Parent reviews for Up in the Air

Common Sense says

Adult dramedy taps into emotions of current tough times.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 14 reviews
Adult Written bytreehousejennie May 23, 2012

Not worth the effort. Not a feel-good movie.

What a waste of time. A shallow film about a guy who realizes that his life is empty, but then does nothing to change it. Leaves you disappointed with the overall message that life is pointless, but it's not as bad when you have someone to share it with. Clooney jumps in bed with a fellow traveler only to find out later that it was meaningless and can go nowhere. A depressing movie about a guy who ends up alone.
Parent Written byjhartsock81 June 27, 2011

Clooney what were you thinking???

No real point to this movie. Main focus is a guy who fires people for a living, when their own company and managers dont have the guts to do mass firings.
Its also about his lack of a life other then his job, and his only relationship is hooking up with a women he met in an Airport Bar.
Spoiler: find out later she is using him to cheat on her husband, and wont give up her real life for the main charactor. Boo hoo so sad.
This movie wasn't worth the time or energy i struggled through it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byjibran_pcc January 8, 2011
Ryan Bingham (George Clooney) has a dream: To be the seventh person ever to accumulate 10 million frequent-flier miles. And he’s not far off. He spends 270 days a year in the air; airports and planes and hotels are home to him. When he’s not on t ... kate

This title contains:

Consumerism
Positive role models
Adult Written byglaice October 14, 2010
The end is a little makes me sad.
It's a good movie.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Adult Written byMature-teen September 10, 2010

Be mature enough to appreciate it...

Not that inappropriate but only watch it if you're a teen mature enough to appreciate it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Positive Messages
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byohya August 6, 2010

Watch for the R rating.

great,but not a kids movie

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 17-year-old Written byJesusrulz666 July 24, 2010

The Perfect Film

Yes well this Perfect Film deserves a standing ovation by every single unemployed person. The screenplay is 99.99% perfect, except when Farmiga says," Just think of yourself, with a vagina." That was unneeded. The story was excellent, and this film was on par with The Hurt Locker. 4.999/5 Stars.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written by4Spice June 15, 2010

good movie

this movie was ok not if looking for a action movie don't watch this one some good funny parts 16 and over for sex and language

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byPlague March 18, 2010

Up in the Air

Very moving and funny movie with a possitive message to it. A great film for teens and adults.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 14-year-old Written byblublublu March 13, 2010

Why is this R?

Absolutely no reason for its R rating. good moral (in the end), he realizes that he doesnt have it all, in fact, he has very little. when the young one gets broken up with, she starts crying hysterically, which is a little weird. Should have won best picture.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 8 and 9-year-old Written bydavid.wallace February 8, 2010

A Movie Made For Adults, iffy for teens

Up In the Air is a complex movie not made for young kids or many teens. The story is not relevant to kids' lives. My child was thoroughly bored throughout the movie. In hindsight it was a mistake letting her watch it. There were a lot of ups and downs throughout the movie and the ending was not particularly uplifting. My daughter had a lot of questions throughout the movie and has still been asking about it 2 weeks later. Up In the Air is not a family movie.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byScoobysnacks_8371 February 4, 2010
You know for those of you that believe it doesn't deserve an R rating let's go ahead and let some naked woman walk through your living room with your kids and husband sitting there, then what would you do??!! I consider any movie that has nudity porno! I bet it would be total different if it was a man naked walking around in the movie! It's pretty bad when movies now days can't keep nakedness out of it! I mean really why do we have to see people have sex to enjoy a comedy movie? it's so stupid me and my husband are so tired of this!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byterra100 January 19, 2010

Too depressing -- find something else

Utterly depressing. I'm usually tolerant of downer films, but this film had virtually no redeeming value other than stellar acting by the principal actors. So, unless you're after studying acting technique, find something else to watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bygetuclu December 28, 2009

Older teens and early 20's good conversation starter for parents.

We took our 18 and 20 year old daughters to see it. It was depressing to the younger going into business and my wife - very feeling people. For my older and me, it was entertaining and allowed for good discussion about serious issues from employment, to living within your means to what is important in life. Clooney gets a clue in the end. Never too late..

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byPaul-FF December 5, 2009

Very good movie, does not deserve an R rating.

I really enjoyed this movie and expect to see/hear much more of it during the upcoming awards season.

It's so nice to watch a movie that treats the audience as adults. The script, direction and acting are all top-notch.

As always, parents should be the judge of whether this movie is appropriate for their kids. Personally, I'd have no problem with watching this movie with my 11 year-old son. The one nude scene is from behind and is not gratuitous and, to be honest, I don't even recall much swearing in the movie.

There are some good lessons about family and about the type of person and the job that the lead character, Ryan Bingham, does. One of the main lessons is that there are times when a video chat or text message is not the best way to conduct a meeting about a serious subject.

The rather overt product placement for American Airlines is a little over-the-top but at least it ties in with the subject of the movie.

All-in-all, an excellent movie and I highly recommend it.