Kids say

(out of 13 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byWay2Dramatic April 9, 2008

A good thriller!

This movie is long, and most of it is talking. It is not a slasher movie: it's a smart psychological thriller. It wasn't as violent as it's made out to seem; there's only three or four scenes that are violent and they are very graphic. Also a lot of tension. But they are only for about a total of 10 minutes of the movie. The rest of the violence is discussed rather than shown. They did use the f-word about 10+ times, but not as much as other movies I've seen. The one guy (played by Robert Downey, Jr. Coincidence?) is an alcoholic and druggie. But this movie is good and if your kids can understand what's going on and can handle violence, they should be fine, unless they scare eaisly, because this was based on true events.
Teen, 13 years old Written byiwouldtrustme13 August 27, 2014

iwouldtrustme3

well this is one of the best thrillers ever one big roller coster ride it bulids intensity then drops down and you start putting the pieces togeather i say mature 14 yes some language and violence but not overly graphic but over all one good movie
Teen, 14 years old Written bye.a May 31, 2014
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn April 1, 2012

A more thoughtful David FIncher depicts the obsession of crime

Zodiac, is a film that was made by David Fincher, the great director who has made several other great movies, such as Seven, The Game, Fight Club, Panic Room, The Social network and even the 2011 version of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Now, David FIncher is known for his usual dark subject matter, and Zodiac most certainly has it, but what is missing here from many of his others films, is the over complicated sense of violence, brutality and savageness. I am not saying hat this is even his best film, because it definitely is not, but I am saying that this may actually be his most thoughtfully, careful film. He avoided a lot of flashy visual tricks that made Fight Club such a brilliant cerebral masterpiece, he avoided the gruesome twists and turns and the stomach-churning conclusion that he depicted in Seven, and he even kept the pace fairly relaxed and not frantic, unlike Panic Room. And, speaking of the pace, and considering that this film is 157 minutes long, it really does keep the whole thing casual, letting the great performances of Jake Gyllenhaal and Robert Downey Jr., who become so obsessed with the infamous 60's and 70's Zodiac killing in San Francisco, that there whole live become based on finding the man responsible for the crimes. So, as good as it is, this is a fairly solid R Rating: There is infrequent but strong violence, including several scenes of the zodiacs innocent victims being brutally killed, with shots to the had and brutal stabbings and always with lot's of blood. Also fairly disturbing, are several scenes of the killer just plainly stalking innocent people, which may also be a bit much for younger audiences. Also, there is frequent drug and alcohol use, with several characters frequenting bars, and drinking occasionally to the point of inebriation. And,finally,. there is moderate but strong profanity, as well, including several uses each of f--k, sh-t, hell, g-dd-mn, christ, jesus, screw and crap. So, if you are a David Fincher fan, and you have enjoyed his previous entries, or maybe you are just interested in the infamous Zodiac killings, than I think this is definitely worth a watch. Reccomended.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byemoboizryummy April 9, 2008

no ur kids... i loved it

okay so I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MOVIE! Not for horror or suspence, but because it is well made. I am a huge horror fan, violence and language could offend some people, I would say if ur kid is under fifteen watch the movie first/ know your kid really well.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008

I'm 10 and I loved it.

Zodiac is a spectacular film that deserves an Oscar nomination.It does have voilence in it for example the Zodiac killer sneaks in back of a taxi driver and shots him in the head when the driver pulls over.You don't see very much blood.Another example is that a couple is stabbed to death.Language is another issue.Words like the f word the s word and the c word are used.Achol and drugs are used.Robert Downey Jr (who plays Paul Avery)always hangs out in a bar and drinks.He also smokes more than a normal smoker does.Later on he has an oxygen tank connected to his mouth.Commercialism is used in the movie (from what I remember) They commercialis diffrent 1960's 1970's items.I think it is a great movie.It is pretty complicated for kids but i'm smart and i got the point.If you have not seen it rent it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCharlieRoome August 25, 2016

Zodiac is a good film but requires a mature viewer

Violence - 3/5 Some of the killings are shown and they can be quite violent but it is never too 'strong'. Sex/nudity - 0/5 None Language - There is some uses of 'f*ck' in the movie Drinking, Drugs and smoking - 1/5 There is drinking and characters are shown drunk. Steven Avery smokes often and is a drunk Frightning/intence scenes - 4/5 The film could be considered frighning by some as it deals with the theme of a man killing for 'pleasure'
Teen, 16 years old Written bycassiep August 15, 2013

Fine for mature kids

Very interesting movie based on true events. Another great film by David Fincher.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 22, 2011

Loved ittt.

The zodiac killer case was so intresting, nice to see a movie about it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bytrag324 April 9, 2008

ZODIAC

i think zodiac is a very good movie it is not at all scary what so ever. there is a few scenes where u see alot of blood like on a car door people being stabbed and the zodiac killer killing someone in the head. it is more of a mystery/learning movie about the history of the zodiac killer and what the people went through with it in that time. i recomend it for people that are from the ages of 14+
Teen, 16 years old Written byCurbspaget April 9, 2008

Great!

This was a very informative movie on the killer, and an amazing movie. A little long, but very good overall.
Teen, 15 years old Written byhse987 April 9, 2008

Know your kid....

This movie was good....but you should know your kid before they see it. I think it's ok for 15+. It has violence, of course, but if your kid has seen other scary movies it's nothing different. It's more informative than anything.
Teen, 15 years old Written byellie April 9, 2008

boring

this was the most boring 'horror' movie i've ever seen. kids, fear not, you'll fall asleep anyway.