Kid reviews for It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia

Common Sense says

Irreverent comedy for older teens only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 38 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written bymilwaukee bucks April 20, 2017

The best show on TV

It is honestly the funniest thing you will ever see. i have woken up my entire house laughing in the middle of the night. This show has no language that is not already exposed to kids in school.
Teen, 17 years old Written byPoetic Ramblings January 28, 2013

Nihilistic humor at its best

Always Sunny goes where most sitcoms have never gone before, and where most shouldn't. Absurd, in your face, and chock full of sociopaths. There's a reason this show is rated M. I watch it with my mother and older sister (18) and it often has us in hysterics, though we'll skip some of the more intense scenes. I DEFINITELY wouldn't recommend it to anyone under 16, and suggest that minors watch it with their parents. It should be understood that this is a show to be amused by, and not to emulate.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhonestreviewer123 August 9, 2020

Hilarious comedy - not for the impressionable...

I think other reviewers have explained just how great this comedy is, so I'll just talk about the content: VIOLENCE: 1/5, not much at all. SEX: 4/5, no nudity is shown at all (apart from male butts briefly), very little sex scenes (almost none), but there is A LOT of innuendo, ranging from mild to very severe. DRUGS/ALCOHOL/SMOKING: 4/5, lot of alcoholism, drug usage shown. Check out the IMDB content advisory for more info. I think younger teens could find the humor (and satire) in this easily, but they must make sure that they are not too impressionable, because the people in the series are awful role models in every conceivable way.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacob Hetfield April 27, 2019
Kid, 10 years old March 22, 2020

The Best Show Ever Created

It’s innovative form of comedy may seem shocking but is a great and funny show. The thing about the shows is that the characters are terrible people and that is the setup and premise of the show. It may seem simple but is a funny and meta show.
Kid, 10 years old March 22, 2020

The Best Show Ever Created

It’s innovative form of comedy may seem shocking but is a great and funny show. The thing about the shows is that the characters are terrible people and that is the setup and premise of the show. It may seem simple but is a funny and meta show.
Teen, 14 years old Written byClorox bleach May 22, 2020

Depends on the episode

Depends on the episode so that's why I put 13 and up

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byGappy May 17, 2020

this is a great show

I love this show so much. I think it's really funny. My dad lets me watch it and I'm 13 years old. Frank is my favorite character, if you're an older teen you should watch it but if your parents are lenient then you can watch it if you're a younger teen.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 12 years old February 29, 2020

A good show with swearing and sex

As a 12 year old my self I can say if your kid goes to school they have heard all the swear words and the sex scenes just show the guys reaction its nothing too graphic and the gang (main characters) are not good role models also the characters own a bar and drink ALOT but as a closing note as long as you kid already knows right from wrong you can let them watch this but I would reccomend watching it with them
Teen, 17 years old Written byusernameiwontre... December 27, 2019

Hillarious show, very dark humour

First up, Its Always Sunny if effing hillarious, the writing and acting are brilliant and its my absolute favourite show.
That said....
Its very dark and crude, with the humour mostly coming from the depraved and selfish a-holes who are the main characters a.k.a "The Gang".
There is alot of cursing, including asshole, sh*t, f*ck, b*tch etc., nothing no 14 year old hasn't heard at school before already tho tbh.
There is also alot of drinking and drugs. All 5 main characters are alcoholics (in one episode, during a quarantine, they believe they are coming down with the flu, which turns out to be alcohol withdrawl gaving not drank for a couple hours, whilst in another episode, whilst on a "dry cruise", Mac (played by Rob McElhenney) states they will each need a to drink mouthwash each morning "to stave off the shakes").
At least 4 of the 5 main characters gave done crack, with at least 2 (Dennis, played by Glenn Howerton and Dee, played by Kaitlin Olson) being addicts, whilst Charlie (played by Charlie Day)- an illitirate who is heavily implied to have been molested by his uncle - huffing glue each day. Other chemjcals including spray paint, gasoline, turpentine etc. have also been inhaled by the Gang on several occasions.
Now onto violence: The show isnt overly violence, but when they are violent they really go for it. Charlie in the Christmas episode finds out his mum was a prostitute, then proceeds to bite a mall Santa's neck after repeatedly asking "Did you f*ck my mom", a mans head is blown off, Charlie is shot in the head by Dennis, Charlie shoots himself in the head with a flare gun to try to prove theyre all already dead, Frank (played by the wonderful Danny DeVito) tries to hang himself twice in one epiode etc.
Sex: Dennis is a sex addict and possible serial rapist, Frank "bangs alot of whores", Charlie stalks The Waitress (Played by Mary Elizabeth Ellis) for over a decade etc., but nothing particularly graphic in terms of sex is ever shown.
To be honest, the episode titles really say it all. Some gems include "Charlie got molested" "The Gang gets racist" "The Gang goes to hell" etc.
To be honest though, as long as you know the characters aren't role models, I'd say it's fine for teenagers and above.
At its heart the show is a comedy, and the hilarity of the show (which is largely written and produced by Rob McElhenney, Charlie Day, Glenn Howerton) comes directly from the depraved actions of The Gang, who usually wind up pitting themselves against each other, much to the enjoyment of the viewer. Seinfeld on crack indeed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLuckyboyz January 21, 2018

Amazing yet Adult.

As the title explains, it's set in Philadelphia.
Anyway. This show is amazing. I started binging on Netflix a few weeks ago and I loved it from episode one. There's no doubt that this shit is funny, genuinely beautiful at times and has been violent.
In 2008/09 (real life) two of the main cast got married and in 2010, kaitlin Olsen became pregnant with Rob McElhenney's child and this is played on throughout most of season 6 in which the "gang" try to find out who the father is in season 6. The episode where she gives birth shows alot about how friends stick together and in times of crisis, although a very adult topic that alot of teens face these days, your true friends will always be there to help you. The episode ends with a picture of the newly born and captures "(the baby's real name ending with McElhenney) 2010-present"

This shows there is alot of thought into the writing process for the show.
Also, in the christmas special as usually shown in Christmas based movies or TV show episodes, the gang realise how bad all there Christmas' have been and tell eachother how they don't need anyone else for them to have a good christmas. All they need is eachother and they will always have good christmases.

This does however cover up the regular language such as "sh*t" "b***ard" and from season 6 onwards "F***k" tends to be used rather frequently although all these swear words are used around 2/3 episodes per season on average. Wether used alot in the episode or not.

This show also does show gore which the common sense media review fails to tell us.
This includes a mans head being blown off. A santa getting his neck bitten by one of the main characters. The same character throwing up blood several times on a character in a car in season 7.
These are scenes that if you knew where abouts they were you could easily watch the show with your 14 year old. However, the gore really isn't much unless your really and I mean really squeemish as it all happens too quickly to be disgusted by it. It is rated 15 in the UK but not sure about it in the US. I would say as a 16 year old myself that of your 15, you could watch the show by yourself and although the gang are joked about as psychopaths and cruel people, it does show that they do stick together like family and although tend to not care about people, they do help eachother through thick and thin. They love eachother and they all mean everything to eachother.
The show could teach teens the true meaning of family but if they don't understand how to behave towards others, then this show really isn't for them.

Apart from that, there are moments of sex. There is alot of jokes regarding prostitutes and drugs are used including an episode where two characters get hooked on crack and they also end up getting a priest hooked and addicted to cocaine if I remember correctly.
The show is set in a bar almost 100% of the time so expect alot of drinking and drunk driving.
Other than that, this show really isn't as bad or adult as people say. Id say any teen (which i count as 14 or over) can watch the show. 15 and over without someone who's never seen it before.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bytoby woby December 28, 2017

Hilarious, but DEFENITLY not for kids!

This show is very funny and displayed in a lighthearted fashion, but is full of strong language, and sometimes has sex and violence. This is definitely not a show for families, and is full of dark humor, and is a horrible role models for laughs. 8/10; for mature viewers only.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byZoë W. December 15, 2017

The main characters are horrible

Let me get this straight? I enjoy a show, but hate all the characters in it? If you've watched It's Always Sunny, I feel you probably have similar feelings. None of the characters are likable, AT ALL, but I still find myself laughing at, and enjoying this show immensely. They're all alcoholics, some are drug abusers, and they're also assholes who are racist, misogynistic, homophobic, transphobic, etc.. The thing about this show is that you aren't supposed to sympathize with these idiots who are the antagonists of their own stories. Nothing any of them do is healthy, or okay in any way. But damn, this show is hilarious, and so well done. If you're gonna watch it and think "Wow! I relate!" or use the characters as an excuse to think it's okay to be bigoted, ignorant and overall horrible, don't watch it. These characters are all perfect examples of WHAT NOT TO BE and they're stupid as shit too. There's also some slurs/swears that are pretty serious and I've never heard in other TV shows I watch before like: cunt, tranny, faggot, etc.. They come at shocking times and sometimes feel surprising, but knowing the show and the characters, they all make sense. There's some HORRIBLY misogynist themes but they're played for laughs/satire. The show is making fun of ignorant people who say things like the gang says (just like Michael Scott in the office is ignorant, sexist, racist, homophobic, etc. but it's played to show you how FUCKING DUMB HE IS!). There's some degrading of sex-workers, and other minorities, to show how shitty these guys are. They drink, A LOT, and they drive while they drink. They also do drugs, etc. There's even an episode about cannibalism. The show is hilarious, but dark (not sad, just... fucked up). If you can't understand the difference between dumbass characters being bigoted and saying its funny/okay to be bigoted, don't watch this. Being like the gang isn't a good thing or funny. There's ALSO mention of child sexual abuse / incest (Charlie is heavily, HEAVILY, almost UNDENIABLY coded to have been abused by his uncle as a child), so be aware. There's some pedophilic themes in a few episodes, and there's some shit that will make your skin crawl. There's also lots of mental illness, Dennis is diagnosed with BPD, and all the gang is fucked up in a LOT of ways. There's crude humor, so be warned. The show is absolutely hilarious, and fun to watch if you're up for it. Some people (really empathetic people) may find themselves feeling sad watching this comedy, because the lives of the gang are all so... pathetic, and maybe resemble the lives of real life people, which can be upsetting. To me, it's a well done show that you can sit back and watch, without having to overthink the plot to much. The plots are all funny, and there's a good continuity in the show. I've heard people describe it as ... Seinfeld on Crack, and honestly? That's pretty accurate.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byKelzarquence April 7, 2017

One of the best comedies out there

Teen, 13 years old Written bykeyring February 17, 2017

Excellent Sitcom

I personally believe that this show is perfect for 14 year-old children and up. While this show is rated MA, most kids that have been in middle school and high school have heard most of the stuff they mention in the show. Not to mention, this show depicts plenty of scenes in strip clubs. The show also has a lot of very frank sex talk.

Something that really makes me feel like this is intended for older audiences is some of the content material. They tackle subjects such as religion, jihadists, terrorism, and opposition of gay marriage, just to name a few. While these are all done in jest within the context of the show, it will offend some viewers, but if you get to the point where nothing offends you, you should most definitely watch the show.

The show depicts an excessive amount of social drinking, which I don't see to be a problem. The show does cover the topic of abusing illegal drugs, and even have characters abuse it on some episodes.

Overall, this show might seem really awful and be for older kids, however, most teens have viewed pornography of some sort, have sworn before, and seen people do drugs. It just depends on the teen's sense of humor. Personally this show is my third favorite on television and has many memorable moments. Please, if your teen is 14 or 15, please let them watch this. It's hilarious!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySkyDalt January 24, 2017
It's Ok If You Don't Mind Some Language And Mild Dirty References And Some Drugs But In The Christmas One The Fbomb Is Used 15 Times And There Is Some Nudity In Some Episodes Not Much

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byj19 July 25, 2016

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLazyblue1 April 10, 2016

Pretty good

I think it's a pretty good show if your kids know what not to do I've been watching since I was 12 and it's been great since, the first 2 seasons I think are OK for 10+ and the rest is good for 13+ it is halirious and all in good fun the sex in it you don't see any body parts only the s word and b word aren't bleeped f word is drugs and ect is in it From time to time so if your kids are 10-12 watch it with them but if older it's really fine

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byBaseballManiac February 28, 2016

The next Seinfeld

If you think your children are mature enough to watch this, then it's definitely a show they'll enjoy. With jokes/references about sex, drugs, and more, this show pushes the boundaries of what's acceptable on TV, and it does it well.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTechBug2012 December 24, 2015

Hilarious given the low budget, but quality really decreased

I binged most of this show back in August on Amazon. For the first 6 seasons, this show was hilarious and awesome, especially given its extremely low budget. Throughout the show, "s**t" is used probably every 10 seconds or less (I don't remember hearing "f**k"). References to rape and rape jokes are made a lot. Drugs are shown frequently (usually crack and sniffing glue), but always in a comedic manner. The episodes were better than most sitcoms, even if the camera quality wasn't so great, and the language, references, and mild drug use shouldn't be enough to influence you. But after season 6, the writers realized "Hey... you know, we're TV-MA!" So, instead of references, they started showing things. A homeless man is shown masturbating in the alley. Nothing is shown, but you can hear the sounds. In season 6, the shadow of two couples having sex is shown in an edgy house in the background while the main characters talk. Moaning and screaming is heard throughout. Then, the thin wall falls down and you see the naked couple in their sexual position. No genitalia is shown but the man's buttocks are shown. Then, in season 7, two homeless men are seen having sex under a bridge. You can see the thrusting and the buttocks of one of them, and the scene is really graphic. Along with the increasingly inappropriate things in the show, the writing quality also decreased. I stopped watching after season 8 because I didn't want to see anymore homeless people having sex and I hadn't laughed once for an entire season. There are some really great and hilarious moments in the show, but most of them are before season 6 and right now it's really not worth watching anymore.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages