Parent reviews for Ginny & Georgia

Common Sense says

Manic, mature mom-daughter series has sex, drugs, violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 123 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 236 reviews
Adult Written byStevegates1234 February 26, 2021

Very inappropriate

It is very sexual. People use sex toys and vibrators. lots of suicide references and self harm that could be triggering for younger people. Lots of teens get drunk and take drugs. Alot of swearing and constant sex talk. Also has abusive adults who are very unpleasant and violent.
parents be warned.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bystacyostreiko March 1, 2021

Misogynist and slut-shaming quotes

Respect women.
Adult Written byjpxy March 1, 2021

Could've used T.Swift in a good way, rather than a disgusting old joke.

If you're going to use Taylor Swift to pull more viewers to your show, you could've used her name in a good way, rather than the old "ex's" jokes that is sooooooo LAME! You guys still stuck in the past? It's 2021, come on, Brooklyn 99 is a good set of example for situations like this. That part pulled down your show, shouldn't dragged Taylor Swift like that, you should've know how powerful and influential her fans are.
Adult Written byWilddog March 1, 2021

Misogynistic

This show is absolutely disgusting. The messages that are present within the show are misogynistic. It’s 2021, and still people feel the need to shame women for just existing. The show has horrible writers who need to figure out what respect means.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bygnuoy0002 February 26, 2021

Clever but dark and inappropriate for youth

While I think the show is well done, this is a very mature show. In the first episode, you are exposed to domestic violence, child abuse, casual drug use (adult and teen), sex scenes, poisoning, a dead person in a casket, and many other poor behaviors that are given a rather endearing spin to them. As a parent, I would not want any of my kids (17 and under) to watch this show. Despite the rating and the trailer that makes it look teenager-friendly, I just don't agree.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byViviJ March 1, 2021

Shamelessly encourages misogyny

The fact that even today, in 2021, humanity hasn't moved past futile discriminations of one another based on gender and other differences is truly a disgrace. I can only hope that some day, we as a society would reach a place where an insult to a fellow human being is not identified as humour, and people don't seek their joy at the expense of the pain of another. I hope our future would consist of a society which looks at the phrase "You go through men faster than Taylor Swift" with nothing but utter confusion, a society that would not need to condemn misogyny because it knows no such thing. Shame on you, Netflix, for being so hopelessly caught in the flow that you do not see how the little things you do tug at the feet of the humanity as it attempts to inch its way forward.
Adult Written byMolly25 March 1, 2021

Super mysogynistic

If you wanna raise your child by showing them what repsect towards other women is then this is not the show for you. It is super mysogynistic and has propaganda to slut shame women. Donot make your child watch this crap.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byspringhosts March 1, 2021

Respect TAYLOR SWIFT

its 2021 and there are still "jokes" about taylor swift? there's nothing wrong with her having ex-boyfriends, respect women and RESPECT TAYLOR SWIFT

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 16-year-old Written byLewca March 19, 2021

NOT for Teens - Horrified by the TV-14 Rating

Language warning...used actual language from the show below.

Started watching this show with my 16 year old without looking at the reviews because of the TV-14 rating - last time I’ll make that mistake. I’m not naive enough to think she hasn’t heard about everything in this show but that doesn’t make it appropriate. Some examples (skipping many)...and please read until the end.

Mom is having the 9 year old sing a 90s song about sex on the bathroom floor. Teen chastises mom and 9 year old proceeds to explain exactly what the song is about.

Mom calls another 9 year old a pussy in front of her kid after she pulls him behind the bushes so she can hold him still while her kid punches him.

And the scene from the first episode that has me so disgusted I’m actually going to Karen out and contact Netflix...the teen neighbor climbs into the window of the 15 year old he’s known for two days, strips her down, climbs in bed with her and starts fingering her asking if she can take two fingers. WHAT?! No only is this not appropriate for a 14 year old, I felt disgusting seeing this as an adult. How is this not perceived as child porn? I get the actors are over 18 but they are portraying children. This is the second Netflix show I’ve tried to watch recently that has graphic sex scenes involving children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byKambrea1020 March 2, 2021

I loved this show!

I really enjoyed this show. It’s upsetting that due to one line the Swifties are trying to make these people loose their jobs when it was the writers fault. A lot of them are even being racist and harassing the main black lead. This is really a good show and everyone who gave it a bad review didn’t even watch the show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bygulbharti.12 March 2, 2021

Misogynistic

Degrading powerful women through a platform like this really explains why this show should be canceled.
Adult Written bycitygirl3773 March 1, 2021

HONEST REVIEW

Honestly, it's a good show. I'm telling you right now, most of these reviews are negative (wether they mention T-Swift or not) because the show made a couple of jokes about Taylor Swift and Lady Gaga. While I understand it was inappropriate and people are mad, the jokes are very accurate to comments teenagers make regarding celebrities. Overall, It was a good show! It tackles real things, such as depression, self harm, sex, relationships, but it doesn't do it in a vulgar way that other shows do, and it doesn't romanticize it. It's great for teens 16 and up. Some say the show is inappropriate for teens that age because of the vibrators or the sex talk but they fail to realize that it's incredibly realistic, teens know about and have sex. You can't escape it. This show doesn't deserve the 1star its getting because of the Taylor Swift fans. Please judge it for yourself!
Adult Written byCarter2794 March 24, 2021
I think it’s absolutely crazy people are mad about this show. How do you know the creators of the show weren’t trying to shed light on the reality of how things are in this era. This show portrays exactly what goes on in the world every day. Y’all will bitch about shows like this but binge watch shows like shameless or 13 reasons why. I think everyone played their parts well in creating the film. Wouldn’t let kids watch maybe young adults at a certain maturity level. At the end of the day parents are responsible for teaching their kids right from wrong. A child will not base what they know off of watching a tv show a child learns with in the home of those around them don’t blame a tv show if little Timmy thinks it’s cool to go get some little girl knocked up.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byvaleria2001 March 9, 2021

best show ever

what I think go the show Ginny and Georgia is that it might be the best show Netflix has came out with, the funny thing is that people think they use real alcohol but its not even alcohol its black tea, they said it in an interview, and they also talk about the how they smoke drugs and how ginny used a bong, so what, they are over 18 and same thing for the sex scenes, y'all act like y'all haven't watched shows that have sex scenes and if you don't want to see the sex scenes then skip it, making such a big deal about it for what, Ginny and Georgia is a good show and Netflix needs to renew it for season 2.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byheyreviewsfromchloe March 2, 2021

really good but...!

good! but lots or people are mad over the comment about taylor swift

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byStarkystark March 1, 2021
Adult Written byLinettimorgan March 1, 2021

Nothing new the writers are really scraping the bottom

This show makes sexist and misogynistic comments about an unproblematic human being. Please don't let your kids be influenced by all this negativity.
Do better. TPWK
Adult Written byVivi Walsh February 26, 2021

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byGwenn w March 9, 2021

This show is trashy

Just don’t don’t let your kids watch it. Period. Literally nothing redeeming about it. It makes it seem like every high schooler is smoking pot, drinking excessively and having sex. The girls are mean to each other. The adults lack any morals whatsoever.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byW.T.Fiswrongwit... March 3, 2021

Why?!

I don't understand how this show is aired, let alone for 14yr olds. You watch kids have sex, touch themselves, hurt themselves and do drugs. Why society today thinks its ok to promote these issues and than wonder why there are so many issues with kids .

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages