All parent member reviews for The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 41 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6, 8, and 10 year old Written byteamworkfun September 14, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fine for Teens, but not for tweens

Before I saw this movie, I had never seen an episode of Spongebob.Of course I had heard about it, but my kids never really expressed an interest. On day I was shopping for a fun movie for the family, and I decided we'd try out this movie. Sure the cover looked innocent enough, but the content was the exact opposite. The first problem was when Spongebob's pants fell off, reveling his naked bottom. I covered my 8yr old's eyes when that happened. My 6yr old, thank the lord in heaven, was not present, because the movie was PG. After that, I continued to watch the movie with my 10yr old daughter, and sent my 8yr old upstairs. Just when I thought everything was going fine, Patrick, the pink starfish, shows up on the screen naked, with a flag between is butt cheeks that read "Spongebob." I was shocked, thinking "how could they let that pass in a PG rated movie?!" I continued to watch the movie by myself, just to see what kind of content they put into the rest of the movie. I was appalled. Spongebob goes to a "nut bar" which clearly symbolizes a real bar, and they get drunk on ice cream, which is symbolizing alcohol. They rest of the movie was very violent, and I was really shocked. Unless you have older kids, stay away from this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bycandaceandjadesmom09 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

it's not bad, its just silly stuff!

Spongebob is completely appropriate in my house. It really isn't bad, it's just plain silly! Silly stuff never hurt kids at all. It broke my daughter's heart to see so many parents denying Spongebob for being silly ( okay, maybe it's a little bad to call someone a boob) I'm not trying to say that the people who don't like their kids watching Spongebob are too protective or anything but, I think that some people need to WATCH Spongebob once in a while.
Adult Written byAnAdult April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Wow, this is like overprotective central isn't it?

I guess my problem with some of the people on this page is this: HOW IN THE WORLD DO YOU FIND SPONGEBOB INAPPROPRIATE? If you don't let your kids watch spongebob, then you better not let them watch Blue's Clues, cause they are about the same. And will everyone please stop with this "Negative Behavior" stuff?? Its getting on my nerves. What you are doing right now is negative behavior. Just do your kids a favor and actually let them live a life. Seriously, when they get to middle school and everyone hears about how they arent allowed to watch spongebob, they will get made fun of and probably even beat up.
Parent Written byKnucklesTheEchidna64 October 3, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Bad

Really bad movie. It made my kids' autism worse. Not to mention there's a pornographic scene which reveals Patrick's shiny fishy butt. Spongebob and Patrick also get drugged up, and a character says the d word.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written by413804 February 4, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Underrated

When i saw this in the theater, my family and I were the only people laughing in the whole theater. Some people just don't find Spongebob funny
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bydrumin2heavn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Almost Fell Asleep!

I love the TV show SpongeBob SquarePants so I was looking forward to seeing the movie. I was thoroughly disappointed overall with the movie. I almost fell asleep!! It had some remotely funny parts in it but nothing like the TV show. Big disappointment for me.
Adult Written byemmasmom513 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

No way!

I don't understand parents letting young children watch this character at all. He has a major attitude problem, is mouthy, and is everything we don't want our children to be. And he's made out to be the hero!
Parent of a 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 March 2, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

its ok but I had my teens watch with my 8 year old son

because king neptune says d*mn so I had them tell my son not to repeat that in class
Parent of a 6, 10, and 14 year old Written byKako January 18, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect Movie for Its Recommended Age!

This movie is perfect for seven and up, just like the show (which is rated TV-Y7, meaning seven and up as well). If your children are younger, they won't understand some parts, but it's an overall good film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 2 year old Written bynina.gold November 17, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Thumbs up for the talking cheese! :)

My almost 3 yo loves the talking cheese :D It's important to realize that different individuals get different messages from the same piece/event/movie etc What message comes across and how it's perceived and received depends entirely on the audience. I say trust your child and your good example and allow your child to form his own opinion and draw his own lessons and conclusions from this movie. There's a lesson to draw from everything, this movie included :) You might like to read this article on the educational value of SpongeBob : http://www.psychologyinaction.org/2012/05/13/the-values-in-sponge-bob-sq...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17, 17, and 17 year old Written byURMOM September 7, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TOTALLY INNAPROPRO

nuff said
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 27, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Spongebob is fine

Spongebob is hilarious even the movie makes it better its totally kid safe some violence and name calling but other wise kid safe
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Woohoo! It's getting a sequel! I'm not suprised though,this movie rocks.

That's right! In 2014 THERE'S GONNA BE A SEQUEL! It's gonna be awesome! I love this movie because it's funny and entertaining!
Parent Written bySam Thomas August 5, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Very good and suitable for all ages

This is harmless, a film for both parents and children. It has nothing inapropriate in and all children should be allowed to watch it. Do not listen or pay any attention to reviews saying they should be something ridiculous like 12 or 13. Suitable for all ages and a very good film, your children will love it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byHumorFan87 July 30, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good but...

I liked it, however a character was once referred to as a "Knucklehead McSpazzatron." I don't know about you but I think that sets a very bad example for kids! Other than that it is a great movie! I recommend it for kids of all ages as long as they don't call each other Knucklehead McSpazzatrons. It could very hurtful depending on the context.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byChessPiece19 July 25, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Lesson

Here is a lesson in why so many adults can not stand this show: ever since the dawn of cartoons, they have reflected instincts we humans have to judge the characteristics of people and things depending on the simplest of things: their shape. For example, Super Mario: Mario is short, rotund, and sorta plushy. The most common shape on him is a circle. Same for Mickey Mouse, Arnold, etc. We associate circles and curves with positivity and protagonists, and when we see a protagonist like Spongebob, who is essentially a rectangle, with "square pants", it goes against our primal instincts, and leaves us perplexed and angry, at which point we write angry reviews on this site. The most circular character is actually Squidward, who is mean and rude. We expect mean people to be more pointy or triangular, like Bowser with his spikes all over his body and triangular shape in his normal position. But instead the triangular character, Patrick, is the loveable dope. But the truth is, these things aren't always true in real life. It's perfectly fine for a kid not to judge a book by it's cover. So don't project your deeply rooted hatred on children like this. I would reccommend this show to any kid at least 6.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 5, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

the spongebob squarepants movie

Families can talk about what makes SpongeBob and his friends funny? Is the silliness all harmless fun, or are there some negative messages here? Parents: Do your kids reenact some of the antics they see in this movie? What is your reaction to this? Is it important that kids TV teach lessons, or is it OK to just entertain?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJEDI micah June 21, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

EVEN MORE SPONGIER!!!

I was probably more excited than any other kid to see SpongeBob on the big screen! It is just like the show except this time, it actually has some positive messages for kids! I love this movie! Did you know there's a SEQUEL to this movie coming in 2014?! I CAN'T WAIT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybaba 1 May 17, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

SpongeBob SqaurePants The Movie

This is even better than the TV show! But meant for older kids. Mainly because at the begining Patrick is flying on a banner naked shouting " HOORAY FOR SPONGEBOB!! " You can see Patrick's bum.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written byeelee February 10, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Pretty awesome!

Sure, there's some violent scenes, and Spongebob/Patrick get "drunk" off of ice cream, but COME ON! Do you know how much kids get into these days?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages