Parent reviews for Everything Sucks!

Common Sense says

Sweet, sensitive, authentic '90s-set teen drama is a winner.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 30 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 20 reviews
Adult Written byShayna C. February 17, 2018

Everything Sucks

The show has lots of sexual talk. The first episode has a pornographic magazine. It clearly shows topless women and then a young girl masturbates. I turned the show off. I was very upset about this scene. Netflix rated it TV14.
Adult Written byAnna T. February 20, 2018

Inappropriate

I wanted to like this show, and I would have stuck with it through an awkward episode or two to see if it hit its stride later in the season. It started out with some choppy writing and nervous acting, but some really great shows have started out the same way. I couldn't watch past the first episode, however, after they included a sexual scene with one of the child characters. That's a line you really don't want to flirt with. I think if they wanted scenes like that to be included, they should have set the show in college or beyond. I won't watch another episode for fear of how much further they might go with their CHILD actors.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written bySara T. February 20, 2018

Great show but definitely NOT for kids

As a 90's kid myself I was basking in the nostalgia. It is spot on with music, costuming, social interaction but seriously overboard with the sex. I consider myself extremely lenient and open but the language in this show is NC-17. Also, there's a scene where the kids are looking for a way to get high by ingesting common household items. Let's not give them any more ideas than they already get from their peers. I personally loved the episodes and the story is great but Netflix got the rating on this one wrong.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMelissa N. February 25, 2018

Nudity and lots of sexual talk

Started watching the first episode with my 14 year old (Netflix has it rated at TV-14) and there was absolutely no disclaimer that we would be seeing fairly long shots of naked breasts and a child masturbating (implied). Also saw a locker room full of teens in bras, and a girl talking about a boy's pierced "d..k" right before she started grabbing her large breasts talking about how much they hurt. I'm grossed out, this made us both very uncomfortable and we turned it off. I'm actually pretty pissed at Netflix right now, and Joyce, the "expert" reviewer for Common Sense since she clearly should not be doing reviews.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 12 year old Written byKristy N. February 25, 2018

NOT FOR KIDS

This would be a cute show if they hadn't started with a 9th grade girl looking at pornography and masturbating in the first episode. They could address the issues and make it a fun show to watch with your teen without this. Come on, Netflix. You can do better. It makes no sense to make a "teen" show that would appeal to teens that isn't appropriate for anyone other than adults to watch. And adults don't want to watch it without their kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byActiontink February 22, 2018

Don’t watch-definitely not for kids

It was garbage. There was pornography, masturbation and other sexual references in the first episode. We turned it off. I definitely wouldn’t let my teens watch it. No way this should be rated 14+. Very disappointed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 15 year old Written byLori B. February 25, 2018

What were they thinking?

Netflix originals what are you doing?!!!!! First episode shows full playboy magazine pages. 3 pages of naked women. Talked about songs symbolic of organisms. What ever other redeeming qualities the rest of the show might have had you blew it. Adding to the normalizing of porn and under age sex is not what our society needs.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byCalli S. March 15, 2018

The age depends on the kid personally.

If you are offened by sexuality or if you are *barf* homophobic, you won't like this. That's it. I've seen many parents worried on here about the near-masturbation scene but I think it was a great addition. It shows teens that it's okay to explore their sexuality, and there's a great lgbt role model. Real-talk most teens masturbate by the age of 14. You can't shelter your children forever. They have most likely heard lots of sex-talk and bad language. I think this show is great for teens. It gives perspective. My only critism is the casting. Spoiler alert, Emaline and Kate kiss and I found it weird that the actor who plays Kate is 14, and Emaline is 20. I do not condone that, especially if their relationship goes further.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byWill M. March 8, 2018

One of the best gems on Netflix, and suitable for young teens and up.

OK, so there was one scene when a 15 year old girl masturbates and show pornographic images. But just think about it, this is a great coming of age show and I think teens and older will love it. It will also teach younger teens on the way about what challenges you're gonna face when you're older. The show is a whole learning experience, like a sex ed class. This is one of the greatest shows on Netflix!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byLeah J. March 3, 2018

Great show about high school in the 90's

I was a high school teacher in the mid/late 90's and found this show to be right on point! I went to high school in the 60's, so when I started teaching high school I was surprised by the open talk of all things sexual. The kids shared everything including those just discovering that they preferred same sex relationships. I noticed some parents on this site were critical of the frankness re. these subjects, but get a clue - this is the world your kids live in. I recognized these characters; they were well written and well acted. I've always felt addressing issues was the best way to provide great teachable moments between parents and their children. Bravo Netflix!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byEnphyvit February 24, 2018

You can do better Netflix

Some very bad messages in the first episode. We have some awkward teen boys in their first day of high school. One boy meets a girl and immediately invites her to his house. No parents are home because apparently his single mom is a flight attendant and leave him alone for days at a time. The two have some decent dialog, then this 15-16 year old girl finds an old porn magazine. Later we see that she stole this from the boy's house and took it home. She opens it while in her room and of course we get a few boob shots as she starts looking through it. Then she starts to unbuckle her belt! This is the kind of crap networks like Netflix are pushing on us to try to make this seem "normal". Lesbian child masterbation. REALLY Netflix? Ok, so the girl's dad walks in and catches her before it gets too far, but damage done. Dad, who of course is single, tries to be cool and says it's OK to masterbate to dirty mags. I guess he's not even curious as to where she got it and why its women, but hey, just an average day in Boring, Oregon. Won't watch any more of this show, so I can't comment past here.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byCorey J S. March 13, 2018

TV 14 more Like MA

Started out interesting but quickly found that this was not a family program, with very mature material even pornography

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byKim S. April 4, 2018

Good roll models

Great roll models very enjoyable I watched it with my 13 year old daughter and 16 year old daughter!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byMrs B. April 3, 2018

19 year old actress making out with 13 year old kid

14 year old actress Peyton Kennedy who plays the role of Kate Messner on the show is much too young for this role. It's completely inappropriate for a kid (13 at the time it was filmed) to be making out with an adult, looking at porn magazines and attempting to masturbate. I don't care if it's acting. It's sick! Her parents should be ashamed. This is soft child porn and I'm shocked that NETFLIX would allow this. Definitely not for a 14 year old to watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDzlova M. March 4, 2018

terrible

I'm 15 and u[set that I can't trust ratings anymore. Just because kids are aware of this stuff and we talk about it doesn't mean it always has to be stuck in our face. I was highly uncomfortable and couldn't even finish the last 5 minutes because of the girl with the magazine. I thought this was a decent show but guys, only watch shows from the nineties because this 21st century has been ruined by shows like these

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written bydanyell w. February 24, 2018

Love the show, but definitely for teens and up

I am a 90s kid and loved every minute of this! Some people are commenting that the age rating is wrong and I partially agree. Most teens will not be surprised by the sexual content and it could spark some needed conversations . 14 maybe a bit young,but much of this reminded me of my Freshmen year. Can't wait for another season!
Adult Written byJJ J. March 27, 2018

Old enough

So I'm old enough to watch "Everything Sucks" i'm a pre-teen i'm turning 13 next month so I am old enough to watch that kind of content.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byENW1 March 6, 2018

Very Inappropriate

The show is rated TV-14; however, the first episode has graphic nudity, lots of swearing, and inappropriate scenes especially for youth to be acting out or watching.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byMark K. February 28, 2018

TV-14?!?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME NETFLIX????

Most of the Actors on this show are terrible. So I'm not sure if the writing is bad or the actors are just terrible. The story wasn't terrible, very poorly acted. The sexual situations could have been dealt with way better then they were. Several close up views of a Playboy style magazine where completely Unnecessary. We didn't need to see full frontal nudity, especially with my 13 year old daughter watching with me. And the suggestion of masturbation after the nudity was way to far. Don't get me wrong. Wasn't against the presence of the magazine. But for a TV-14 show, the extended details in the scene went way to far...If the show was rated TV-MA I would not be writing this review.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJJ J. March 27, 2018

Old enough

So I'm old enough to watch "Everything Sucks" i'm a pre-teen i'm turning 13 next month so I am old enough to watch that kind of content.

This title contains:

Positive Messages

Pages