All teen and kid member reviews for The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie

Kids say

(out of 149 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old May 1, 2011

One of my favorite movies!

Great Movie!It's just really great, though it's not my favorite.I love this movie, it could have some crude humor, but it's all played for laughs.King Neptune says D--n one time and there's one use of fr--king in the Goofy Goober Rock Song, but they're not very noticeable.I used to watch this movie when I was little, but I had no idea that Spongebob and Patrick were drunk, all because of ice cream.I didn't catch that part, and I didn't know about Drinking and stuff.To make this review short, a Great movie, Watch It!And this is sure to amuse Spongebob fans.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 27, 2014

Honestly People

So, this review is going to have two parts- a review and a rant. First, the review. I've grown up with Spongebob. It was a huge chunk of my childhood. Heck, my first sentence ever was when my mom turned Spongebob off to go to bed and I said "More Spongebob please." (Well, it sounded a lot more like "Mo Bumbob pls.") I never really understood why I loved it, I just did (the older episodes, which I find much more charming and loveable.) I had VHS, the DVD to this movie (which froze when the huge serpentine sea monster came on stage) and even a huge doll. I was obsessed. I think I recall my dad telling me he actually took me to see this movie when it came out, but I don't remember seeing as I was only 2. But honestly, I love every part of this movie. It sends a great message (trust yourself) and it's honestly adorable under all the hilarity, like Spongebob and Patrick getting 'drunk' on ice cream and then getting 'hungover' and Squidward saying how he can't be fooled as he listens to public radio. And, honestly, even as a 12 year old, I still cry when Spongebob and Patrick dry up. This may just be the nostalgia talking, but I can still say I love and recommend this movie. --- Now if you just wanted to see if this was ok for your kid, I say a wholehearted YES! Now you can leave. But if you want to hear a rant continue. --- Honestly, I think this is Babies R' US up in here! But rather than point out what's wrong with what parent's think, I'm just going to quote some parental reviews. (Honestly, I've seen only a bit worse, as somebody wrote that Land before Time was inappropriate for ages 17 and up.) 1. 'The first problem was when Spongebob's pants fell off, reveling his naked bottom. I covered my 8yr old's eyes when that happened.' Honestly, it's a CARTOON. A CARTOON. If this is offensive better not let your kids watch Elmo because HE'S NAKED OMG!!!!!!!!!!! 2. 'They rest of the movie was very violent' What was violent? Except maybe the Thug Tug and Big Boot/Bigger Boot. This person is basically saying that blowing bubbles is very violent. 3. 'He has a major attitude problem, is mouthy, and is everything we don't want our children to be.' So you don't want your kids to be a bubbly, happy-go-lucky person that believes against all odds that they can do something? 4. 'Has hidden adult humor all throughout the show that kids just don't get yet. Let your kid watch this, they'll grow up violent and stupid.' Adult humor is put in there so adults can have a little chuckle while being forced to watch cartoons. And if the kids don't get it, how will they grow up to be 'violent and stupid'? P.S. I've never fought anyone in my life and I go to a gifted school. 4. 'Really bad movie. It made my kids' autism worse. Not to mention there's a pornographic scene which reveals Patrick's shiny fishy butt. Spongebob and Patrick also get drugged up, and a character says the d word.' 1. That's impossible. 2. It's a cartoon. 3. I have no idea what you're talking about. 4. You sound like a little kid. One last note. I have a friend, and a girl on her street has overprotective parents. She can only watch G movies and recently learned how to ride a bike. She is about 10. We make fun of her like you couldn't believe. Don't let your kid be a laughingstock.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 5, 2015

Awesome. Just plain awesome

This is one of the best movies I've ever seen, but there are bad parts to (here comes some spoilers!) Patrick is at one point, shown in his underwear, and there are also people that are drunk and fighting.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2015

The Spongebob Movie

Like usual, the orginial is always better than the sequel, and this one is much better than sponge out of water, it's more entertaining, it's sweeter, and it's more heartfelt, even if it lacks some laughs. Reccomended for kids 8 and up for: Mild Action and Mild Sexual Content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byHarryB 1 December 6, 2015

this film was a bit scary

i didn't like the agressive bit it scared me i felt like my heart was racing they should check the age rating before showing this to people that have spectrephobia
Teen, 15 years old Written byBanzaiwashout March 15, 2016

This is the cartoon that has made me laugh harder than any other,

I'm 15 and still laugh at this film like crazy, it's crude but absolutely hilarious. Call me immature or call me crazy. But this film is one of my favorite cartoon films ever! 5/5
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter April 10, 2015

Okay really?

Spongebob Squarepants is possibly one of the best kid cartoons out there. But the first movie wasn't the greatest and did not deserve to share the same name. Some bad aspects of the movie are, the car theft, the bar scene and the fact that Sponebob and Patrick can survive on land for more than a few minutes. And have any of you noticed that the episodes proceeding this film weren't as funny as the episodes prior to said film?
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2014

Funny and good film

This is a funny film
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bytvconnoisseur October 16, 2014

Cult Classic

This movie, by itself, is a cultural institution! I’ll never forget the day that my dad, and I saw it at Century El Con 20 Theatres.
Teen, 13 years old Written byABCand123 September 29, 2014

cool

cool
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 23, 2011

best child show spinoff movie

if you seen the show (which i',m sure you have) you'll be very famillar with it but it's really good and no inaproppriate
Kid, 9 years old December 2, 2015

Surprised With A Capital S.

I Collected All The Swears That Were Possible. Here's What I Found When I Watched The Movie Recently. 2 Out Of 3. I Found The D Word, And The F-r-e-a-k-i-n-g Word. Now I'm Going To Say Something Else. I Read A Review That Said That The Mom/ Dad Had To Tell Their 8 Year Old Not To Say That In Class. Really? I Knew Not To Say That When I Was 4! Parents Of Younger Children, Don't Let Your Kids Watch This Movie. The Language Gets Slightly Worse.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams January 5, 2015

Ah, memories.

As a kid, I loved watching this movie. As a teen, I still do. It's funny, action packed, and everything. Patrick was hilarious (especially with Mindy). I can't wait for the sequel!
Kid, 11 years old July 18, 2013

Some of you parents are too overprotective!

teamworkfun. how can you think that spongebob isn't appropriate for a six year old? It's a cartoon! It's supposed to be silly! This is a hilarious movie! I watched it when I was six. I didn't understand the whole drunk on ice cream thing then, but now that im older I do, and it's hilarious! Don't listen to some of these parents, it is appropriate for six year olds.
Teen, 14 years old Written byHennaGirl19 March 3, 2011

Okay for kids 6 and up? I don't think so!

I come from a house where certain things just aren't okay. This movie is banned from my house because it is extremely inappropriate. Patrick behaves very inappropriately towards Mindy and the bar scene was inappropriate. This is not okay for kids of 6. Wit till they're 10.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 21, 2011

:)

Super cute!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 14, 2017

Awesome Sauce

I think the Spongebob movie is great for kids five and up (maybe even 4 and up) because it sends out a great message about friendship and being true to yourself. And all parents who don't let their kids watch it are throwing them under a rock and being too protective. So yeah, Spongebob and Patrick get drunk on ice cream, so what? I'll probably make your kid want to eat less ice cream, which is GOOD. And yeah, Dam and Freaking are said, so what? Freaking isn't a bad word, but still you could tell your kids "Just don't go saying it." Same goes for dam, which, surprise surprise, isn't a bad word either. So you see guys in a bar drinking beer. I never payed any attention to that, and other kids probably didn't either. Even if they talk about beating people up, it probably won't do any damage to your kid, they'll probably actually only get nervous for spongebob and Patrick. And yes, you do see Spongebob and Patrick's bums various times throughout the movie. What, do your kids not have bums themselves? Is seeing a CARTOON one going to scar them for life? Are they going to get PTSD? NO! They'll laugh about it and keep enjoying the movie. And for Patrick liking Mindy, well, he just likes her. Someday your kids are going to have a crush on someone too. I understand that it might give off the wrong vibe, but honestly he just blushes and says "you're hot." Nothing wrong with that! The ice cream monster might scare little kids a little bit, but nothing too bad, they'll probably just not care. And any female parent who thinks, "but Mindy has cleavage." And what, you don't? It's fun for all ages but I'd suggest it for 5 and up just because younger kids might not get parts of it. Sure Patrick wears Stripper boots at the end, but I never got that as a kid, and your kids probably won't either. If you don't let your kids watch Spongebob than you're just too over-protective! Yes there are adult jokes but they're ADULT jokes, kids won't be able to understand them! And if you worry about them seeing cartoon bums then you really have come from under a rock. Kids will love it, and watch it many times. Who knows, it might even help kids to believe in themselves, and that they can always get through hard times if they believe they can.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLincoln2203 November 15, 2016

Spongebob takes the cinema

Parents need to know that this movie is based off the hit tv show and It is a fun movie to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnimegirl9973 October 19, 2016

Omg so cute

It's so cute!! Spoiler alert: Sex:pat is shown in stipers boots and he flys threw with his bear butt to the krusty crab. Violence: there is some threatening words like I'm gonna beat you up or bubble blowing babies are supposed to be beaten up.Drunk guys:spongebob and pat are shown drunk when they ate ice cream the "bad boys" of the bar are shown drunk and drinking beer. Language: da--and jacka-- but c'mon guys just say "don't say these words". Role models: really good like doing the right things and compassion. Messages: the same as role models
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byBackflip1000 September 10, 2016

Awesome movie

This is the best spongebob movie ever

Pages