All teen and kid member reviews for Awkward.

Kids say

(out of 33 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byvifnduicptiave July 29, 2011

Awkward. is a great new comedy, but only for 14+

Awkward. is a funny, realistic look into a teenage girl's world. Although the sex scene at the beginnig of the pilot was somewhat explicit (it should still be appropriate for fourteen year olds), most of the other references are innuendo or wittily worded so that if you're not mature enough to get the joke, you'll write it off as slang or an inside joke, but if you do get it, then it's hilarious. I think that the TV-14 rating on the show is very appropriate, because teenagers really aren't as affected by the media as some may think, so therefore teens watching this will be entertained, but not turned into sex-crazed maniacs. As for the alcohol and drugs, it's mostly all talk, and most kids know better, although that's not the message portrayed in the show. The language and social situations are mostly better or the same as what they'd see at school (although some scenes are somewhat exaggerated), so it's nothing to really worry about. Now, under all that "bad stuff," the main character has good intentions and she's a very nice, understanding person. She just doesn't think things through. And all the adults have good intentions, too; they're just very quirky for comedic effect.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe book dork<3 August 17, 2011

Awkward. is just that

I'm 13 and know I absolutely shouldn't watch this show but I do. When you get around the sexual content, it's actually extremely appropriate. It teaches things like don't have sex before you know someone, being an outcast isn't totally terrible, letting lose a little isn't bad, taking chances can be good, that kind of thing. I just think TV needs more of shows like this. Not sexual and all, but where they provide us with subtly put lessons instead of full out like Disney or overly dramatic like Degrassi. We need more balance. I think Awkward. is basically just a little over the top with it's sexy-ness. Besides that, it's fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byWanderlust14 June 18, 2016

Coming from a Teen with morals and values

I do enjoy watching Awkward as a 16-year-old teen. Though it has a lot of sex and drugs scene I know that I personally will not be influenced by the characters behavior. Awkward has many relatable contents but it is still a TV show! The show does not show how actions have consequences. It promotes drugs,sex, and bad parenting. My peers are EXTREMELY easily influenced. With songs and Tv nowadays showing having no morals and values is cool, teens these days think that's how life is supposed to be. If your teen is easily influenced and does not understand the difference between Tv and reality, I suggest you should ban them from watching this show. It promotes sex extensively and does not show any consequences to any characters actions. The show does have great messages sometimes but the sex and drugs blind it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byaddie_love November 22, 2013

My favorite show!(:

This show is absolutely great. There's a lot of sexual comments and actions and also some strong language but it's not meant for younger kids. In the latest episodes drug use is very prominent. Jenna and her new boyfriend, Colin, smoke weed and take Ritalin and ecstasy. It's a really funny and great show for teens and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLOVELOVESMILE November 1, 2013

Now I know why the show is called ":Awkward"

I have not met a teenager that has this many problems. Everytime I change it on MTV Awkward theres something weird. Like have sex,cheating on someone, or a girl with an east infection?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byi rate things August 17, 2013

Comedy? or a deep Message?

AWKWARD is very funny, but it has deep themes that are difficult for younger audiences to understand. Themes include suicide, parental guidance, pregnancy, support systems, sex, and much more. Because the characters are so young in this show, it might seem scandalous to some viewers. All in all, it is a great show!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2012

Really Funny, but

I think sex is a problem, two of the main characters, Matty and Jenna have sex quite a lot in the 1st season, and for Christmas Jenna's dad gives her a box of condoms, yikes... Can't really say there are many good role-models but they do bleep out bad the language... The show is basically Twilight, two boys fighting over a clutzy, awkward girl. The teenagers also underage drink. (New Years party)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byWannaBeKardashian October 2, 2011

Watch it before you review it.

Too many people are judging this show by other reviews. I have watched this programme so here is my review; Awkward is one of the best teenage tv shows i have ever watched, the first series has recently ended and it has been AMAZING and i cannot wait for series 2, being 14, i don't relate to it that much but i can understand what she's going through. After receiving a mean 'carefrontation letter, Jenna tries to change the way she is to get a boy It's pretty accurate. Sex: There is quite a lot of it but when there is you only see the peoples faces and they groan a little but that's it! NOTHING is shown. Drinking/Drugs: There is absolutely nothing shown, in one recent episode, Jenna (the main character) throws a party because she's been told that she needs to grow up. Obviously there is drinking but the only parts that are shown are when she's a little drunk and she's talking to the guy she likes and another guy that likes her.. but it's all flashbacks. Violence:NONE! Language:All bad language is bleeped out. Getting tired of people judging this show from false reviews..Hope mine helped!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bySky Could Be Blue August 23, 2011

Shameful

MTV should be ashamed of themselves. It's disgusting--not edgy or original. The plot was a real turn off and it's horribly acted (like all MTV shows). I haven't been this disappointed since the American Skins debuted.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemisshannahxxx October 6, 2011

Great realistic portrayal of the honest life of an awkward teen girl, perfect for teen girls.

I love this show! It covers real and tough issues, some that i've gone through. Even though it is inappropriate at through a lot of it, that's reality. That's REALLY what happens in junior high and high schools. It has the eff word, it just makes a bleep sound, but you can see the characters' lips, obvious of what they are saying. Sadie is extremely mean, but it shows that she is truly insecure on the inside, although that doesn't make it okay. My mom was very cautious before letting me watch it, but she realized that I am growing up and deserve freedom, as well as the fact that it tackles real issues. Parents say, "Well i don't care if you see and hear that kind of thing at school; You will not hear or see it in my house. I can control it here, but not there." They are right, they can control if you see it in your house, partially. If you don't give your kid freedom, they will feel the need to rebel, and go watch that show or movie online or at a friend's house. When you tie up a tiger really close, its not just going to sit there and think "oh I'm so happy to be tied up!" It will do everything to get off of that tight leash. But, if you don't tie a tiger up at all, it will cause destruction. Make sure you give your child enough freedom for their age so that they don't feel the need to rebel, but they aren't doing bad things with you knowing. I have a friend, her mom is SO strict. She is on SUCH a tight leash, so she does rebel. She watches the shows and movies her mom tells her not to, she's snuck out a couple times, and can't wait to go to college someday and makeout with whoever she wants to, drink when she wants, and have FREEDOM. Anyway, if you have a teen, especially a teen girl, that it interested in the show, I recomend that you let her watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byniyagurl14 November 12, 2011

Fun filled teen drama?

This show is very funny and teaches young girls why they shouldn't just do stuff with guys. But there aren't many consequences shown.
Teen, 17 years old Written byneuneph September 7, 2011

extremely funny and for once not too childish

Kid, 10 years old August 31, 2011

awkward

i say that kids under 14 are not allowed to watch this
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bybelieberr August 20, 2011

That awkward moment when... ;)

This is, sadly, one of my favorite shows. It's a guilty pleasure! Sure, some of the stuff in the show may not be extremely appropriate, but it's all meant in humor. I'm very mature for my age, I mainly hang out with all 14 year olds, and a could 15 year olds, and so this show is fine for me. I get the jokes, and it's just really funny! If you aren't as mature, I think you could still watch it, because the jokes would just go over your head, as someone else already said. Overall, it's just a guilty pleasure that will make you laugh.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byevakathryn April 30, 2016

Pretty Realistic and Overall Funny

Its funny! Its a good teen comedy. Its pretty realistic. Theyre good role models overall.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabemtz14 February 12, 2016
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bykmhart November 1, 2011

Great but not for young kids

I love this show!! This show is hilarious and pretty realistic if a high school. I definitely think you should be a teenager to watch it though there is bad language and some sexual references and scenes
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byRaeBae2000 June 16, 2014

Used to be great...

I used to love this show. It used to be so funny and entertaining but now it's just kind of a repeat of the same old stuff. It's still funny but it doesn't hold my attention like it used to. There's plenty of sexual innuendo, and a little action too but not much. There's a lot of bad language and only a little violence. In season four Jenna starts experimenting with drugs. Weed, adderal, ritalin, and ecstasy. The first three seasons are the best.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlink41 February 2, 2014

One of my favorites.

Great show. It's hilarious and very frank about issues that most teen shows skirt around. It makes serious, awkward issues funny. Jenna always tries to do the right thing, although she makes mistakes. She also has a very diverse group of friends. I've watched it since the beginning. Like I said, its a great show but the quality has gone downhill recently. It's definitely still worth the watch.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byTheScoutSniper1 January 12, 2014

Best depiction of hs to date!

i thought before i saw this it was a girly and stupid show but i actually sat down and watched it and watched all 3 seasons in pretty much one sitting. The script for this show is fantastic, the acting is amazing, and it gives one of the most accurate interpretations of hs i have seen to date. Often times during the show things that happened to jenna or choices she made i have also made. I saw myself in alot of the situations and it brought back some good and not so great memories. That being said i highly reccomend this show to anyone that is in hs and up (so 15+). It is innapropriate at times but thats why i love this show, cause it doesnt water things down and accurately depicts hs and especially my hs experience so far. I think this is the best thing to come from mtv in a long time
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages