All parent member reviews for The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974)

Parents say

(out of 13 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byhomey335 May 28, 2012

Good for late teens.

Violence: 7/10- There is a LOT of violence, but it isn't extremely graphic and gory or bloody. Sexual Content: 1/10: A teenager mentions porn. Language: 2/10: B*tch is used a couple times, along with h*ll and d*mn. Drugs and Drinking: 0/10- Not an issue. Frightining or scary scenes: 10/10- Not super bloody, but it is very scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byharris231 September 10, 2012

Second big horror movie (First was The Exorcist)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byQuinton_Moad February 5, 2011

"The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" is a solid horror movie but it can be frightening for younger viewers

"The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" isn't as bad as the title suggests nor does it deserve an R-rating. It's very frightening at times but with parental supervision, most children seven and older can watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byMichael Loughrie December 20, 2015

Only 3/5? This is the best horror movie ever created!

This movie is old so don't worry about how scary it is, this movie has a lovely message about being safe. It doesn't have a lot of blood but some disturbing scenes and images. I recommend it for slasher fans!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byyuri13 July 6, 2014

Can be very disturbing

Can be disturbing The film has some scenes of blood as a guy cutting and other non-graphic scene There is a scene where a man is run over by truck, this may be the most graphic scene in the entire movie. One use of shit. Not much violence and profanity, no sexual reference and no drug use, but the violence of the film is implicit in the murder scenes that may be too intense and scary. The film was banned in several countries including Australia, Brazil, Chile, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Malasya, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, United Kingdom and West Germany.Mais later this film was released with censorship 18 years by the graphic nature film. At the time it was released a censored R for disturbing violent images, terror and language, but if it were released today, censorship would be: PG-13: for disturbing violent content and images, some mild language and horror
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 3, 3, and 5 year old Written byjonallypugliese1023 November 4, 2013

Texas Chainsaw Massacre

I'm a big fan of the Texas Chainsaw movies. Not too sure about the remakes never been a big fan of remakes. Some one seriously needs to go through and delete the reviews that are repeated over and over, its really annoying. The review 'its ok' is on here 6 times supposedly written by different people ranging in ages from -1 to adult. How does a -1 year old write a review.
Parent Written byHannibalPhil April 25, 2013

My top favorite horror film!

on of my personal favorites of horror. its definitely not corny with typical teenagers that would swear their brains out, have sex, drink and consume drugs. the teens are mature in the film, the actors of the killers that Tobe Hooper chose were incredible in there roles, and Gunnar Hansen as Leatherface was scary as Hell, in my opinion I would recommend this film young teens age 13 and up, not for younger kids, they would get nightmares seeing a Butcher wearing a human face mask wielding a bloody chainsaw.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of an infant and 1 year old Written byMommaOfTwoo November 20, 2012

Massacre

I am not a true fan of the horror genre but this movie compared to the remake is much better! Less gore but still just as terrifying.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byLewis Woodhall September 15, 2012

AGE RESTRICTIONS!

This movie should not be an 18+ ... It should be a 15+ to be honest and a lot of people agree! Language - Mild to moderate! Sex - Nothing much. Violence - Strong. Quite bloody...not gory! More disturbing! Other - Nothing much. I am not joking if your 15+ year old child enjoys horrors then this is fine!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague June 9, 2010

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)

An all out instant classic of a horror film. Extremely gorey and quite disturbing for a movie of its time. Adults will reminisce, and teens will love it.
Adult Written byClassicCultReviewer June 17, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bysinisterplague February 9, 2009

One of my favorite horror films

Although I am too young to have lived in the time back when this film was scary, I still find it to be very enjoyable. Though it no longer scares, you can't help but admire the atmosphere and techniques Director Tobe Hooper uses to make you uneasy, and paint such a grim view of the vietnam era. Also, Leatherface is a fantastic villain who really makes you wonder. Why does this man do this? Is it only to feed his family? Is it his hatred towards teens or people in general? Or is he just not all there? Maybe he doesn't exactly know what he is doing, and is acting purely on motorized reflex? I won't tell you what I think his reason is. You just need to watch the film and decide for yourself. Trust me, its worth a few for any fan of cinema. And an absolute must view for anyone who is at all interested in the horror genre.
Adult Written bygitters April 9, 2008

texas chainsaw 74

If you let your children watch horror movies and they want to see the original TCM, I'd say go for it. The movies very tame by today's standards. Violence is really the only issue, and really it's not all that bad.