Parent reviews for Work It

Common Sense says

Sweet teen tale has great dancing; language, innuendo.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 8 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 30 reviews
Adult Written bymfagundes August 19, 2020

Torn between a Disney Flick and something edgier

We enjoyed the main gal from Disney's Girl Meets World. It was nice to see her in this role. It could have stayed completely PG and I would have been fine with it but I'm having a hard time with the other parents commenting about what age appropriate it is as the scene with the boys errection while dancing kinda threw me a curve ball. Sure, my daughter is 13 and is aware, but it was an awkward weird scene in a family movie. I'm less offended with the cuss words as my daughter has indeed, seen them all before, but the excessive twerking by the main actresses friend - something I could probably do without as I don't consider that a form of dancing. The message was great "live your dreams as a dancer, follow your passion and hopefully you'll be successful at it" vs stay focused, graduate strong, allow your education to pave your way. Again ... not quite a disney flick, maybe a weak introduction to kids interested in "Rent"
Adult Written byLisaLynn-1 June 18, 2021

Nice, but a series of Sus themes

I thought it was overall good. But one of the characters Chrush’s over a man at a mattress store and risky statements are made. Like: “the spoonesss of the mattress” and the female character has the male character test the mattress with her. Other than that I think this was movie was appropriate
Adult Written byupstateNYmama December 4, 2020

surprisingly enjoyable movie if you're OK with your child seeing occasional sexual references

Our family of 4 (two adults, kids ages 9 and 13) enjoyed this movie even more than we expected to! We decided to let our 9 year old watch despite some trepidation -- the 13 year old was watching for her birthday Netflix party so the rest of us joined in.

The erection scene mentioned by others is, indeed, mildly cringe-inducing (and unnecessary), but it's not explained in detail and I think it would go over the heads of most younger kids. We were also a little uncomfortable with a couple very camped-up fantasy scenes, very much a porny caricature of a teen girl's sexual desire. Even though the amount of skin (a man without a shirt) is something kids see at a swimming pool any day, the clichéd seduction images are a little icky for younger kids.

Still, the movie is tame overall, genuinely funny, great dancing, racially diverse, heartwarming. We personally don't have a problem with kids hearing an occasional curse word in a movie -- the language didn't feel overdone at all. We'd recommend for ages 10 to teen for families whose values are similar to ours.
Parent of a 12-year-old Written bylinda_s October 23, 2020

Cheesy and inappropriate

This movie might appeal to 8-12 year olds; however, there are some WILDLY INAPPROPRIATE scenes that just should not be in there. The worst was when a guy on a rival dance team gets an erection and the team is disqualified. The camera cuts to a close up of the guy's pants and lingers for an awkward amount of time. Really Netflix? Just who are your writers? Couldn't they come up with another way to have the team disqualified? It was such an inappropriate scene for my 12-year-old daughter. I'm so fed up with this type of thing.

Aside from the inappropriateness, the plot was predictable, and even my tween found the storyline cheesy. I feel like the writers probably wrote the script in a day, cynically rehashing tropes from other movies.

That said, it was mildly entertaining. Mostly we enjoyed pointing out how bad it was.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bySlothinda August 27, 2020

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byDancergal123 August 15, 2020

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bymolly_roon August 10, 2020

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bysusanbarrett August 10, 2020

great!

Great movie for kids! Only a little cursing.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models