Parent reviews for MANswers

Common Sense says

Crude Q&A show demeans women, glorifies drinking.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 16 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 4 reviews
Adult Written byEpicBro15 March 12, 2012

Great show for older dudes but not kids.

The show is obviously aimed at men over 17 and not for kids or women, I think the show is great for us older dudes it definitely answered questions I curious about. And I guess it can help men improve their sex and social life for better or for the worst. Either way the show has language, sex, some intense violence, and excessive drug use plus humor not for kids. The information in this show is not for kids like "How to spot a Narc while buying drugs" or "How to take a stripper home" definitely info children don't need.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJustanotherdude November 27, 2011

This show is great

I absolutely love this show! I am a 17 year old dude, so you could probably see why. Absolutely gorgeous women, violence, and over the top, just the way it should be. Plus they cater to excellent questions, such as: "how can drinking beer make your girlfriends boobs bigger? How can a lap dance recharge your car battery? Whens you're best chance to have sex with a cougar?" And before you call me a sexist a-hole, I have a girlfriend with A-cup breasts, but I still love her and respect her for the wonderful woman that she is. Basically what I'm trying to say is that its a real fun time, especially when your watching with your bros.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bystrangeworld15 June 26, 2011

Answers for the lustful and stupified.

If anyone has watched MythBusters before other television stations began to exploit what this show taught, MANswers is on the list of these copy-cat shows. I am a male, and I find that this show is one of SpikeTV's lamest and most completely sexist shows to have ever been broadcast on modern television. The show signifies that it is intended for a male audience; that is, if your one of those frat boys that enjoy crushing beer cans on your head and fantasize the feeling of having your head squeezed between a womans' breasts.

It doesn't explain to you their questions that they bring up thoroughly enough, because they frenetically shift into other segments and irrelevant questions so fast, it leaves the viewer confused and perplexed, and can result in lost information, though it isn't all that necessary to remember everything the show tells you, as it is completely useless.

And I wouldn't mind actresses showing off their bodily features, but only if they were more than just models. The woman here are seen as sex objects, and the show supports and glorifies them as that, even in they're answers they talk about techniques on how do "get in her pants" or what sort of saying they use.

There are more crucial points here that I could go on about, but the points above are my most concern overall. The website uses a five-star system, but I'll use four-star system. I give this show a rating of one-in-a-half stars out of four, it is a complete waste of time that is only for people who have sex and anything that involves the term "manly" in their minds.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFaith_ June 7, 2011

Degrading to women

This isn't FUNNY at ALL
:( guys wont care what a woman thinks, THIS show....just.....it
:( it makes me very sad that they would have a show like this, it makes me depressed, it is like Pornography, just ruining relationships or getting a guy wanting to rape some girl because of the encouragement of this show. I just can't believe they would have something like this, especially in these times of life, I am a teenager, and Teenage boys get all horny, yes I will say that they get blue balls it is bad. This isn't funny. Guys will never see girls the same way again, they will always have inappropriate minds, I mean well we all do but there are some more than others and it will ruin us. I hope they stop this show soon They just show females as a joke, and....there will not be a guy that will respect a womans feelings if this goes on

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byQuenched June 3, 2011

Give Me a Break

Ok. Here's the thing about this. This show has a LOT of bad in it. But is it any worse than letting your kid go out into the real world? No. Because if you're worried about having a sexist, sexually active, drug using, stupid kid, than you need to take a good look at the child. Depending on how mature your child is should alter the views of the show. For all the people who say it's "Sexist." "Stupid." and maybe just downright "Trash." you need to turn around and realize something. If it's so sexist, I wonder how they get people to be on the show. There are lots of women. I'm sick of people saying women are being demeaned when THEY DON'T HAVE TO TAKE THE JOB. Women talk about equality, but yet they insist on getting away with things men can't. I see girls all the time, using their body to get horny college guys to do something stupid. This show is perfectly fine. It's better than having a kid going and finding out on their own. I would rather have my kid watch this, rather than read the Bible. At least MANswers has a warning on it. To all the people who said violence is the problem, then I say we boycott the Bible, for all the killing in it, used for the purpose of getting people to conform. This show is a very well thought out show. IT IS TARGETED FOR A MALE AUDIENCE. That doesn't mean little Susie can't watch it. But if you are that worried about you child's innocence, then maybe you should stop watching spikeTV and go to PBS?
Parent of a 17-year-old Written bytrish0522 May 3, 2011

not a good show

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byomarrubio August 18, 2010

Best show ever seen.

This show is one of the best and it clearly describes what type of audience is able to watch it. This show has everything from beautiful ladies to awesome questions, that have an answer followed up by scientific studies with real professors to back up the answers. It is educational and every man out there has to watch it before they die.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 17-year-old Written bykaleel May 6, 2010
i love it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 2-year-old Written byIrishCowBoy1982 April 15, 2010

IT IS CALLED MANSWERS, BUT IT SHOULD BE TITLED PERVERTERS

DISGUSTING, THIS LITERALLY NEEDS TO BE PULLED OUT OF THE AMERICAN MEDIA. FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED WHEN IT OBJECTIFIES, HUMILIATES, AND DEGRADES A HUMAN GENDER. IT IS SO SEXIST, IT SHOULD BE CONSIDERED LAWSUIT MATERIAL FOR 2010.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bycaptian-_-cronic February 5, 2010
Manswers is basically answers for men. If you’re a man you’ll like Manswers. Its good for the most part but there are some stupid parts, but every show has stupid parts. It’s very funny and it’s educational. I mean who wouldn’t want to know the formula for the perfect butt, or how many non-alcoholic beers it would take to get drunk? It’s just a good show all together GO MANSWERS
Parent Written byPlague December 17, 2009

MANswers

As crude as it is, it is still a pretty educational show once you get past the "sexist" part. Also, depending on your humor, this show can produce some laughs along the way.
Adult Written byellie.roo.i.lov... October 30, 2009

16+

WOW. I have read many opinions/views on the show Manswers displayed on the Internet. I watched the show for the first time August '08. I will be writing a college paper about a source of media that displays a race/gender issue. I thought Manswers was a perfect topic of discussion considering all the diverse views. This will be very difficult to write from an analytical, versus bias, point of view. It seems like everyone out there either loves the show or hates it! But.... I did read one review from "Chris"about Manswers .... that basically said:

1. People are over-reacting.
2. The show actually made him, himself, feel slightly uncomfortable.
3. It degrades men, portraying them as horny slober-ers.
4. Spike TV channel is equivalent to men, as Oxygen channel is to ________.
5. It is all about varying perspectives, and overall context.

In conclusion, that was the only review I liked.

On a new topic, in college I am learning about modern stereotypes and I thought you might want to know a little bit about me before i give you my opinion. When reading other people's Manser internet reviews, I couldn't help but wonder if they were old, or young, male or female, where they lived, how much money they made, if they had kids, if they were feminist, if they were married, and how they dressed.
FYI:
I am 18.
F.
I just moved near Sacramento from Lake Tahoe.
I don't have a job.
No kids.
1 brother. 1 boyfriend. Divorced mother & father.
Blonde. 5'8". 155. Lbs.
College major: Art.
Non-racist.
I dress plain/girly/chick/surferish/skaterish.

... Now that you 'get the gist' and have naturally created a stereotype in your mind about 'who I am" as a person... I will give you my opinion about the show manswers:

I couldn't believe it. I thought it was like the comedy-version of Myth-busters. Some of the questions asked have actually crossed my adolescent girl mind. I wouldn't watch the show with my mom. Maybe my dad. Possibly my brother. Definatly my..
Adult Written bykayyyyliannnne July 11, 2009

it's just a show.

It's just a funny show about random stuff that you've never thought to ask. Also, a show isn't going to inflluence your kids, you are. So if they screw up, it's your parenting skills.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bypowl April 9, 2008

I scoff at over reacters.

Oh come now, this is for pure entertainment only, people who think this should be banned are people that usually think we should be watching over our kids shoulders when all we got to do is to watch our kids grow,give them support they need, allow them to make their choices, after five or six years old they should be put into a situation of the real world, they should learn that the world isn't there and doesn't live for them, to start working chores, and giving them a fair pay of money for the jobs they do, and after two or three years teach them about wants and needs, be a guide to them to put them on the right path, at the age of ten they should learn about "The birds and the bees" and talk about how to treat their fellow person with respect, and then they should be allowed to watch stuff like this at twelve or so, the modern kid is usually think and act more older than their age, and tell them what you say, and if it is illegal or not.

this show isn't bad, it's the parents that try to keep their kids innocent and pure who are, for while they control their lives, when the kid becomes eighteen he or she will go wild with freedom, so in other words a firm grip is good.
Adult Written byNo_LIke_Spike April 9, 2008

DON'T Let you kids watch this warped garbage.

Here are some of the lowlights I saw on MANswers:


1) How much alcohol you can safely binge drink before you die (Miller Beer actually sponsored this episode)

2) How to pass a drugs test even if you are on drugs or intoxicated (which is of course illegal).

3) How to remove a bullet from you body yourself so the hospital won't report you to the police (also illegal and incredibly stupid)

4) How to spot an undercover narcotics officer (they went into great detail about tips drug dealers can use to thwart DEA and law enforcement.)

5) Which animals are best to have sex with (I'm not kidding - this show went into great detail about bestiality.)


I think it's meant to be funny but it isn't. It's really just sad that garbage like this makes it onto the airwaves. All I can advise is don't watch MANswers, Spike TV, or their parent company MTV.
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

i got upset

I just watched the episode for the fisrt time actually and was totally okay with eveything ( as I am an open minded individual when it comes to sex, drugs rock & roll you could say)

However, there was segment of the show that pertained to the art or even the atual association with doing this for a living to begging/ soliciting for money as a homeless person or a person challenged in some sort of way!!

What a bunch of crap for our nation to watch, is there no morals what so ever? There are so many good people out there even if they do live a little on the edge And taking advantage and or promoting that is something that is totally unforgiven....so get it off your show and draw a line!!
Even if you want ot have a tv program that is on the edge this is no way of doing it