Parent reviews for Haters Back Off

Common Sense says

YouTube personality's misfit shtick grates in sitcom format.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 51 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 69 reviews
Parent Written byLou S November 6, 2017

Garbage Show

Over the top, socially awkward, self centred, arrogant child who has everyone around her feed into her delusions that she is talented. Only made worse by her over the top, socially awkward uncle. They both treat everyone around them poorly in their pursuit of her desire to be famous labelling everyone who disagrees as "Jealous Haters"

Painful to watch. Absolute Garbage, turn off the TV, go outside and watch the grass grow. It's more entertaining than this.
Parent Written byMandy J. January 7, 2018

Not appropriate for children.

I’m not sure how or why Netflix rated this show PG. it is full of overtly sexual inuendo. The adult characters say things like “tell him I came”. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out what that means. I watch one episode with my 10 year old and counted 7 sexual references. The jokes are not appropriate for kids. This is not a fake review. This is coming from a pretty liberal parent.
Adult Written byMerlin100000 December 5, 2018

Garbage

I believe the blame falls on Netflix for the PG rating. I'm sure the same people who loved Napolien Dynomite also enjoyed this show. My 5 year old absolutely loves this show. She says all the time "can you put on Miranda?" ..and I put it on. I assumed it was appropriate for a 5 year old since it was in the kids section along with all of the age appropriate cartoons and whatnot. Then i sat with her and watched. OH MAN WAS I WRONG. The message is horrible, the innuendos are just gross, and the acting bad as well.
If you have a child under 14 I wouldnt recommend.
Skip skip skip. Miranda is a horrible role model for little girls. Shame on you Netflix for the PG rating.
Adult Written byBig Dad Guy S October 22, 2016

SAD

Why do people post false reviews? Me and my family loved the show!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 11, 13, and 18+-year-old Written byMitch F. October 22, 2016

This show is great for kids!

My kids love it and when their friends come over sometimes they even invite me to watch it with them!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byHeather1503 September 13, 2019

Inappropriate for TV-PG!

Completely inappropriate for it's PG rating. I have parental controls on Netflix and found my kids watching this garbage. The few mintues I watched there was inappropriate language, sexual references including "a fettish for handicapped" and multiple times where the uncle pulls down his pants, is in his underwear, and ome with a nude silhouette. Plus a bunch of other trashy remarks and even some hooker chick in what looked like a strip club. Absolutely ridiculous to say this is PG.
Adult Written byVsantos408 July 26, 2019

Inappropriate for children!

My daughter (8) had been watching this show. Her Netflix has parental control so I didn’t worry. Until I sat for 5 mins of the first episode. How in the world is this show open for kids to watch!!!! Sexual messages are all over! I’m so disappointed! Now time to have a small talk with my daughter to let her know that show is to never been seen again & why. She’s only 8 Netflix come on!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10-year-old Written byCinders007 July 20, 2019

Garbage

Ridiculous as this is considered okay and somehow got through the parental guidelines that was set?! Think it's time to get rid of Netflix and most all TV. Sad times that we live in.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAussiemumC19 July 11, 2019

Horrible

Do not let your children watch this! I only had to watch one episode to see the strange sexual innuendos!!!! It’s disgusting! Cannot believe Netflix is showing this series in the kids section.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byC.fitzhenry June 22, 2019

Did Netflix make a mistake

Why on earth is this trash on the children's Netflix section? Surely Netflix isn't aware that they have made a mistake, because this is highly inappropriate for children. I'm hoping this was an error on Netflix and was not ment to be on Netflix. I hope someone who works their realize that that show was rated wrong.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byLyn C. October 21, 2017

Terrible

Garbage!! Total garbage
Adult Written byTheHillins March 22, 2020

Blah..

My daughter watched one of these and around the middle I started watching and decided I didn't like the humor for her 7 year old ears. She was really into it and got mad I didn't want her to watch it. She is very impressionable. 6 months later she asked if we could watch it together and I agreed. We got through the first episode. I didn't appreciate the sexual innuendos for the pg rating. The mom says the uncle should be careful about how he and Miranda talk because people could get the wrong idea. They are talking about sticky buns and squirting frosting. That right there should have boosted the rating higher or should have been left out. I read several comments on here and there are several more in the other episodes that I don't care to watch. They were clearly going for a 12 and up audience. Pg to me means yes that I watch and decide but also it should be pretty appropriate for 7-10 year olds with humor they understand and doesn't make an adult uncomfortable to watch with their child. What if I had to explain that to her? Like others said this should not be grouped with the kids Netflix. They click on anything and watch it. We are doing our part by watching first but still.. Now I have a child that wants to watch it even more now that I don't want her to watch it.


PS they say damn.. But address it as swearing and not to be said so the unclear says dang instead.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 9-year-old Written byAprilhumen October 23, 2019

GROSS

My daughter (10) and I only watched the beginning of the first episode. It was disgusting. It implied incest between the main character and father. It had very sexual innuendos. It was on the “family” section of Netflix. However, this isn’t appropriate for kids. I wouldn’t even let my 12 year old watch it like it’s recommended on here.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byLiveLaughLoveLife October 21, 2016
It's a great show! Definitely give it a watch if you like comedies.

The show has sexual adult humor.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBookerfam March 14, 2020

Not for kids!!!!!

My kids wanted to watch this... since it’s rated PG and listed on children’s Netflix, we decided to give it a go! Within the first 10 minutes, the sex content was outrageous! The teenage girl sucks and licks her ice cream bar while the teenage boy love interest watches almost drooling! Then the next morning she is about to eat Cinnabon’s for breakfast and her uncle squirts the cream onto it for her and there is inappropriate sexual discussion on that as well!!!! Turned it off right away!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bymandysue December 14, 2019

Kids should not watch!

My daughter has always watched Miranda. I have seen a couple episodes and didn't think anything of it, except that she's annoying. But this morning my daughter and her friends turned on an episode where she is pregnant and they are talking about sex and porn. This will not ever come back on my tv!
Parent of a 7, 9, and 12-year-old Written byLlballingerjr November 10, 2018

AMAZING show!!

I have been watching this show for a while, and it's pretty good! A lot of the reviews say Miranda is an idiot, in a way she's supposed to be! This show is funny and lively! I'd say overall, ages 10 and up.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byErin W. October 20, 2017
Parent of a 14 and 16-year-old Written byJojano February 15, 2017

Waste of time

I had a hard time finishing one episode of this "comedy." I not only didn't laugh, but it was over the top stupid. It reminded me of Napoleons Dynomite if you like that kind of humor, only not nearly as good.
Adult Written byNicoleRCC September 14, 2019

Caution not for kids!!!

Decided to watch this with my 9yo girls after we saw Miranda on another show. She is Goofy and ridiculous, we thought it would be funny.
Within the first few minutes there are inappropriate sexual innuendos. As the show progresses it gets much worse.
I am open minded and find it amusing.. HOWEVER it is in no way appropriate for kids. As the series goes on the sex/insest jokes get worse. Again, some may find it amusing but it is not at all appropriate for kids. I was truly shocked that it has a PG rating. It should be marked MA.

Pages