All parent member reviews for Eureka

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byVTXbikerchic05 July 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

not for my family but maybe for others

i hate eureka, it appalled me the first episode i tried to watch with the family and it showed a chick on the bed wearing black almost see through bra and underwear and i said "CLICK" and turned it off. that is not something i want to see being a woman let along my kids to see it..
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byJetlag April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good

I really find this entertaining. I enjoy the idea that there's a secret town of highly intellegent people out there trying inventing wonderful, new things!
Parent of a 10, 11, and 13 year old Written byMike Weston July 26, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not a science lesson, but also not a waste of time

It's a decent, turn-off-your-brain entertainment for young adults and their families. The only thing that keeps it from being a good-for-all-ages show is its propensity for sexual innuendo. It's unnecessary to have it in the show, but almost every episode has some allusion or other to sex. Some may call me a prude, but I don't think that children NEED to have sex thrown in their face every time they turn on the television; especially when it is between unmarried people. On the UP side, the show does discuss a variety of REAL scientific theories, discoveries, and concepts. Don't expect that you'll get SMARTER by watching Eureka, but at least you won't regret wasting an hour of your life watching it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educator and Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written byclcfh May 8, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Choose a few scenes, but save the show for when they're older

There are some great nuggets in this show, but it's not for kids. The sexy stuff is my biggest concern. I do, however, occasionally choose a scene for my eight year old. The show incorporates some real science, extrapolating to fiction in interesting ways.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written byMom to Tween January 23, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Something mature tweens can share with mom and dad

I have been looking for something that will hold my interest and appeal to my 11-year-old daughter. Yes, there is some language, the teenaged daughter can be mouthy and there is some innuendo (which goes over my daughter's head, thank goodness!) but it's a small price to pay for the message that science geeks are cool, strict dads are loving and courage is admired. The relationships among the characters are multi-dimensional,which is a refreshing change. We also love the plot twists and mystery to figure out every episode. I would never let her watch this alone, but for family fare, we both give it two thumbs WAY up!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written bygabajoran September 4, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Mostly positive. Check individual episode ratings.

I'd rate this ON for kids younger than 14 because when you look at the entire series--not just an individual episode--it's mostly a great show appropriate for younger kids. I have screened some episodes and not let my daughter watch one or two but they are the minority. Overall the show is inventive, smart and funny. Science is spotlighted. The "difficult" child turns out to very responsible and smarter than she realized. When things go wrong it's dealt with responsibly. The person who solves many of the town's problems is not the smartest person in town but he's got common sense. The few issues I don't like aren't common enough or bad enough for me to feel that I should stop my 11 year old from watching it.
Adult Written byBoiseNoise March 9, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I'd rather my teens watch this than many similar shows.

The father-daughter portrayal in this series is far more positive than how parents are portrayed in most teen series. The father is clearly an authority figure, and his daughter, for the most part, respects him. Even adult sex is played down and what's shown on screen is pretty clean compared to what I've seen on a lot of other shows. I really like this series, and I would feel much happier about watching it with my kids than, for example, My So-called Life, or Kyle XY.
Parent of a 11 year old Written byroyalbri December 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bycoolmonkeys July 31, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byZoe_Washburn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fantasticle

The best show on tv. I even have my mother hooked. Smart, fun, entertaining, and above all, sci-fi.