All parent member reviews for Tropic Thunder

Parents say

(out of 21 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byDBarto June 7, 2009
 

This film needs to clean up its act

This is the dirtiest film (outside of Team America World Police) I have ever seen. Is it funny? Sort of. It is Clever? Sometimes. Is it appropriate for anyone under the age of 17? NO! If you can think of a cuss word, in the first ten minutes of the film they probably use it. Is there nudity, yes, Stillers agent flips through a pornographic book while talking to stiller, and quite a few other things. Even I felt dirty after watching it. Personally, this film shouldn't be seen by anyone under the age of 21. A 2 out of 5
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 and 15 year old Written byxmasterxofxmyxd... June 30, 2009
 

The Funniest movie of 2008

Tropic Thunder is an ironic, witty, satirical, and downright hilarious movie that makes fun of everthing from prima donnas in hollywood, overuse of sequels, and just the movie business itself. This movie is also filled with perfect writing, and it is probably one of the most quotable movies i have ever seen. Every character in this movie is also hilarious from RDJ's performance as Kirk Lazarus who won't drop out of character, Ben Stiller as the actor who just can't stop acting in flops, Jack Black as the slapstick comedy star with drug problems, Brandon T. Jackson as Alpa Chino, who has an energy drink called 'booty sweat' and an energy bar called 'bust a nut", and Jay Baruchel as Kevin Sandusky, he has some funny lines but he doesn't really stand out as a huge, rich character, he just knows a lot about blu-ray vs hd dvd. Anyways, Tropic Thunder is simply hilarious from the main performances and even Danny MCbride, and Tom Cruise are hilarious in their small roles, and you are going to laugh no matter what.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMovie Man August 7, 2009
 

Hilarious, Graphic Fun!

I love this movie. It's hilarious. The preformances were awesome (especially Downey Jr.; well done; and I would've rated it the best preformance of 2008 if it weren't for Ledger's Joker) and the humor was hysterical! Perants: the violence is surpisingly graphic for a comedy; lots of blood, guts, and people being blown up/apart. A man's head is seen, a character's guts are spilled out, etc. Very funny, very raunchy, and very violent; I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, 3, 4, 11, and 13 year old Written byMelaniEnoch December 23, 2008
 

Horrible!

I bought this movie for my son,thinking a little comedy violence would be o.k,but did not go any further with this movie than the opening (fake previews)because of the video at the beginning.The use of the word p***y and the butt shaking was ridiculous and I wouldn't let a 16yr old watch this movie.
Parent of a 13 and 19 year old Written by191719591995 December 17, 2008
 

THE WORST MOVIE EVER---TRASH, APPROPRIATE FOR NO HUMAN BEING

Adult Written byKimberle September 23, 2013
 

Pause, there is nudity!

I was about ten minutes into the movie and my husband and I always make sure to avoid nudity and sexual content at all costs but there was a pornographic magazine that a man is looking at and that it shows completely naked women for only a few seconds but it is definitely there. We turned the movie off right then and there. Commonsense media you may want to place this in the reviews!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bydarthsitkur March 26, 2013
 

i was laughing nonstop lol

this is such a hysterical war comedy that had me laughing from start to finish, and it even had awesome shootouts too which was an instant plus for me, the humor was very off beat and random just like blazing saddles but ten times as hilarious lol
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011
 

A little iffy

Great Movie!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRiley3664 July 29, 2010
 

Ridiculous

ok i dont understand this site. so a game like assassins creed where the f-word is said once is said not for kids, but a movie that says the f-word every five seconds is rated 16+? ridiculous.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFiggy66 July 26, 2010
 

Ok for 14 plus

Soooooooo funny but for older kids lots of disscussions about sex, at least one swear word every thirty seconds and its violent. My favorite part was the booty sweat
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydrummer66 December 16, 2009
 
it was very funny, lots of language, should be rated PG13, nothing bad
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygamenerd323 November 19, 2009
 

Great actors, great laughs

This movie is really funny!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 1 year old Written byShandabutt101 March 31, 2009
 

Misunderstood Movie

I think this movie was Hilarious! I watched it 5 times and still fell off my seat laughing eachtime. I think this film would be innapropiate for children under the age 16. There is alot of graphic viloence and there is also alot of cursing. I would deffinitly remmomend this to anyone with a sick sense of humor. I also feel that everyone made a big deal out of nothing with the whole "retard" situation. I was iffy about watching this movie because I have a disabled child,but I was not offended at all. It is a great movie to sit down and watch to get a good hard laugh!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNico9000 March 29, 2009
 

So Funny

Not for under a certain age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 10, 2009
 

It got better and better each tiem I watched it.

Tropic Thunder was a kind of funny movie with a pointless hour. A waste of meny in theaters. I rent it and rewatch it 6 times in 2 weeks and fell in love. It is smart,violent,mouthy, and overall hilarious the humor in this is incredible and the best Comedy of 2008.
Adult Written byage 10+ October 16, 2011
 

not for kids under 14

This movie has swearing almost every minute. Plus some drug use/references and truckloads of violence and gore. This movie is NOT for anyone under 14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysomeone141 August 7, 2010
 

Funny movie suggest it to anyone 12+

Doesn't matter about profanity anymore kids swear all the time, in school. everywhere even behind your back sometimes great movie. As long as you can laugh you can watch this Gore & Blood - Plenty but this ain't as bad as what you see in the news, that's the real stuff.. Profanity - Like I said before profanity Isn't a concern anymore Sexual Content - None except a guy talking about a vagina and another talking about oral sex Rating - I'd give it a 17 out of a 20
Parent of a 6, 10, and 12 year old Written byjjmmwgdp May 20, 2010
 

Not appropriate at any age

Positive was send-up of Hollywood. Other than that it is too violent, crude and too much drugs. I'd say it's not appropriate at any age. One of the few films I'm truly sorry I watched - and I didn't even pay anything to see it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent Written byPlague December 14, 2009
 

Tropic Thunder

Awesome movie that will have you laughing till you pee, puke and pass out. I was never really a huge Ben Stiller or Black Jack fan until I watched this movie. Too hilarious.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009
 

funny only for teens and adults 15 and over

i loved the movie but the truth is that for you familys out there with smaller kids dont let them see the movie 15 and over
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages