Parent reviews for Bridgerton

Common Sense says

Sex, nudity, smoking in sumptuous, diverse period drama.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 18+
Based on 18 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 26 reviews

Wondering if Bridgerton is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations.

 

Join Plus now

Adult Written byThe Good Life January 6, 2021

Learn from my mistake

Heard rave reviews from friends, so we gave it a shot. Literally was looking up the Common Sense reviews as my husband turned it on. Just as I read the first parental review, two of the characters were having sex up against a tree. Bare ass, moaning, pretty detailed scene. My 15 year old were definitely uncomfortable. This was in the first 45 seconds of the show. I'd think twice before you watch it with teens.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJomama33 December 31, 2020

Great plot but too much nudity

Not for kids! Second half of first season had a lot of sex/nudity!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byeamcl2 January 3, 2021

Fun romp, but mature

A fun, modern drama but the sex scenes- particularly in the second half of the season- are pretty graphic. Enough that my friends and I with teenagers who were watching together wrote to say to each other to say- STOP! Those of us with 13-16 year olds were not comfortable with this content with them. Numerous full nudity sex scenes, oral sex, conversations about when and how to come- you get the picture. Kick the kids out and it’s a great series for Regency-era escapism.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTmni January 2, 2021

As close to pornography as Netflix could get.

I watched the series, but there is no way I would let my 14 year old daughter watch it. One episode has so much sex it becomes downright boring. The series is ok. The accuracy of the details are not there. You can't call it historical fiction.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAsims2404 December 31, 2020

Too much unnecessary sexual activity shown

This is a great storyline with amazing actors, sets, costumes, hair/make-up, and choreography, BUT there is also much nudity and numerous sexual acts in various places by various characters - especially the back half of season 1. This is NOT for young audiences.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byM.T. Laurel January 11, 2021

Common Sense rating is weirdly off the mark

This is a "historical fantasy", and based entirely on the official review here (I normally rely heavily on Common Sense Media reviews), I gave it a shot. I wanted romance, pretty set scenes, and fluffy drama, and I expected to skip past a few scenes. What I got was porn. After two episodes I realized skipping the bad scenes wasn't going to leave me much to watch. I did a little research online to see if the show would eventually earn its rating of 15 and up. It doesn't. Here's what you should know: some sex scenes can be explicit without showing particular body parts, and this show is remarkably explicit. It's porn, as defined as a movie with a few faint traces of plot holding a bunch of sex scenes together. How C.S. can think this is appropriate for a 15-year-old is beyond me.
Adult Written bysofiluimdidi January 10, 2021

GOOD

is great I really like it not four 13-14 teens
Parent of a 12 and 16-year-old Written byAFishFam December 29, 2020

Historic romance made hip and scandalous

Beautiful dresses, settings and people are eye candy in this modern interpretation of a Regency period romance. You quickly get acquainted with a group of the English aristocracy who are starting their social season. They flirt, swoon and gossip. But nobody’s secrets seems to be safe from the gossip sheet writer Mrs. Whistledown who is “spill ing the tea” and naming names.
This show was so much fun and my teenager loved it and so did I. It’s like a smarter version of Gossip Girl. Lots of love scenes and partial nudity so be prepared to either fast forward through those scenes or to watch them in slightly uncomfortable silence if you’re with your teen. That said, the show is so good and highly entertaining. You root for characters and gasp at the plot twists.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bytruthinchaos January 19, 2021

PORNOGRAPHIC, LEWD & EXTREMELY R-RATED

This series shows you what it's about in the first five minutes of episode one. I'm someone who maintains wholesome viewership, yet I know R-Rated when I see it and this is the problem I have with this series. I'm 31 years of age 15 minutes into episode and it's ALREADY AN R-RATED SERIES!

I'm so frustrated because the reviews say it gets worse later in the season!


??? IT'S MARKETED TOWARDS TEENAGERS! This is outrageous and concerning! This is irresponsible on Shonda Rhimes and Netflix's part. I would not watch this for anyone who is trying to maintain sexual purity, or for anyone who is under 18 (really for ANYONE- Fast forward the sex scenes) or go watch something else y'all.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDanaJaehnert January 19, 2021

Pornography hidden as Romance

This show had an amazing plot with twists and turns of romance and drama during the era. But almost immediately there was a somewhat detailed scene of two characters having sex against a tree. No full nudity so I wrote it off because my husband said he read reviews. The more we watched, the more sex scenes were involved mostly in second half and growing more graphic up until the end: male and female naked butts, breasts, fully naked women in art scene where women are fully shown other than the bottom front area, full sex scenes detailed, including display of orgasm & entire intercourse once a couple is married in last episodes, detailed directions from a male character to female on masturbation, implied masturbation scenes, various men kissing men, and women & men making out scenes. The only things that were not directly shown were any characters actual frontal lower areas. Need I say no more? Do not watch this, and more particularly with children of any age. Most of all of the sexual content that was more graphic was in the last few episodes, which was a huge bummer and ruined the good plot and drama of the rest of the show. Some of the other episodes could be looked over for an audience 18+, but the end episodes were in my opinion good for no one to watch in my opinion. I turned to my husband after fast forwarding through too many scenes as the show came to an end, and we both agreed that was basically a porno.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAlpine7907 January 19, 2021

Not kid appropriate

Although the story line is engaging and interesting there is blatant nudity and sex scenes between numerous couples. As such, I would highly recommend that this is an adults only show.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBettyboom21 January 16, 2021

Not for kids or teens

I would not let my 13 year old watch this. A lot of sex scenes. Although no body parts are shown this really should be R rated. Not for kids and if a teen is ok watching this that means that they are already sexually actively which I’m totally not ok with. Just my opinion as a parent.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 7, 9, and 11-year-old Written byllmbarry January 15, 2021

Great show - for adults!

I loved this show but I would not sit down to watch it with my children!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byALincoln852 January 15, 2021
Parent of a 13 and 13-year-old Written bygshaffrey321 January 15, 2021

Great Show / Not For Families

This is not a family show! Its a wonderful series for ADULTS. I love the casting, story and cinematography, but the subject matter is most definitely for adults. Within the first 5 minutes there is a couple having sex against a tree. Towards the end of the series there is a scene that could potentially be construed as rape. In each episode there are varied sex scenes.
Adult Written byKrisK512 January 15, 2021

Pretty steamy sex scenes, not for kids

It's a good show for adults, but I would be very uncomfortable with my younger teens watching this. 18+ for sure. But OMG that Duke... (fans face)...

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byLyn G. January 13, 2021

18 & up! Too much graphic sex

Definitely NOT for children under 18. Too much graphic sex. Great costumes and entertaining but definitely adult sexual content. Preview episodes 5-7 before allowing your teenager to watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bykimberlypsmith December 31, 2020

Bridgerton

I absolutely loved it! Please let there be a season 2!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models