All teen and kid member reviews for The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie

Kids say

(out of 143 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old May 1, 2011

One of my favorite movies!

Great Movie!It's just really great, though it's not my favorite.I love this movie, it could have some crude humor, but it's all played for laughs.King Neptune says D--n one time and there's one use of fr--king in the Goofy Goober Rock Song, but they're not very noticeable.I used to watch this movie when I was little, but I had no idea that Spongebob and Patrick were drunk, all because of ice cream.I didn't catch that part, and I didn't know about Drinking and stuff.To make this review short, a Great movie, Watch It!And this is sure to amuse Spongebob fans.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 27, 2014

Honestly People

So, this review is going to have two parts- a review and a rant. First, the review. I've grown up with Spongebob. It was a huge chunk of my childhood. Heck, my first sentence ever was when my mom turned Spongebob off to go to bed and I said "More Spongebob please." (Well, it sounded a lot more like "Mo Bumbob pls.") I never really understood why I loved it, I just did (the older episodes, which I find much more charming and loveable.) I had VHS, the DVD to this movie (which froze when the huge serpentine sea monster came on stage) and even a huge doll. I was obsessed. I think I recall my dad telling me he actually took me to see this movie when it came out, but I don't remember seeing as I was only 2. But honestly, I love every part of this movie. It sends a great message (trust yourself) and it's honestly adorable under all the hilarity, like Spongebob and Patrick getting 'drunk' on ice cream and then getting 'hungover' and Squidward saying how he can't be fooled as he listens to public radio. And, honestly, even as a 12 year old, I still cry when Spongebob and Patrick dry up. This may just be the nostalgia talking, but I can still say I love and recommend this movie. --- Now if you just wanted to see if this was ok for your kid, I say a wholehearted YES! Now you can leave. But if you want to hear a rant continue. --- Honestly, I think this is Babies R' US up in here! But rather than point out what's wrong with what parent's think, I'm just going to quote some parental reviews. (Honestly, I've seen only a bit worse, as somebody wrote that Land before Time was inappropriate for ages 17 and up.) 1. 'The first problem was when Spongebob's pants fell off, reveling his naked bottom. I covered my 8yr old's eyes when that happened.' Honestly, it's a CARTOON. A CARTOON. If this is offensive better not let your kids watch Elmo because HE'S NAKED OMG!!!!!!!!!!! 2. 'They rest of the movie was very violent' What was violent? Except maybe the Thug Tug and Big Boot/Bigger Boot. This person is basically saying that blowing bubbles is very violent. 3. 'He has a major attitude problem, is mouthy, and is everything we don't want our children to be.' So you don't want your kids to be a bubbly, happy-go-lucky person that believes against all odds that they can do something? 4. 'Has hidden adult humor all throughout the show that kids just don't get yet. Let your kid watch this, they'll grow up violent and stupid.' Adult humor is put in there so adults can have a little chuckle while being forced to watch cartoons. And if the kids don't get it, how will they grow up to be 'violent and stupid'? P.S. I've never fought anyone in my life and I go to a gifted school. 4. 'Really bad movie. It made my kids' autism worse. Not to mention there's a pornographic scene which reveals Patrick's shiny fishy butt. Spongebob and Patrick also get drugged up, and a character says the d word.' 1. That's impossible. 2. It's a cartoon. 3. I have no idea what you're talking about. 4. You sound like a little kid. One last note. I have a friend, and a girl on her street has overprotective parents. She can only watch G movies and recently learned how to ride a bike. She is about 10. We make fun of her like you couldn't believe. Don't let your kid be a laughingstock.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 5, 2015

Awesome. Just plain awesome

This is one of the best movies I've ever seen, but there are bad parts to (here comes some spoilers!) Patrick is at one point, shown in his underwear, and there are also people that are drunk and fighting.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2015

The Spongebob Movie

Like usual, the orginial is always better than the sequel, and this one is much better than sponge out of water, it's more entertaining, it's sweeter, and it's more heartfelt, even if it lacks some laughs. Reccomended for kids 8 and up for: Mild Action and Mild Sexual Content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byHarryB 1 December 6, 2015

this film was a bit scary

i didn't like the agressive bit it scared me i felt like my heart was racing they should check the age rating before showing this to people that have spectrephobia
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter April 10, 2015

Okay really?

Spongebob Squarepants is possibly one of the best kid cartoons out there. But the first movie wasn't the greatest and did not deserve to share the same name. Some bad aspects of the movie are, the car theft, the bar scene and the fact that Sponebob and Patrick can survive on land for more than a few minutes. And have any of you noticed that the episodes proceeding this film weren't as funny as the episodes prior to said film?
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2014

Funny and good film

This is a funny film
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bytvconnoisseur October 16, 2014

Cult Classic

This movie, by itself, is a cultural institution! I’ll never forget the day that my dad, and I saw it at Century El Con 20 Theatres.
Teen, 13 years old Written byABCand123 September 29, 2014

cool

cool
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 23, 2011

best child show spinoff movie

if you seen the show (which i',m sure you have) you'll be very famillar with it but it's really good and no inaproppriate
Teen, 15 years old Written byBanzaiwashout March 15, 2016

This is the cartoon that has made me laugh harder than any other,

I'm 15 and still laugh at this film like crazy, it's crude but absolutely hilarious. Call me immature or call me crazy. But this film is one of my favorite cartoon films ever! 5/5
Kid, 9 years old December 2, 2015

Surprised With A Capital S.

I Collected All The Swears That Were Possible. Here's What I Found When I Watched The Movie Recently. 2 Out Of 3. I Found The D Word, And The F-r-e-a-k-i-n-g Word. Now I'm Going To Say Something Else. I Read A Review That Said That The Mom/ Dad Had To Tell Their 8 Year Old Not To Say That In Class. Really? I Knew Not To Say That When I Was 4! Parents Of Younger Children, Don't Let Your Kids Watch This Movie. The Language Gets Slightly Worse.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams January 5, 2015

Ah, memories.

As a kid, I loved watching this movie. As a teen, I still do. It's funny, action packed, and everything. Patrick was hilarious (especially with Mindy). I can't wait for the sequel!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHennaGirl19 March 3, 2011

Okay for kids 6 and up? I don't think so!

I come from a house where certain things just aren't okay. This movie is banned from my house because it is extremely inappropriate. Patrick behaves very inappropriately towards Mindy and the bar scene was inappropriate. This is not okay for kids of 6. Wit till they're 10.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 21, 2011

:)

Super cute!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 17, 2016

cool×cute=more cute

Omg i love this movie! Yeah theres swearing. Yeah theres drugs. Teah theres a littel bit of sex. And yes a lot if violence. But it was soo cute. I knew not to say bad words when i was 2 people 2 years old!! Please parents just enjoy it ok?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 22, 2015

Silly, off-colour and suprisingly violent Spongebob film.

As you know, the cartoon which aired in 12 minute episodes, was such a smash hit the creators decided, "goshdarnit, let's make a movie to go along with the Spongebob franchise". And so they did, and we couldn't be more happy they did. The same edgy stuff in the TV show. There is escalating violence through the film, some scary sequences involving a scary biker who is a hired assassin. There is a very violent sequence where there are big thugs beating each other in the faces, threats of disturbing violence, mind-control, giant evil creatures, aswell as a scene where Spongebob and Patrick supposively die. This type of nonstop action may push the envolope for young Spongebob fans. There are some sexual references, including Patrick dressed as a hooker, which indeed suprised me when I viewed this movie a 2nd time as a 10 year old. Patrick seems to have an odd affection for Mindy. Suprisingly, there is actually some cuss words in this animated family affair. "Damn and hell" are both said a couple times, aswell as rude insults such as "knuckleheadmcspazatron". There is a very questionable early scene where Patrick and Spongebob get drunk on ice cream, and act very tipsy, then wake up horrid the next day. Jeez, it's hard to believe this gets away as a kids show sometimes... Anyways, I particularly enjoyed this film, as I am a Spongebob fan. Some haters of this animated sponge will of course, pass this film, which is why I gave ith only three stars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old July 5, 2015

Hilarious,heart warming comedy is racy and raunchy but less violent than the show.

This comedy of course takes place in bikini bottom. When someone sells The King Neptune's crown to a evil guy in a place called Shell city. Spongebob and Patrick must get it back before Neptune executes Mr. Crabs. They have six days to complete this dangerous task. This comedy like the show has lots of violence but its far less gory and graphic but there is still lots of it. There also some innuendo and vulgar language.This comedy is very funny,raunchy,heart warming,and of course positive messages but its too much for the little ones. My rating:PG-13 for intense sequences of comic violence throughout,some innuendo,and crass humor.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCrackingCracker May 6, 2015

The same exact thing as the tv show

Check tv show content. There both the same exact thing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 January 31, 2015

Just silly fun.

I watched random episodes of Spongebob Squarepants. This film was just silly fun and David Hasselfoff's cameo was good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages