All parent member reviews for The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie

Parents say

(out of 42 reviews)
age 8+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6, 8, and 10 year old Written byteamworkfun September 14, 2009
age 13+
 

Fine for Teens, but not for tweens

Before I saw this movie, I had never seen an episode of Spongebob.Of course I had heard about it, but my kids never really expressed an interest. On day I was shopping for a fun movie for the family, and I decided we'd try out this movie. Sure the cover looked innocent enough, but the content was the exact opposite. The first problem was when Spongebob's pants fell off, reveling his naked bottom. I covered my 8yr old's eyes when that happened. My 6yr old, thank the lord in heaven, was not present, because the movie was PG. After that, I continued to watch the movie with my 10yr old daughter, and sent my 8yr old upstairs. Just when I thought everything was going fine, Patrick, the pink starfish, shows up on the screen naked, with a flag between is butt cheeks that read "Spongebob." I was shocked, thinking "how could they let that pass in a PG rated movie?!" I continued to watch the movie by myself, just to see what kind of content they put into the rest of the movie. I was appalled. Spongebob goes to a "nut bar" which clearly symbolizes a real bar, and they get drunk on ice cream, which is symbolizing alcohol. They rest of the movie was very violent, and I was really shocked. Unless you have older kids, stay away from this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bycandaceandjadesmom09 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

it's not bad, its just silly stuff!

Spongebob is completely appropriate in my house. It really isn't bad, it's just plain silly! Silly stuff never hurt kids at all. It broke my daughter's heart to see so many parents denying Spongebob for being silly ( okay, maybe it's a little bad to call someone a boob) I'm not trying to say that the people who don't like their kids watching Spongebob are too protective or anything but, I think that some people need to WATCH Spongebob once in a while.
Adult Written byAnAdult April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Wow, this is like overprotective central isn't it?

I guess my problem with some of the people on this page is this: HOW IN THE WORLD DO YOU FIND SPONGEBOB INAPPROPRIATE? If you don't let your kids watch spongebob, then you better not let them watch Blue's Clues, cause they are about the same. And will everyone please stop with this "Negative Behavior" stuff?? Its getting on my nerves. What you are doing right now is negative behavior. Just do your kids a favor and actually let them live a life. Seriously, when they get to middle school and everyone hears about how they arent allowed to watch spongebob, they will get made fun of and probably even beat up.
Parent Written byKnucklesTheEchidna64 October 3, 2012
age 17+
 

Bad

Really bad movie. It made my kids' autism worse. Not to mention there's a pornographic scene which reveals Patrick's shiny fishy butt. Spongebob and Patrick also get drugged up, and a character says the d word.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byemmasmom513 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

No way!

I don't understand parents letting young children watch this character at all. He has a major attitude problem, is mouthy, and is everything we don't want our children to be. And he's made out to be the hero!
Parent of a 17, 17, and 17 year old Written byURMOM September 7, 2014
age 18+
 

TOTALLY INNAPROPRO

nuff said
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written by413804 February 4, 2012
age 6+
 

Underrated

When i saw this in the theater, my family and I were the only people laughing in the whole theater. Some people just don't find Spongebob funny
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byjohn in mn August 15, 2011
age 18+
 

Adult humor in a kids show

I never understood the draw to this character? The movie is terrible and not appropriate for any young age. Has hidden adult humor all throughout the show that kids just don't get yet. Let your kid watch this, they'll grow up violent and stupid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byGrizzlymama April 24, 2011
age 17+
 

No wonder the world is full of dumb people.

Actually started to feel dumber the longer i sat there watching it. What a waste of my time and money.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byHuebel April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Painful

If you had a choice between taking your kids to this movie or a swift kick in the crotch, choose the latter. This movie was absolutely horrible. I actually felt dumber when I left the theater. I feel guilty about taking my kids to see this garbage.
Adult Written bymike600 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

good, very funny for 6+

this movie was funny and had a good funny moral, nothing wrong, some odd humor but its just fun. **1/2
Adult Written bydrumin2heavn April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Almost Fell Asleep!

I love the TV show SpongeBob SquarePants so I was looking forward to seeing the movie. I was thoroughly disappointed overall with the movie. I almost fell asleep!! It had some remotely funny parts in it but nothing like the TV show. Big disappointment for me.
Adult Written byAngela33 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byFireFire June 12, 2015
age 6+
 

Think Real!

David Hasslehoff's cameo was great, but lets get to the film. Violence: Fighting. Sex: Stripper Boots that Patrick wears, Patrick likes Mindy. Language: Jackass used but so is name calling. Drugs: Getting drunk on ice cream. Now lets think, do the kids understand, all the adults do, but what about the kids, they find Spongebob a slapstick TV funny for watching. Whats so bad, Ok there are hidden innuendos in all of the film/TV Series but its fine for kids, It couldn't be bad for them becaude they wouldn't understand
Parent of a 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 March 2, 2015
age 9+
 

its ok but I had my teens watch with my 8 year old son

because king neptune says d*mn so I had them tell my son not to repeat that in class
Parent of a 6, 10, and 14 year old Written byKako January 18, 2015
age 7+
 

Perfect Movie for Its Recommended Age!

This movie is perfect for seven and up, just like the show (which is rated TV-Y7, meaning seven and up as well). If your children are younger, they won't understand some parts, but it's an overall good film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 2 year old Written bynina.gold November 17, 2014
age 2+
 

Thumbs up for the talking cheese! :)

My almost 3 yo loves the talking cheese :D It's important to realize that different individuals get different messages from the same piece/event/movie etc What message comes across and how it's perceived and received depends entirely on the audience. I say trust your child and your good example and allow your child to form his own opinion and draw his own lessons and conclusions from this movie. There's a lesson to draw from everything, this movie included :) You might like to read this article on the educational value of SpongeBob : http://www.psychologyinaction.org/2012/05/13/the-values-in-sponge-bob-sq...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 27, 2013
age 2+
 

Spongebob is fine

Spongebob is hilarious even the movie makes it better its totally kid safe some violence and name calling but other wise kid safe
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 20, 2012
age 7+
 

Woohoo! It's getting a sequel! I'm not suprised though,this movie rocks.

That's right! In 2014 THERE'S GONNA BE A SEQUEL! It's gonna be awesome! I love this movie because it's funny and entertaining!
Parent Written bySam Thomas August 5, 2012
age 2+
 

Very good and suitable for all ages

This is harmless, a film for both parents and children. It has nothing inapropriate in and all children should be allowed to watch it. Do not listen or pay any attention to reviews saying they should be something ridiculous like 12 or 13. Suitable for all ages and a very good film, your children will love it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages