All teen and kid member reviews for Mako Mermaids: An H2O Adventure

Kids say

(out of 18 reviews)
age 7+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byrebma97 August 8, 2013

Okag Sequel To H2O

"Make Mermaids" is a decent sequel to "H2O". While it's not the best show out there, it's entertaining enough. Personally I prefer "H2O", but only slightly (I never loved that series). Parents should know that the mermaids, like in "H2O", wear bras and have their stomaches out, and the merman (Zac) is shirtless. Also, the mermaids are naked when they turn into humans. There are also relationships, which involve a little kissing. But overall it's fine for kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2013

Good

Not as good as H2O: Just add water, but still pretty good...
Teen, 13 years old Written byravenclawforever February 16, 2015

Not as good as H2o but still good.

Good show. Geared for tweens and teens. Don't be fooled that its for little kids because it has mermaids. Nothing inappropriate but won't be understood by most kids under 8 or 9.
Kid, 10 years old June 6, 2016

THE BEST SHOW

I have loved every episodes of this series. It has amazing cast members. I think it is a little silly, but for the most part it is fine.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byshristika October 13, 2013

mako mermaids

i think mako mermaids is a really good and exciting programme to watch espically for kids and also for teenage people as well.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2013

could it be better ?

they shold add the chacters from h2o just add water to make it better
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byLyca Emerson September 16, 2013

mako mermaid is awesome u should watch it i know u will love it

my family and I loved it and im waiting for another season i love mako mermaid I watch over and over and i think u will too
Kid, 10 years old September 6, 2013

Horrible show! (Just add water is better!)

I hate this tv show! I will never watch it again I only watched less then half of it at my friends house. If you want to watch something with mermaids try just add water it is soooo much better! I will NEVER EVER watch this again!!!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byindierose May 29, 2015

Mako mermaids is definite yes for me

All of the little girls I babysit adore this show. I've watched all the episodes, and aside from the cheesy acting, it's pretty good. The only concern parents may have is bareness that the mermaids show in the beginning (doesn't show anything though) and Zac is shirtless a lot. However I think this is more appropriate for kids than H2O was. There's no real makeout scenes or anything. Sometimes the characters 'Zac and Evie' cuddle. But not anything major league. And there is kissing, but no making out. Just little kisses. No swearing, violence or drinking. And there are some very good role models. I find "Serena" being a favorite of mine. She's a very cute character.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byNicoleM 2 February 14, 2015

Eh...

Overall, this show was just disappointing. The original show, H2O: Just Add Water, was wonderful and when I found out there was a modern spin off, I was so excited. It was horrible. No likable characters that stood out. The plot was interesting, adding a merman, however it was ruined by the lack of development. Season 1 was bearable, I didn't quite want to punch my screen. As soon as Season 2 came I completely stopped. Zach, I never thought a person could be THAT stubborn and self-contained. The introduction of two new mermaids replacing nixie and lyla was one of the worst mistakes they've made. Evie is just a plain out unlikable person despite the fact that her role is supposed to be a relatable character. Unfortunately I couldn't rate half stars, otherwise I would've rated this show a 2 1/2. Don't bother.
Teen, 15 years old Written bySpike-G. July 17, 2015

Don't bother if you're serious

I don't like this show. I was once a fan of the original "H2O: Just Add Water" series. Honestly, me and my sister watch it just for laughs. Which we accomplish by making fun of it. I'm not saying a guy becoming a merman is bad, I'm just saying it's really random in this franchise.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old June 12, 2016

To watch with family

Mako mermaids is pretty good, but the three mermaids are kind of stupid. I though of millions of ways to solve their problem! But it's still fun.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 29, 2015

Its Okai.

But, Its Really boring it will bore you children its jsut talking littelry, like no mermaid stuff, the original is way better!!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycece latchison February 8, 2014

mako mermaids/h2o

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byPress J August 14, 2016

The Cringe is REAL!

So its worse than the original (which wasn't that good anyway). They can't get worse than... There's an animated version...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2016

Lots Of Fantasy and Nature stuff and Supernatural of course

Good for Kids if they are adventurous it all depends if they are but every thing else is find
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byowleyes1316 September 1, 2016

Okay show

There's nothing really inappropriate about this show. The girls are mermaids, so they're essentially wearing bikinis. And there's dating and boy-girl stuff, but that's really it.
Kid, 10 years old August 28, 2016

Any age can watch this

This show is lovely!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models