences!

Parents need to know that this film is very graphic, brutal, violent but very entertaining. People are shot, stabbed and more. There is a torture scene, brief nudity and a scene where 2 people of the same sex kiss. There is a bit of swearing (f--k and sh-t are mainly used). Plus the main character abuses alcohol for most of the movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 1, 2, 4, 6, and 14-year-old Written bySuperherofan May 10, 2014

Way to bloody,but if your a Adult then it's a amazing movie.

To much violence, language and sex.no way any kid could see this. He had so much blood and gore I wanted to throw up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byArc-Demon March 28, 2013

Good movie to learn from

This is a good movie to learn from. It teaches that not all people are good, and sometimes you have to take the law in to your own hands. All though it has some violence and drinking, that's basically life for you. An other good thing about this movie is the positive message in it, teaching not to give no matter how many people want to kill you.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written by4Spice February 14, 2011

awesome movie

I loved this movie.If you want to see a crazy action movie this is the one.no kids 16 and older for intense violence and strong language and brief nudity otherwise great movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 9-year-old Written byJessica97 September 21, 2010

Brutal Violence Good Messages Bad Words Sweet Revenge

Hmm it has a Nip Slip but several F*cks but tons better then the sequel! Violent but good what he does. Really positive man standing up for his family. But still heads slide off and refrences to weed. Hmmmmm. 15+ is definently for a matured 15 year old if not wait till your 18

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive role models
Parent Written byPlague February 4, 2010

The Punisher

An action packed movie no doubt. Awesome fighting scenes with explosive violence make this movie what it is... simply amazing.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byilikemusik23 May 1, 2009

Punisher fans will like it

If you a Punisher fan like me then im pretty sure you'll love this movie. Its no where as violent as the sequal (Punisher War Zone) but there is a lot of violence including murder and a torture scene. If you have an older teen and think there mature enough they should be able to handle the movie. Theres also an edited TV version on cable sometimes that i reccomend for 14+ since it is not as violent and some of the language is censored

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byChris LP November 22, 2008

A great action movie!!

THE PUNISHER is a tame action movie following the style of the 1980s action flicks such as DIE HARD or LETHAL WEAPON. A must see for any action movie fan.
Adult Written byckallan April 9, 2008
Adult Written bytrojan51 April 9, 2008