All parent member reviews for American Dad

Parents say

(out of 23 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byMr. Mario August 17, 2012
age 12+
 

American Tween

Not that bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byDuncanDerund September 13, 2014
age 15+
 

Typical Seth McFarlane

Language:F*ck b**** d*** f*** s*** h*e a** p**** a***** m*****f**** p**** rarely n**** and s*** Sex:Rarely some bed images and sex scenes and sexual innuendo+sexuality. Violence:Some gore and guns played for laughs and some violence that is sometimes mild and sometimes a lot. Drugs:Some drinking and drug use+drug innuendo.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjamessmith18 November 27, 2012
age 18+
 

a good show

I think its a really good show I'm always looking forward to watching a new episodes
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byCare giver September 29, 2012
age 10+
 

Pretty good I let my kid watch almost anything on cartoon network

Mild language not much blood some raunchy jokes that kids won't understand if under 9
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byRoxyjoxy April 10, 2012
age 18+
 

meh.

it is funny and intertaining for the most part.. the father figure is insufferable but you can learn from this show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
age 12+
 

Funny

This is a must see for all kids 12+ I love this show it makes me laugh all the time
Parent of a 14 and 14 year old Written byPainis Cupcake March 2, 2011
age 2+
 
this show is awesome
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 17 year old Written byHuman November 21, 2009
age 11+
 
usually at 11 kids understand the jokes
Adult Written bydannokane3@gmail.com March 26, 2015
age 14+
 

terrible family., but laugh out loud funny

the Smiths are horrible people but they are entertaining to watch.,,.
Parent Written byFeifei July 5, 2013
age 7+
 

Was this review helpful to you?

Like Family Guy, American Dad is un-PC, but it was meant to be that way. American Dad is one of those shows that has grown on me. When it debuted, it occurred to me that it had the potential to become another successful prime-time cartoon series. So far, I am right. When it comes to political stances, Stan Smith and his daughter Hayley are mutually exclusive. Stan is conservative, while Hayley is very liberal. It is fun to see such a conflict between the two characters. I guess it just goes to show that no matter how well parents and children get along with each other, arguments are inevitable. If you are weary of any prime-time cartoons/comedies that you consider to be long in the tooth, American Dad is a welcome alternative.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byRobotninja3 September 29, 2012
age 10+
 

Awsome good for middle school students

Use of mild language and some blood
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byBlakeMontgomery May 14, 2012
age 12+
 

Racy parodick manner for teens and tweens.

I think it is a pretty good show,Some racist remarks and some foul language such.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byFrankinf March 25, 2012
age 10+
 

Watch it

This show is great and funny but not for kids under 10 but is great for ages 10-47
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfirstavenger11 February 12, 2012
age 14+
 

American Dad!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 3, 2012
age 13+
 

a.dad

dad comedy is clever
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byage 10+ October 16, 2011
age 12+
 

not as good as family guy

American dad! is not as funny or as raunchy as family guy. If your kids are over 12 and they want to watch this show, It's ok to let them.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byT.O.poet January 5, 2011
age 15+
 

What are you talking about? Much cleverer than Family Guy!

I actually find this show funnier than Family Guy. Initially it was a bit derivative, but I actually think it's found its own voice, and that voice is much less grating than MacFarlane's other shows. Unlike Family Guy, this show is not dependent on cut-away gags and shock-jock antics. Most of its humour comes from non-sequiturs and exaggerated meta jokes about the malleability of the characters and situations. This makes it considerably smarter than Family Guy, even if it can be just as crude.
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom August 18, 2010
age 16+
 

Only watched about 5 episodes.

I watched this when It first started because it looked a lot like family guy. Its not as good as family guy and its a lot more mature. Everything is sexual, Almost every sentence and its not really funny. I find some of it stupid and over the top. Why bother? The violence is only punching and stuff. Its not funny either. The language is more mature than family guy too. I just don't like it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 1, 7, 7, 7, and 9 year old Written byBWD January 8, 2010
age 15+
 

Animation NOT for kids

The horse skit (look it up, I'm not even going to say it), makes this inappropriate for pretty much all children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Adult Entertainment

American Dad is for Adults, which is why it is on weekly at night and not in the early morning cartoon lineup. As with other prime-time cartoons with a political theme, it is a liberal director attempt to make conservative values look bad or stupid.. If you ignore the blatent attempt by the director, it is entertaining. Not for Kids, but for Adults with a sense of humor.

Pages