Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for This Film Is Not Yet Rated

Common Sense says

Tracking the MPAA ratings board. Adults only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 20 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 19 reviews
Parent of an infant year old Written byNK17 June 22, 2011

Violence vs Sex

It's fine for age 12 they do briefly show people's boobs and privates and occasional ax and chainsaw murders from R and NC-17 titles, but get this put almost any disgusting, dismemberment, disembowelment and it will probably still get an R look At hellraiser or sin city (both r movies) but The Cooler which features just about NO violence has pubic hair in a sex scene and it initially got... An nc17, blue valentine was a bit violent but it was a beautiful movie and it got an NC-17 the only movies I know to get an NC-17 for violence and are STILL nc-17 are evil dead, 100 tears and this graphic WWII movie (blanking on its name) srpski film and cannibal holocaust but cannibal holocaust and srpski also had graphic sex and rape, that movie was beyond disgusting anyway and banned in many countries, but also gay sex also triggers NC-17 and I am straight and have a 1 year old kid in the UK but in defense of some of my friends they should have freedom and next... Gun dramas with heavy violence but no blood get... A PG-13 and horrors get an R, but in those gun dramas they are narrowing down the affects which I think is ridiculous but a great documentary, I loved it and it is ok for Tweens in the version when they blur the sex and cut violence but I bet the only reason the MPAA rated this documentary an NC-17 because it was spying on them.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written byMr. Strong April 9, 2008

Very good!

Okay, this film was very funny. But how the hell did it get NC-17? I understand about the language and sexual content, but NC-17 is rare. I say R content, but almost NC-17 content.
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

I agree!!!

I agree with the other reviewer . . . I work in the television industry, and I can assure you EVERYTHING in this movie is true. If parents think the ratings system works for them, go screen Hostel, The Hills Have Eyes, or even The Exorcist from nearly 35 years ago, and ask yourself HOW these films passed with an "R".
Adult Written byverticalbug April 9, 2008
Adult Written byCatcherintherye May 16, 2013

Not a family film

Very interesting and good to know, but not for kids. They show distinctions between R and NC-17 films. That means you see a lot of sex and violence.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011

Great Documentry!!!

The reason the MPAA rated this NC-17 was because they didn't want the world to see how they operate. Was a lot of nudity, violence, and some uses of f*ck. Should have been rated R.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCbooth73 July 19, 2010

A great documentary.

As 'common sense' said this film is not intended for children. However it is great for anyone curious how the movies their kids watch are rated. It contains many interviews with directors that have first hand experience with the MPAA.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written by[email protected] April 9, 2008
Adult Written byslickchris77 April 9, 2008
Adult Written bybroadwaybaby April 9, 2008

Only the greatest documentary of all time.

Seriously. Though it's obviously not for children, this type of film is what gives me some faith back into the human race. Fascinating and fantastic, I recommend it for everyone who wants to see something that'll make them laugh until they cry and think until their heads hurt. And, of course, having some of the century's most fantastic directors in it doesn't hurt a bit.
Adult Written byA5H13Y November 2, 2010

Informative, but not without argumental fallacies

Although I did not agree with everything presented in the movie, I do agree that the MPAA is not the best rating system there could be. However, the methods they went about trying to find out about the board members did not seem very professional. In addition, the documentary seemed to focus too much on the fact that the members of the MPAA are kept secret rather than the actual issues with the MPAA's rating. It seems like the makers of this film set out to prove one thing, but focused on evidence that would perhaps support other accusations. As far as kids watching the movie goes - it was rated NC-17 (although they dropped the rating) and for good reason.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byotakucode April 9, 2008

A must-see for all adults

If you've ever been curious why a movie is rated for a certain age group, this documentary will be very illuminating! If you think the MPAA operates with you, your kids, or the voice of filmmakers in mind, you will find yourself sorely mistaken. The documentary shows the influence large movie makers have over the rating process, and the problems with the MPAAs completely secret rating procedures.
Adult Written bysamsun1 July 8, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byNoneofyour B. April 22, 2018

Hilarious and scathing exposé of the MPAA

A consistently entertaining documentary on the various hypocrisies of the MPAA and their secretive methods of rating films.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byShane T. November 25, 2017
Probably should be 16 or even 17. Maybe a strong R or NC-17.
Adult Written byDeki May 16, 2014

Frankly Informative, though unabashedly so.

This film is somewhat difficult to standardize guidelines for. This is a movie about the MPAA, the ratings board that the American Film industry uses and backs to rate its films. Seeing as you are using this site, you are most likely well aware of the issues the MPAA has, meaning that this film may be interesting. Regarding objectionable content, this film a lot of it. As a documentary, it interviews multiple film makers and as per usual, shows clips regarding what the film maker is speaking about. So as an example, when Kimberly Peirce was interviewed regarding the NC-17 rating of her film, "Boys Don't Cry", the offending scenes where shown. So yes, this movie as an exposé of objectionable films has a lot of nudity and violence from a variety of films. If regardless of context you are opposed showing graphic violence or sexuality ranging from the standard detached heterosexual missionary of many films to other forms of human sexuality such as masturbation, LGBT relationships (and sex), or fetishism, than you will want to stop your children from watching this. The large caveat is that the context is one of analysis and detachment. Yes, there is a lot of nudity, but it is used to explain an argument. I would argue that the analytic tone and context of said material makes it so that one should watch this movie first, then decide whether it is appropriate for their child. Some may say that the content regardless of what is used for is inappropriate therefore this movie is, while others may recognize the intellectual value of this film and allow their child to watch it for the sake of knowledge. In conclusion, this film has graphic content, but lacks the character or plot development for it to have sensual or emotional weight. It is quite detached due to the analysis. The child in question is going to be the determining factor as the film is impossible to standardize as too violent or pornographic. It's difficult to gauge whether informational content is inappropriate for anyone within a demographic.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 11 and 11 year old Written byResponibleParentOf2 July 12, 2011

For once, I agree with the ratings board!

This film should be strictly for fearless adults. It is VERY controversial and shows clips that would scar children's minds and even some adults. Not for people under 18, under any circumstances. The people in this movie are very sarcastic; the ratings board is exposed rudely.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySettingXSail January 11, 2009
Adult Written byakfletchers April 9, 2008
Adult Written byKejr April 9, 2008

Interesting

I just think it was okay for those who are 17 or older.