All parent member reviews for American Idol

Parents say

(out of 54 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bykatehenry March 3, 2010
This is great fare for the whole family. We went to the American Idol summer tour concert last summer. Really a great time had by all. It's rare to find something the my husband and I enjoy just as much as our girls. Plus, because we all watch together, we're able to talk about the consumerism, sexuality (think Adam Lambert) and whatever else pops up on the spot.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjordynannee February 21, 2015
For me American Idol shows that any one can follow their dreams,but sometimes following your dreams can and in disappointment.Sometimes the show there is swearing but they usually bleep it out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byLowe's man February 21, 2014

The loss of Simon Cowell is a loss for the show.

Sometimes viewers are told in advance what the following week's theme will be, sometimes not. Trying to guess the week's theme is just as much fun as actually watching. The singers, of course, are always entertaining and enjoyable to watch. And, while we may not always agree with Simon Cowell, he was and is definitely needed, as his words get the contestants to improve. He is not afraid of the truth, and neither should the contestants. Make no mistake about it. The show is still very good, and the judges give a message to the contestants- and all of us- about how we can learn from our mistakes. But the main reason why ratings have plummented in recent years is because Simon Cowell is no longer on the show. We sometimes need to hear a voice like his, even if we don't agree with it. And what makes this show better than the others is that contestants are not assigned to a team. As a result, the judges are freer and better able to be honest and neutral. This is a much-needed show. The loss of Randy Jackson is a loss for the show as well. He was neighborly and warm- the kind you'd want to have as a neighbor, just like Mister Rogers. This show is still excellent, but it will never be the same.
Parent Written bySalebxy January 27, 2013

Okay, turtleegg, in the edit, I'm assuming you still want your fedora. I just figured out how to draw you with glasses and make it look non-dorky, so you'll be with your glasses if that's OK. Also, I've adjusted the heights so you're no longer inaccurately taller than me. You're also now wearing your hair in a ponytail thrown over your shoulder. That sound okay? PROGRESS: I have redrawn turtleegg and myself (save for the faces, but I now do those last) and I'm halfway done with Caleb. I might switch around the order so that the short people *cough*mythbusteranimator*cough* don't end up looking too short next to the tall people *cough*calebxy*cough*.

Y'know, come to think of it, I actually was imagining something about the ailens before and I can just faintly remember what it was... I remember imagining them looking a lot like humans, only kind of just the frame filled with a half-transparent white fog, but they can convince you that they look like someone else.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byJEDI micah May 29, 2012

Where is this show going?!

I never thought I would hear myself say this, but I think I miss Simon Cowell! It looks like that the producers of this show are thinking too much of who is going to be a judge. I don't care about the annoying judges! I just want to hear people sing most of the time, instead of focusing half the time on the judges' personal dilemmas (WHICH NO ONE CARES!!!). If this is how American Idol is going to be, then I don't know what I'll do! America's Got Talent is a WAY better show than this one! It's got more talent than singing!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educator Written byshashabel9 June 25, 2011

OMG

It was so funny when I heard PANTS ON THE GROUND
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byWander Blue March 10, 2011

Bom

Atualmente a temporada está regular, a anterior há essa foi bem melhor, mas a Jennifer Lopez está sendo muito justa, estou gostando bastante
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 13 year old Written byWeeklybob January 1, 2011

Used to be good....BUT SIMON's GONE!

Simon IS GONE! I believe that this will be the final season.
Parent of a 10 and 14 year old Written byChristianLinks4U May 8, 2010

Pornography bound-no longer good for Tween

American Idol after seeing it this past week should be rated R for sexual content due to Lady Ga Ga performance and lack of clothing. It was mild pornography in my oppinion. I had to send my 10 year old out the room quickly!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, and 16 year old Written bykshapiro April 7, 2010

Dreams Can Come True

Really don't like that they have Victoria Secret commercials in between showings. Not cool at all. I like that everyday normal people can make their dreams come true, it still takes hard work. I feel like my own dreams are met in the performers as I watch them succeed. Great talent show.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 1, 2, 11, and 14 year old Written bymich3g March 17, 2010
Sometimes their guest musicians are not kid friendly. (Eg. Lady Gaga)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 February 9, 2010

A fun entertaining family show!!

This show tells kids that everyone has a chance a fame in a good way. Even though they could bleep out some bad words, it's a fun entertaining family show that children seven and up should have no problem enjoying. As for consumerism, all shows have consumerisim from commercials, to food items and the cartoons on cereal boxes. I dont even think consumerism should be on common sense, it's not a big deal. Even Dora the explorer has bookbags,lunchboxes and clothes. Are you going to tell your kids not to watch that too?
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written byjohhhhhhnnnnnnnnnnn February 5, 2010

American Idol is pretty good.

The last thing I watched on TV was American Idol. I think the show has a pretty good message and that is that if you can sing well you can go far. But if you can’t sing and you try out, then you’ll probably get laughed out of the room and the entire country will be laughing too. I really think it’s dumb that people make up stupid songs that get stuck in people’s heads. Then they buy the song, and the idiot that wrote it gets a lot of money for it. That’s really lame. It is pretty awesome when good singers that have had a hard way to go in life get a break and get on the show. They will get exposure and even if they don’t win they’ll probably get picked up by another record label and make it big anyway.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written bySabieMom January 15, 2010

Fun music and activity, not great role models

The kids love it, but the audition shows make me a little squirmy. The negative feedback from the judges is pretty harsh-don't want my kids to think that's acceptable or thoughtful.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1, 3, 8, and 10 year old Written byJacobyShaddix32 January 6, 2010

dislike It

One word stupid tv show
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 27, 2009

A great show with a little bit of everthing in it!

American idol is a great show. The bad singers make you laugh out loud and the great singers make your jaw drop all the way down. But sometimes there can be very bad language and flirting between contestants and judges not to mention a whole bunch of product placement. and sometimes the conteststants call the judges GAY. But still very great show
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 year old Written bytealsweety July 7, 2009

ai

ai rox and so duz adam lambert
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byThe JP Show May 25, 2009

Love it

Great Show.I like how simon acts
Parent of a 8, 14, 18+, 18+, and 18+ year old Written by6_Grandchildren April 12, 2009

YOUR MIND WILL POP AFTER WATCHING THIS!!

that is all i have to say.
Parent of a 2 year old Written byathuff02 April 9, 2009

Flippant; Dated

This show was great in 2002 but after 7 years of relentless pop music, skimpy clothing and questionable guest performers, it definately won't be missed once its gone.

Pages