Parent reviews for Friends

Common Sense says

Hilarious sitcom for adults and older teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 85 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 357 reviews
Parent of a 10 and 10-year-old Written bydavid.wallace July 4, 2011

Great Show

It has some iffy parts but in the end kids are exposed to much worse at school and being able to talk about it in a safe environment is great. Explain to your child that some of the behavior shown on the show is not OK.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byyuri13 October 13, 2014

Not so graphic like Seinfeld,but watch with caution...

CSM is wrong.I mean,had sexual content but is infrequent and sometime it's just two peoples in a bed.Mild swears infrequent,brif and mild drug references.
PG:sexual innuendo and situations

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFreedomFromCens... August 18, 2009

My Mom always wants to watch this during dinner, and for once I can agree with her! =D

It's kind of funny how my Mother considered this a family show in our house when it is meant to be an teen and up show (I have a younger brother). However, it's probably one of my more favorite shows now! It's truly hilarious and the characters are all very likable! I'd recommend this to just about anyone older than 12! However, not everyone might get some of the jokes, especially younger viewers,
Parent of a 10 and 13-year-old Written bygoodmom02 July 18, 2016

Appropriate

Okay, here's my review. It's long, but if you're really contemplating on this subject, it's worth it.

Great messages, sure, it tells your children that family can be found within your friends. Oh, and it's okay to get 3 divorces. Joke.

Great role models? Not really. I love all of them, I was 13 when Friends was first aired, and I watched it, and I'm not a screw up, but I must agree their characters, although likeable, are not GREAT role models.

Too much violence? No. Well, there was this one scene from "The One With All The Thanksgivings" in which Phoebe was a nurse from WW1 or WW2, and it shows her arm being cut off and blood was spurting out of it, but that's it.

Too much sex? No, not really. They don't show nudity, but they do talk about it. There are pictures of bras, and mentions of underwear, though. But I must warn you they talk a LOT about sex, but never graphically show it. Oh, and also, they watch and talk about porn lots of times.

Too much swearing? They say "b*tch" every now and then, but in their total run of 10 seasons, they must've said it like 20 times in total.

Consumerism. Rachel Green was really spoiled, so there's that. Oh, and also, there's this one episode where Joey mistakenly auctioned a few million dollars for a yacht or something, that was funny. I don't know if robbery have anything to do with it, but somewhere in Season 3, Joey and Chandler got robbed.

Too much drinking/drugs/smoking. This, is 100% true. Every one of the friends has drunk, Monica showed up to her own birthday surprise party drunk. Drugs? No. Smoking is a sensitive topic, since Chandler smokes for like 3 seasons, but then Rachel and the rest convinced him to stop, which is ironic because in later seasons, Rachel smokes with her colleagues in order to suck up to the boss.

So in conclusion, I'd say Friends is for 13+. Since I'm a die hard fan of Friends, there's no doubt this show is mentioned every day in my household. I don't let my 10 year old boy Josh watch it, but I do let my 13 year old, Chandler watch it, just so he could see where he got his namesake from.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byannieh16 April 9, 2008

Great Fun & Somewhat Educational

FRIENDS is a great show. While I do understand that there are sometimes things that parents might feel are inappropriate, the reality is that everyone in 7th grade, or about 12 years and older, have heard, seen, or even said at some point. These 6 core characters show how to maintain wonderful friendships based on honesty, love and trust. Values such as love, friendship, responsibility, trust, hard work, and the importance of laughter are shown. One interesting point is that when Ross and Rachel have had a child out of wedlock together, the point is clearly made that condoms are not 100% effective, and a lot of people in my grade didn't know that. I'd definitly watch this show- I watch it over and over and over again, and have most of the seasons on DVD. It's great when you just want to relax and have a laugh.
Adult Written byFriendsfanatic July 1, 2020

NOT A FAMILY SHOW!

Friends is the greatest sitcom of all time, there is no doubt about it. The show ended 16 years ago and is still the most watched sitcom on TV today! It's hilarious, touching and quite frankly the TV equivalent to comfort food - you can always put Friends on and feel better about your day.

However, it is not a family show. Anyone below the age of 13 will most likely not enjoy the show anyway.

Each episode has at least five dirty jokes or conversation about sex. One of the original taglines for the show was 'The sex lives of six young adults living in New York.' The show is all about sex, love and friendship.

Nothing is overly explicit but the show displays far more then just your expected innuendos - they talk about threesomes, orgies, masturbation, lesbian fantasies, porn, and just about every other 'sex' thing you can think off, more explicitly then you will find in other sitcoms. Plus the characters hook up with someone if not each other in every other episode.

In fact, Friends is arguably the most sexually explicit sitcom on day time television. I'm pretty sure they say the word 'Sex' at least twice in every episode!

There's some scenes that push the limit a tad - like the time where Monica imitates an orgasm or the time Monica's dad is describing positions she should do it in, Sometimes I think the show could easily be certified as 15 as opposed to 12A or PG.

Don't get me wrong though, there is a reason why it is on daytime television, it's not graphic (but they do talk about sex very graphically), there is no on screen sex (but there is plenty of scenes where you can hear people doing it or they're watching people do it), there is little to no foul language, but every episode is saturated in adult themes. There is only a few episodes that can pass as family friendly (that is until one of the characters suddenly start having sex!).

All in all the series is completely fine to watch if your over the age of 13. But you will enjoy and appreciate the show more in your later teens. And I promise you, you will fall in love with your new friends. No matter how many times you watch the show, it doesn't get old. It's special. The chemistry of the six cast members will never be replicated on screen again.

But maybe avoid certain episodes if you're immigrant mom or grandma are sitting on the sofa next to you or you will be sitting through that awkward experience where you stare blankly at the screen, hoping to god they just stop making out or stop talking about sex every god damned second while trying to avoid eye contact with your mother! All of us immigrant kids have been through it, you're not alone!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bytvconnoisseur May 29, 2015

Come On, It’s Friends!!!

Just watch this, and let the series speak for itself.
Adult Written bykingskip36 June 9, 2009

It's funny! Not for young children but fine for teens.

It's a funny show. I've enjoyed it. It has some sexual innuendoes and some occasional language. I wouldn't recommend this for children but I say its fine for teens and above.
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byjojackson1980 August 14, 2020

THIS IS THE BEST TV SHOW EVER

I started to watch friends when i was 10 and have now gone through every single episode at least 3 times. The hilarious jokes never seem to get old and the sad moments still seem to make me cry. There are some inappropriate parts but you don't see anything and to be honest I never really understood them anyway. But just incase I would not recommend it for anyone under 11. Or perhaps a mature 10 year old would be fine. I watched it with my mum and dad which was a great time to share laughs and bond together. It is really something funny and exciting to cheer you up in whatever mood your in. It is all about these really close friends:
Joey
Rachel
Chandler
Monica
Ross
Phoebe
And you see them all in relationships , you see how they all help each other get out of tricky situations and you see them in funny situations. For ten years. (1 year in their lives per season ) They all kind of start at the beginning 26 ish and you just sit and watch them have children and get married. It is just so heartwarming. I would 100 percent recommend this.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDeadpool 99 August 5, 2020

Brilliant comedy nothing offensive but younger kids won't get most of the jokes

Adult Written bydenise_p_111 June 29, 2020

Friends is such an awesome show!

I started watching Friends last month on May when HBO Max was first released and I have to say that Friends is the best show ever. I watch 2 episodes of Friends almost every day. My Mom always wants to join me whenever I watch Friends. Sure the characters in the show talk a lot about sex, but they never graphically show it. The nudity scenes aren't that graphic at all since it's covered up and not shown. Sometimes it shows women taking their robes off with no clothing under them. Be careful while watching Season 4 Episode 14 "The One With Joey's Dirty Day", there's this one disturbing "adult-ish" scene where Rachel, Monica and Phoebe take Chandler to a Strip-Club and it features topless/nearly naked women dancing, which is a super inappropriate and "Rated R" scene in my opinion. (That scene reminded me of an adult animated show I used to watch called "Bless the Harts", where it shows a woman working at a strip-club and it shows topless/nearly naked women dancing) Skip this scene or don't watch that episode at all. They do swear and cuss in this show. They say "Bitch", "Son of a Bitch", "Hell", "Ass', "Damn" & "Dammit". Rachel and Phoebe are my favorite character on the show. Also the theme song is so catchy. I think Friends is the best throwback show in my opinion.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMikestvreviews June 23, 2020

Great show one of the go to sitcoms

One of the easiest sitcoms to watch and rewatch through with great plots and characters. Relationships and Friendships are always at the forefront with great acting and one of the blueprints for sitcoms everywhere
Adult Written byJaydogZackery May 20, 2020

Content = iffy for 12, on for 13+.

Some critics imply or say that Friends is more of a parent-oriented show, and to a degree, they are right. While the content is not inappropriate for older tweens and teens, it's likely that they'll best understand the plot of this show at age 17-18. Which is why I set the age recommendation to 17+. Adults socialize and rarely get into fights. Like with most family comedies, there is drinking; but there is no appearance of marijuana or meth.

There is no violence. There are moderate sexual innuendos, with frequent kissing, flirting and slang (such as references to getting "laid"). Swears are limited to a mild/moderate level; uncensored are "hell," "damn," "ass," [and on cable networks] "bulls**t," "b**ch," and "bastard;" any stronger (such as "piece of s***" and "f***") are not heard at all by viewers.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byell57 March 24, 2020

classic show, really funny

This is one of the only shows I watch and die with laughter, but because it’s so popular, I think the frequent sexual references and jokes are often overlooked when deciding if it’s appropriate for a child. This is an adult show, but I think it would be fine for a mature 16 year old.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 18+-year-old Written byClaire B. March 11, 2020

FRIENDS Rating

It is a very good show overall, throughout all of the things that happen in this show, the group stays together. There are a little bit of “sexy” parts and some drinking and smoking but FRIENDS has decent life lessons. So, I think this show is for 13 and up.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byManAfterGodsHeart January 11, 2020

Funny, Relaxing & educational

I love Friends, my wife loved Monica before she got facial surgery so much she wanted to be Monica.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byEsme F. December 31, 2019

This show!

This show is probably one of the best shows i've ever watched! Like Riverdale, On my block it has sex! I definitely think a mature 12 year old and up can handle a bit of sex and funny jokes. I would never show it to anyone under that age of course. Theres no swearing just a couple b words here and there!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJenmccloy November 15, 2019

Best show ever. Each tut 10000000000000 times

Good for kids who no more he stuff amazing characters all with different problems and show how every one Is equal no matter what job or beliefs.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byEren Jaeger November 2, 2019

Still good

Although the idea has been redone with every subsequent sit-com, Friends still has a peculiar magic to it that makes it a must-watch for everyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMaitreya October 30, 2019

Best family show ever

if you want a show where you can connect yourself with chrecters , you can watch it with your family and kids. there is nothing disturbing in this show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages