Parent reviews for Castle

Common Sense says

Light crime procedural offers less violence than CSI.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 53 reviews
Parent of a 13 and 16-year-old Written bygabajoran January 18, 2011

Most episodes are fine but watch out for those that are more explicit

I watch this show quite often with my 13 year old daughter. We both enjoy Castle and his relationship with his daughter and mother. And also his professional relationships with the police he works with. That said, there have been some episodes that I have not let her watch--usually the ones that are too "sexual" or inappropriate. I tape the episodes first so making that decision is easier. Overall it's a good show with interesting characters and storylines. It's not overly violent and it would be hard to have homicide detectives with no homicide. Toning down the sexual issues would be great but it's certainly not in every episode so we'll keep trying them.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bynorthernrain October 4, 2010

great premise, great scripting, great potential, but some concerns

Overall, a very good show, great premise, great scripting. Very useful to examine the relationship between story, character, and real life events. Positive relationships between the writer and his daughter and mother, and these are used well within the story to help unveil the flaws of the main character, and strengthen him.

Several concerns -- overt talk about sex as well as the scenes is really unnecessary, (seems as if we've grown used to that these days). A more basic concern I have are the casual references to "internet porn" -- in a joking way. This really undermines the harsh reality of porn -- dehumanizing material, and the exploitation of children and women that is behind the porn industry. The producers would have an excellent opportunity to use the storyline for an informed critique, rather than making light of it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byKittykat512 September 22, 2015

New Season is more violent

One of the things I have enjoyed about this drama over the years is that all the violence wasn't 'in your face' as much as other shows. I think that has changed. It was VERY violent Episode 1 9-21 and I had to change the channel twice and then come back in.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byDogcrazed June 29, 2011

Awesome show, need to tone the sex down a little

This show has a lot of sexual banter, and some very mild sex scenes, (about as mild as one can get). The main character although kind of playboy in nature, falls in love with a crime detective and his growing loyalty is steady. His daughter is wise above her years and often gives us good messages. The violence is pretty mild for a crime show and the language is no issue.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bymarajade6 March 29, 2011

Great Show!! But review the episode before showing children.

I absolutely LOVE Castle. Nathan Fillion was the reason I started watching and I absolutely enjoy it. I don't watch it with my siblings around because there is occasionally some sexual content depending on the episode. I admit that Season one was worse than the current one. I haven't seen ton's of explicit content in season three BUT, I do admit that I should rewatch them again.
All in all, I enjoy it, it's a fun break and often I find myself on the edge of my seat until the end of the show. I love the twists and turns that is included for the mysteries. And I love the romantic tension between Castle and Beckett.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 2 and 5-year-old Written bygt4877c July 23, 2010

The commonsensemedia review is way off.

This show talks a lot more about sex than the review above says it does. We started watching it because the review said the show was clean. This show has photos of people in the act, as well as showing people having sex. I've trusted this website's reviews in the past, but this review was way off.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byCSM Is bad March 21, 2016

Best show ever!!!!!

I don't understandd the reviews. This is the best show ever!!!!! I would recommend this to people who like detective shows!!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 9-year-old Written byladyash13 January 13, 2011

One of the better crime shows for kids if they love the genre

I've always been a fan of crime shows and mysteries. I use this show to show my daughter that the world isn't all roses and ice cream. There are mean people out there who do mean things. I use the show to open up about topics such as drugs, alcohol, and crime.
Adult Written byJinny Gudmundsen November 30, 2010

Castle is great role model as Dad and son.

While the brief scenes depicting the murder victim can be gory, the repartee between Castle and Beckett is so much fun to watch. And Castle's relationships with both his daughter and his mother are strong and most supportive, making Castle a great role model. Fun Monday night TV.
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byzuzamiller October 20, 2010
Adult Written byGozy U. July 11, 2017

What is it with American and painting Nigeria in a bad light! Any scene that has to do with a black committing crime,voodoo, etc,its always Nigeria! Nigerians are not the only Humans that are dark in complexion! Or is it fear of the greatness of the people of Nigeria that makes Americans to try to poison the psyche of the world about Nigerians! And the pathetic blacks used who make bunch of animal noise and claim its a Nigeria dialect!Obviously slavery has taken a different coloration

Parent of a 17-year-old Written byDesiree O. May 20, 2017

I love this show, it rocks

Adult Written bysmatharuby February 15, 2016

gud show

There is nothing wrong to watch it with kids ,Good cast Good show
If missed any episode watch it here http://otavo.tv/
Adult Written byJared Galczynski June 10, 2014
Castle of AY MAYRA.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byAnimeMama June 6, 2013

LOVE IT!!!

LOVE IT!!!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language