Common Sense Media says

Campy unscripted series is morbid and exploitative.

Parents say

age 14+
Parent Written byDelia828 December 1, 2013

Nightmares

My 9 year old saw this at a sleepover and now she is crying and can't sleep ... Nice!
Adult Written bymoviemaker201 January 16, 2014

pa'iowergfoqelainhgoiuehf09qerohf0oiwefyu9woeiu

I don't care. Things like this are crap. I don't even have to watch to know it's absolute tripe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byAmyH 8 June 19, 2015
I'm sorry but my 13-year-old child just loves this show mainly because she thinks it provides a great scientific look upon death and how many ways someone can die. Also, the show is called 1000 ways to die, do you REALLY think it will be good for younger kids? Maybe to a child who has a really great interest in Scientific Research about Death, it would be really appropriate for them. For any other kid, probably not.
Adult Written byamy.marie April 12, 2011

Not for under 12-13 year olds, but I love it :D

I love the show. But come on be honest, it is definetly not age appropriate and it really depends on the maturity of the kid. I think 12-13 would be okay, once again depending on maturity. Im 18 so I dont have a problem but I certainly wouldn't let a kid or if i had kids watch it under the age of around 13. These days most kids no about sex and drugs at a young age, if this just showed those death then yeh it would be easier to let them watch but it doesnt, if shows other deaths and although its somewhat educational, it simply has alot to do with ppl having no common sense or being plain stupid, or the fact that they have the worst luck in the world...I do believe that they should maybe say something for the ppl who died coz well they died and most had a family and were loved and now missed, so yeh as it is slightly comedic throughout the show they should respect the dead aswell. Anyways I still love it, im sure it makes alot of ppl change their ways. E.g for me, i chucked out the rusted shavers as one woman used one, cut herself with it and got a massive infection and died. Defo learnt my lesson from her..!
Parent of a 17 year old Written byhaileydunn January 8, 2011
u should change titty titty bang bang
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3 year old Written byReview Superman December 31, 2010

Its Over 1000!!!

Three Words: It Is Violent!.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 year old Written byAki Shawn January 26, 2010
It's too violent and they show some blood that will freak out my children. One story had a man who drunk drive, vomited and got his head chopped off by a mailbox.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFreakShow6177 October 17, 2011

The second worst show on Earth, alongside South Park, including Superjail.

The show itself is extremly stupid and sadistic. I thought it looked intresting so i decided to watch an episode. Worse show on Spike, Ever! The reainaments of the death have poor acting and even worse effects, and the way they die isn't even that inresting. Yes, there are some really gory images. Worse the unseen narrator is just as sadistic as the entire series itself. The show, 1000 Ways to Die” don’t really seem to be trying to fool anyone: The tone is tongue-in-cheek, the acting in the reenactments is over-the-top, and one can almost hear the narrator leering over every salacious detail. Remarkably, all of the people who die in these supposedly true stories have it coming to them, in the way that teenagers who have sex in horror movies always die immediately afterward. A construction worker who is cut in two by a rope while goofing around has been smoking marijuana; a woman who chokes to death on edible panties has been doing something you readers will have to imagine yourself. In a switcheroo, one segment starts with a drunken teen pool party, but the kid who is killed by a meteor has been trying to get the partiers to join his prayer group. “Stan was a speed bump in the cosmic flow,” the narrator says. “So the cosmos sent a hit man.” So much for the show’s concern for the deceased or their surviving friends and relatives. The writing seems to be deliberately bad, but it fails to be so bad that it’s good. As befits a show aimed at eternal adolescents, the show amps up the gross-out factor. When the visuals aren’t disgusting enough, medical experts appear on camera to add details: A gastroenterologist tells us that when that unlucky construction worker split in two, fecal matter from his internal organs would likely have been splattered about. At this point, one starts to look for a small-print disclaimer saying that the whole thing is an elaborate postmodern parody of junk television. But it doesn’t really matter. Whether parody or the real thing, “1000 Ways to Die” is just plain bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJulia Bradford February 5, 2010

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

Upon hearing the title of the show, some people may think that it is filled with scenes that are gruesome and gory. Actually the show is not gruesome or gory at all. Its interesting stories of people dying in the most bizarre ways are attention grabbing and it keeps me asking questions even during some of the commercial breaks. 1000 Ways to Die is a good show that can teach people to use common sense and always expect the unexpected in the most simple of situations because anything can go wrong.
Parent Written byBlack Jasmine March 31, 2012

Take caution

The way in which some deaths are portrayed is not appropiate for young eyes. Most of the episodes put blame on the victims themselves in an insensitive way for causing their own deaths. Many of these episodes make it appear that these victims deserved to die, which is not alright. This is a show that can potentially give nightmares to some young viewers. This show should be treated as if it were a rated off movie- no kids! Any parents considering allowing their kids to watch the show should do so with caution. They themselves should watch a few episodes of the show and determine for themselves whether or not they would like their kids to be watching this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byLevi2013 June 21, 2012

Remember how your mom says that tv will rot your brain? With a show like this, I tend to agree.

I highly disapprove of this show In my opinion, this show is over-dramatized with lousy re-enactments and lousy acting, objectifying women as porn star sex addicts and depicting men as either beer-gutted sexist pigs or just as big of sex addicts as the women. Some of the deaths in the show seemed to take potshots at certain individuals or parties(ie- having Mel Gibson die in a hot tub by having his intestines ripped out by the water filter or having a feminist leader shock herself to death by her vibrator). I also wouldn't be suprised if this show is riding on the heels of the Spike TV show MANswers, another show I disapprove of. If you look close enough, you can see the similarities between the 2 shows through their content. I highly recommend this show to be for 17 and older, but it would be wonderful if Spike TV would remove it completely.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byKeikoMamma10 November 18, 2011

Odd creepy show

Creepy, morbid show. Some of the scenes are just a tad overdone. I'd compare this to a Final Destination type mini series. Some aspects are educational (from a medical perspective), but it is very heavy on the gore. Each kid is different, but if dying makes your child sad, this show should be skipped.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byblueeyes378 March 13, 2011

Great

I love the show personally, and parents and kids can learn things from it. Not to be stupid. You want your kid not to do drugs? Well a recent episode showed a guy snorting cocaine and die, if he hadn't been doing the coke, he would not have died.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byXtian February 8, 2011

Perfect For Older Kids, But Not For Tweens

If I had my way, my son wouldn't watch this but because his father is worried about alienating him from other children his age who are allowed to watch pretty much whatever they want, he's allowed to. I'm sure this show is funny and all, but not appropriate for a twelve-year-old boy (in my opinion). However, I really do tend to be quite conservative in these matters so perhaps my opinion isn't in line with the times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12, 15, and 17 year old Written bybandit69ply November 12, 2010

Not everything you see on 1000 ways to die is true!

I like the show sometimes, but i know for a fact that the one episode talking about a woman's breast implants exploding on an airplan is fake. Mythbusters did a complete experiment based on that viral internet story. There researchers couldn't find any reliable verification of the incident and there tests showed it wouldn't happen. So don't believe everything you see on this show.
Adult Written byCam C. July 13, 2017

1000 ways to die review

First off let's start with the main problem with the show: Death. This show has so much blood and gore. So I would not suggest watching this show with your kids ages 2-12 or any sensitive children. And another VERY important thing: sex. This show shows people during sex (though nothing sensitive is shown) but try and shy the kids away from this. And if you decide to watch this with children, make sure to talk to them about how they feel,because if you don't, they can get bad thoughts
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byCTN December 16, 2012

My opinion

Okay, first of all the show isn 't ALL bad.. But in my own opinion, the show is actually a very frightening one. Mostly due to the fact that the events involved can actually happen to you.. But in terms of what family's should talk about.. Instead of going on about not put these events of tv.. Talk about something better, like how NOT to tempt the events shown, as said in the shows intro..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bygigis613 August 8, 2011

Review

Though it is not age appropriate for kids under 13 at least, it is educational. It shows you what the body can take and what it can't take. Some of the ways to die is really idiotic, so that would show others who have an idea of doing it not to do it. Like for instance, I just watched an episode of a guy that go killed while ghost riding. Also things that didn't seem dangerous actually is. Like the game Chubby Bunny. After I watched it, I was extra careful the next time I played it. Also, using an unloaded gun can kill you. I'm sure that alot of people didn't know that. All other things we can learn from this show, like rare diseases and disorders and allergic reactions. It's sometimes extremely gory and you cringe almost every episode, but in the end it's educational.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Educator and Parent Written byumbrelllainternet July 18, 2011

evil garbage

horrible!!! very evil and show how to die!? crazy. take it off the aire
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjerkin boii February 13, 2011

8 and older and getting at that age..

love it becuse it shows kids what could happen to them and dont do stupid stuff...
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages