Parent reviews for Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Common Sense says

Lighthearted cop comedy serves up laughs and diversity.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 36 reviews
Parent of a 13 year old Written byKatyStinson February 2, 2014

Great

I am the mother of a 13 year old and I think this is a great show for teens. There are some swear words I do not agree with like "ass" and "hell" but that is as iffy as it gets. There are some positive role models as well as some criminals but overall I think this show is great for 12 and up.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bymardoggie2013 November 20, 2014

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 14 year old Written byheavy_metal December 6, 2015

Awesome! 1 badword every 9 episodes

Adult Written bywinemother January 31, 2016

Perfect for Your Tweens!

Brooklyn Nine-Nine is a comedy about cops. Of course there is violence as this is a COP SHOW, so don't complain if this is an issue. Talks about sex occasionally, but isn't a main focus.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byJo V. December 1, 2017

Light-hearted and goofy

My son and I are big fans of this show. It’s one of the few things we can watch together. Most of the sex jokes go over his head though the word “porn” is brought up a lot (not explicitly and mostly in passing) but enough that I cringe (really not ready for that talk yet!) What stands out to me is that the male characters don’t prescribe to toxic masculinity. They are quirky, emotional and love each other without shame. That’s very refreshing for me!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byClaire W. October 4, 2017

When they made a joke of killing children and eating them it felt wrong

Truly, I just felt sick when I watched Season 5 Episode 1. I used to Love this show and now I will NEVER watch another episode. Truly, they went WAY too far. I hated when the inmate talked about luring kids to a park...? It is not something to joke about nor will it ever be. Children need our protection especially today!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent Written byLeo F. July 16, 2017
Use of b-tch once

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byAlysha M. November 3, 2017

Great Show

This show is full of positive messages and absolutely hilarious. It is relatable and inspiring.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byMrS 1 December 8, 2017

I like it but my classroom can’t watch

Don’t watch this at all
Adult Written byChaos M. February 26, 2018

Terrible!!!

I was watching this with my kids and we liked the first 2 episodes. Naturally we decide to watch the next one in the series. We were shocked by how crass, inappropriate, and blatantly disgusting this show got. We have no clue why everyone else says this should be only 12 plus when in fact even I, an adult, find it frankly horrifying.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byJeff T. January 23, 2018

Pathetic humor at the expense of others

The first two episodes gave some hope that it might be something worth watching. But, of course, the main detective begins to boast of his hedonism and his sexual machismo.....so shallow. If that is not enough to turn any parent's child away from this program, he then has to promote himself as such a good detective by putting down everyone else around him....even the dead. Enough is enough.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byKali J. June 7, 2018

NINE NINE!!

I love this show!! I don’t know why people are saying 14+ or even 18+. Yeah, There’s very mild violence and some sexual references, but overall It’s appropriate for anyone who’s not a really young kid. The jokes are good and actually funny unlike some comedies, but what I really love is the positive portrayal of minorities that aren’t one dimensional, men who don’t have toxic masculinity, and healthy adult relationships (jake&amy). All kids should see that on TV as they grow up

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models