All parent member reviews for Jon & Kate Plus 8

Parents say

(out of 83 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 5 year old Written bybeybi July 16, 2010


obozavam you have excellent
Adult Written byaltec September 29, 2009

So sick of this show..

I'm sick of it. everytime this is on I'll change my channel right away. I don't know why TLC is keeping this program.. So sick of it..Please take it off..
Parent of a 5 and 9 year old Written byvidman1970 August 30, 2009
The whole story around the divorce and various stories on the internet where people comment on the story lines. I think that Kate needs alot of counseling to get over the whole affair and to remove the bitterness she has in her. She is overly critical of the kids and of jon. She does not show any true affection but wants to show perfection in front of the cameras. All she wants it seems is to collect a paycheck while the kids do the work. Mean while jon needs to grow a backbone and stand his ground on certain issues and not allow kate to be so judgemental of all those around her when she is by far perfect. This show in general does not appropriately show what a real family is like
Parent of a 4 year old Written byhippytreehugger4ever August 27, 2009
Complete and utter drivel from a couple of uncaring parents that are about as likeable as a cantankorous hemeroid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 8 year old Written byAunt Marie August 9, 2009

Great for young women who THINK they're ready for kids.

I stopped watching when the little kids were being potty trained because of the way Kate made this so public and embarrassing for the kids. This show is VERY EDUCATIONAL for teenagers, especially girls, who think that marriage and children are fun and easy. I wouldn't trade places with Kate or the kids for $50,000,000! I hope that TLC cancels the show now and that Kate has saved enough money for the kids' therapy. They can work their way through college like many other Americans.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byevrine August 4, 2009
It show use to be a decent, I personally started to tune somewhere in the 4th season since it seemed to become more of commercial of the thinking that the family got given to them. That was already there before, but by season 4 that show was almost an infomercial. The Gosselins seemed to get lost in that somewhere I didn't enjoy watch the show. What little I have seen since this commotion happen looks like they are know using it to get people interested in them, then claiming they asked for none of this. They placed themselves on TV so they didn't say no. I didn't think from what I've seen that it show is appropriate for younger children anymore. Not because of the divorce (that happens in real life), not because Jon seemed to cheat on Kate (that happens in real life), but because the hold situation they are in seemed confusing and played up for TV. I don't think the show is or has been for sometime a a true representation of what they what to claim it is, an average family but with twins & sextuplets. It was most like always going to end up like it is in one way or the other, a celebrity reality show, and they're never a realistic view on life and never appropriate for children.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 11 year old Written byPatty101 July 7, 2009


Love it! So cute!
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygoddessangel July 1, 2009
One thing I must say first. This site rates consumerism as a non-issue. Excuse me, but have you ever watched this program, I mean EVER? It is absolutely impossible to miss the MANY (at least 20) episodes that were essentially commercials – 'The Tale of Despereaux' (it really was a wonderful movie with a rich plot and positive messages for kids), crooked houses and some cottage playhouse to name a few. They have received umpteen free tickets to places like baseball games, shows and an aquarium including special "backstage" activities (and gifts) only they get to experience. We also can’t forget the numerous vacations (the sextuples will probably not even remember) to places like Disney world, ski resorts, beach houses and of course the free $$$$ Hawaii wedding are featured. In addition, they also get tons of free stuff from the plates that they eat off to the matching designer clothes that kids always wear. This is especially glaring, because the show was tagged for drinking. It’s ridiculous to think drinking wine with dinner is an issue, THIS IS NORMAL, demonizing it wrong. There are WAY to many other things to point out as being inappropriate to worry about that. I have watched it from the beginning and LOVE it. I will continue watch, even if I know shouldn’t. However, at the same time, I feel it is completely inappropriate for kids to be watching. I cringe when I hear that parent watch this with say their 8 year old kids. What are you thinking? There is nothing for a child to gain by watching this. What is portrayed as reality is often fiction. Adults SHOULD know this, but kids don’t. Try explaining to your kids why the Jon and Kate had a huge wedding and told their kids over and over (dozens of times) “mommy and daddy will always be together,” then got a divorce less than two years later. Message sent – parents are liars. As much as I love this show, and don’t like to judge, I find it inconceivable that they knew (they defiantly did know) that their marriage was in trouble, but chose to re-do the wedding for the free vacation. In fact, I hate when others judge, especially when they criticize poor 8 year old Maddy – just think about this child reading your comments someday folks, would you want someone do that to your kid? Yes, I know they are not TV, but that is NOT THEIR CHOICE, it’s their parents. Even if you don’t care what your kids watch, if not for to protect them, then to protect the children that appear on it. If it were your children on the show, would you really the parents of kid next door watching last night’s episode where their friend had a tantrum. Or, perhaps letting them watch a rerun where their friend (choose one of the sextuples) was potty training. Who in the hell thinks it’s appropriate to let your kids watch the neighbors child being potty trained? I know there are only a few kids that have contact (attend school) with the twins, but I just think it is morally wrong for the parents of the few who do, to discuss the details of TV kids lives and set them up to be teased. It doesn’t matter that your own kid doesn’t know any of the eight kids on TV, it’s the premise. Again, this is fine for an adult, but not a kid – 16 and up, at least!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byDBarto June 26, 2009

Not anymore the wholesome family we came to know and love

This is a tough review for me, because I come from a dysfunctional family where my dad was always sick (he would later pass away when I was 14), my grandparents hated my guts, I was disowned by my dad's family for speaking of politics at the dinner table, so I naturally loved this show because I would think to myself, "So this is what a real family is like." But now finding out this show (not the early episodes but the later ones) are scripted is almost like a slap to the face for someone who just wanted to see what a normal family is like. Now with this whole controversial "divorce" going on, I have no idea what to think of the show anymore. I use to take time out of my day to watch this show, but not anymore. I use to think of Jon and Kate as a roll model for parents, I even bought their book, but now I wouldn't think of even picking that book up to glance at. Enough of my dislikes for the "cast", the show does attempt to show a "normal" family (that is if that family had 8 kids), but now there is no point of even turning it on because TLC had exploited them to the point that it has turned two loving parents against themselves to the point where they are getting a divorce. My big question is, how could two parents exploit there kids like Jon and Kate have? It was disappointing to find out that they were getting paid this whole time. Since they split up Jon was looking for an apartment at Trump Towers. This show shows negative roll models, and the messages it sends across are mixed. 1 out of 5
Adult Written byThe JP Show May 31, 2009

Stupid new season

Supid TLC Gave the show a frown.
Parent of a 5, 5, and 5 year old Written byAndiplus3 May 29, 2009

Makes me feel better as a mom of multiples

I'm not sure what to think about the whole relationship issues. They do not surprise me though. I "only" have triplets but it definitely strains a marriage. Luckily we have been through enough that we have a solid foundation. I don't know if we could survive what Jon and Kate have been through though. I'm sure the spotlight can be pretty hot when you are in it. And that it snowballs into more than you expect once you are "famous". I have heard criticisms of how the kids act, but they really seem like typical multiples to me. I'm not sure anyone without multiples can really understand what it is like. I'm hoping they cut down on episodes; maybe update 4X a year or something. Maybe that would help their life find a new normal. Of course, I'm also hoping this isn't just a big publicity stunt. Andi P.S. We always preview before we let the kids watch.
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySiempreA May 29, 2009

Jon & Kate new season at time when my kids and family are bombarded with the ongoing fight in the media to legalize gay marriages ...and given that Viagra commercials with naked adults in bathtubs play repeatedly during our favorite sporting events, Jon and Kate's reality TV situation seems pretty tame by comparison.
Parent of a 21 year old Written byItsmet610 May 28, 2009

A show that describes how having a large family can be fun and very stressful!

After seeing quite a few of the shows I feel bad about the situation that Jon & Kate are in. Not only for them as individuals but for the kids themselves. As an adult we all make mistakes. Some more than others and some adults just do not learn from the mistakes they have made. I know that no one in this world is perfect and they will have to deal with their own mistakes. I wish I could say something that would make everyone happy but there is nothing anyone can say. The media is one thing that should not continue to broadcast such events. Personal means personal. Unfortunately people like Jon and Kate live in a glass bubble and all the world sees it. Whatever the outcome, I know that they both love and adore their children and that the love for them will always be there no matter what. God Bless!
Adult Written bynursesuzi May 28, 2009

We don't support exploitation of children

The whole fertility-treatment, mega-multiple births; followed by turning your children's private lives into a media circus, as a way for the parents to earn a living- is abusive. Those poor kids had the right to grow up in a normal family with parents who were not living off of them like vampires. Why would I expose my almost-11 year old to this sort of junky exploitation TV? There is nothing of redeeming value that is worth the time spent.
Parent of a 4 year old Written bysarowraith May 26, 2009
This has got to be one of the worst shows on t.v....kate is such a why would i want my family to spend time diving into the stories of a family that aren't to terribly concerned with their wedding vowes? this show should be canned.
Parent of a 2, 3, 6, and 8 year old Written bypenny jones May 26, 2009

i cried and laughed!!!!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE JON AND KATE PLUS 8!!!!!!! i think its sad what there going through and i hope they can pull through it..... but think about it for one minuet what parents husbands and wife's don't go through some find of difficulty in life... i know i would go crazy with 8 kids and all the stuff they go through on a day to day base... jon and kate hold you head high and you will get through it.. then you can look at everyone one that ever underestimated you's and say see we did it!!!!!! the kids are great.. and for everyone who criticizes jon and kate get a life you would not be able to do it every day and if you don't like the show don't watch it no one is making you....jon and kate are great and i will keep on watching them every Monday !!!!!!
Educator and Parent of a 16, 19, and 22 year old Written bymichaelar@cable... May 26, 2009

Jon and Kate plus 8

If they were in it for kids, they would get help. See Dr Phil. I think money and fame has gotten to Kate. The kids will be the ones who suffer. I'll be surpised if the show has another season. After last nights preview, I think alot of people will be turned off.
Adult Written byaposton May 26, 2009

i cried and laughed

i love jon and kate plus 8. it saddens me that they are going through this ordeal. i am a married woman with no kids. i throughly enjoy watching all of them. i pray with all my heart that they can get through this and get back together.
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, and 8 year old Written byrchavez1973 May 26, 2009

the whole thing was a joke

I always hated the show the couple of shows I've seen suck. All because of Kate, don't like her , hate her she should never be married to jon or anyone for that matter. All she does is critazize and put Jon down. I'm surprised that he lasted this long. He deserves better. I feel sorry for the kids in the future because she will do the same thing to them when they get older. Jon has no self esteem left because Kate has crushed it all and she is slowly doing it to those kids. The show should have been cancelled along time ago for father and kids. Get rid of Kate and all she be well.
Adult Written byKatilyn May 26, 2009

I love this show.

I'm 17, and I watch this show every time it's on, even search it on YouTube and watch re-runs.. Yes, their life is hectic, who's wouldn't be when you have that many kids? Do I support what the publicity is doing? NO! I think that now that they can't pick on Britney Spears anymore, they're going for these people.. and sorry to say, but Jon & Kate were perfectly happy with eachother, even admitted numerous times that through everything, They STILL love eachother.. there's families out there with just ONE kid who can't admit that.. I recommend anyone watch this show, it shows you alot of stuff, and even though I'm only 17 and have no children, or a husband yet, I'm still learning quite alot of stuff from it.