Kid reviews for Mr. Robot

Common Sense says

Computer-hacking antihero navigates anarchy, social anxiety.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 21 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 26 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byKwesty April 8, 2019

Teens need to be very mature

This show has some extremely dark aspects, not all teens will understand the concepts and may get a bit freaked out by it. There are also a few scenes where its essentiales porn.
I recommend that if you dont understand what it's about dont watch it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byphildone December 20, 2015

Whoa

stunning show...not gor kids or teens....all this violence nad sex is not needed for this show....it is a bit stupid, on that side

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bylizardhours February 21, 2020

Amazing Show

I started watching this show when I was 13 years old and I was not disturbed by any of the sexual content or drug use as it all made sense within the context of the show. The show raises really interesting questions about society and modern political problems. There were even moment where I felt myself disagreeing with the show itself which really intrigued me. I think its a fine show to watch.
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnanya445 February 7, 2020
I think the show is appropriate for a 15 year old. The show does include drug use and a lot of course language. It also has a couple sex scenes which are mild . The one that you should watch out for is a gay sex scene. It shows a bit more than what is usually shown however, if your child is mature enough to handle a sex scene or two then he or she should be fine. The show does shine a positive light on sex, however like I said before the scenes are mild, not showing much. If you or your child are sensitive to sex,course language, and drugs then I do not recommend that your child watch it. I think the show is very well made with Rami Malek doing an outstanding job in portraying a lonely man with clinical depression and social anxiety. If your child can handle the theme of the show then I think he or she will enjoy watching it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnanya111 February 7, 2020
I think that a 15 -year-old who is mature and can handle it. There are drugs, drinking and some sex involved. There are two sex scenes so far. I haven't finished watching the show yet so there may be more. I wouldn't call the first one a sex scene because it didn't show sex, just Elliot and Shayla(sorry for spoiling!), under the covers. The second scene however is a gay sex scene. It doesn't show too much but it is still not appropriate for children under 15. It is alright if your 15 year old knows not to do drugs and understands what is going on in the show. The show does talk about dark themes such as mental illness, drugs, crime and other similar topics. There is a pretty violent scene in the last episode of season one, but if your child can handle blood and gore he or she should be fine. If you and your child know that he/she cannot handle the themes and scenes in the show, then I suggest not watching it. I think that the show is very well made. Rami Malek did an an outstanding job portraying Elliot and the show tells you how the mind of a person with clinical depression and social anxiety would work. Yes the show is a techno thriller,however there are many emotional aspects to the show.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDairyFish July 14, 2019

What I think

Mr.Robot is a pretty good TV series about the cyber world. Yes, Mr.Robot has some sex stuff in it but it is easily skippable. The only really thing you should worry about watching this is the last episode of season 1 which has a disturbing scene that has a lot of blood. Mr.Robot also has a lot of swearing but just teach kids not to swear and it would be ok. Most of the stuff I think is appropriate to a 13 year old if you skip the sex part (It only shows a butt) But if you don't skip it, probably 14 and older.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byGoodsho June 1, 2019

Not for kids in middle school

This show is great but is for mature kids and high schoolers mainly. It is a great show to watch to learn more about cyber. But strong on language and blood, and sex and nudity is not common on this show as discribed only one sex scene that involves a gay couple

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bypewdiepiefansin... February 1, 2019

Show's good.

Show has some drugs, but not too much. Smoking, on the other hand, exists a lot, although I personally don't think it's that much of a big deal. A pretty low amount of violence is in the show, but it's not too much. Pretty hard language, which is the main reason for my rating. There are some offensive themes in the show, such as in the first episode, Elliot busts a pedophile and a man abuses a dog, or in the second episode, a woman is discovered to have been raped. It's an interesting show of some person who was abused as a kid and didn't know how to communicate. 14+ should be okay.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byaryanmalik January 17, 2018

Amazing and unique show with a complex and interesting storyline

People complain about drugs or the sex in this show but in reality it is fine for anyone over the age of 13. It is not excessive, and the drugs are a key part of the story behind the main character, and there is only one actual sex scene which only lasts a few seconds. The cinematography in this show is truly unique in its nature, and the main characters each have interesting backgrounds which all contribute to the story. The hacking is not cheesy and somewhat legitimate in most cases; the main character works in the terminal inside Kali Linux. This isn't a show where you can skip episodes or seasons, you have to watch the whole thing.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byLunaHermione December 11, 2017

Really inappropriate

This is one of my absolute favorite shows; however I feel that some people have reviewed it without watching every episode. The violence level goes up, along with language and overall scariness. The acting and plot is amazing and I highly recommend, just make sure you're ready for it. I have never seen a show with so much drug use. I can't believe the review is only 3/5; one of the main characters is a drug dealer, almost everyone uses drugs at some point and they are very explicit as to what drugs and how to take them. Nearly an entire episode is devoted to drug induced hallucinations. It also shows a negative side to drugs, but that's the only plus. Mr. Robot is one of the most clever shows I have ever seen, it's just also the most mature.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byMrFoxLovesMovies November 30, 2017

Amazing Cyber Drama / Thriller. A must for older tech savvy teens.

Wow. Where should I begin. This show is amazing. Shows extremely realistic hacking scenes. And is a real eye opener. Fantastic TV show. Amazing acting, amazing casting. A must watch for mature teens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydanlive July 26, 2017

Amazing show but most kids and young teens won't understand it

The shows is incredibly bleak and, in my opinion, most people under the age of 14 or 15 won't enjoy the show because 1. The main premise of the show is hacking and if you don't have an understanding of hacking or computer science most of the plot will fly over your head and 2. The show deals heavily with mental illness as Elliot (the shows protaganist) deals with paraniod schizophrenia and, as a way to supress it, takes to snorting morphine and later, adderall.

The show has a few violent scenes (murders, suicides), lots of language, hard drug use, various sexual scenes (BDSM/other kinks, sex, and gay sex) and illegal activities (hacking, corruption, blackmail, piracy and the production and selling of child pornography).

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byderekuy October 4, 2016

Good for teens

If your teen can handle mature references then they are good. The show only includes drugs, language and brief sex, but it doesn't show anything at all except for like half of a butt sometimes. There are some sexual references but nothing much.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bynotmrrobot125 August 23, 2016

Great show, but assess by your child's maturity

I started watching Mr. Robot at 15, and found it to be a complex, interesting show with an elaborate plotline and scintillating characters. The show is one of the greatest on TV today, but you can't deny that it is graphic. There is some blatant drug use- though in no way is it portrayed as something positive- and one particularly violent scene in the first season finale.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySos642001 August 12, 2016

Amazing

This is an amazing show I'm obsessed it does contain graphic scenes but it depends on how sensitive you are I personally didn't find them bad but some people do I think that it all depends on the person

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written byandrew_review101 August 6, 2016

ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!

Mr. Robot is one of the best shows I've ever seen. At the rate this show is going its going to win best show every year. The only problem you should have is with a couple scenes of sex which aren't very common and their is a little language but not too much. WATCH THIS SHOW!!!
Teen, 15 years old Written byKingReader August 4, 2016

Great, you should probably watch it! But Mature bruh.

It has fast paced writing, ingenious and intelligent cinematography, and the acting is fantastic in all departments. However, it is only for mature audiences, as well lets go down the list shall we:
1: Nudity/Sex :We get to see Shayla's bare butt cheeks, and I ain't really complaining as she's pretty hot, but whatever still light amounts of nudity, never full frontal, but there is messed up leathery sex, and anal intrusions.
2. Drugs:A lot of drugs are used, like morphine and other drugs.
3. Language! :There is isn't a lot of swearing but they say the f-word and sh*t a couple of times, but not like... Game of Thrones Consistent.
That's about it, it's a great show but you gotta be at least in high school to watch this stuff, but still fun and interesting! Watch it bruh!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byUsual teen August 4, 2016

Mr Robot is amazing

While on the surface it is a bad and violent show it has a role model. The main character through out this show has social anxiety but through his hacker group and friends he is learning to be more social and accept that he is different.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2016

Diamond in the Rough

I was attracted to this show because I have a strong interest in programming, code, the lot. The first episode shoves a lot in your face with some swearing and drugs. I had watched the whole season which had a lot of twists and turns, and plot twists. I will warn you to avoid episode 3, as there is a "scene" that I was caught by surprise. Anyway, there are frequent curses, drug involvement, etc. You should only watch this show if you have high morals, goals, and obviously common sense. It shows the effects of some mental disorders such as depression and social anxiety. It also shows the negative effects of drug use, so there's that. I honestly think that it there aren't any messages other than "Fighting for what you believe in".

I have titled my review as "Diamond in the Rough" because the channel it airs on (USA) only has Law and Order for all I know.

I apologize if this wasn't organized and seemed unruly.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 5, 2016

dark and depressing

Personally I enjoy the show well acted, good plot and okay characters this show I would not reccomend for kids or early teens because of the intense use of drugs violence and some sex. The character isn't exactly a role model since he's anti social and doing crushed morphine overall though I shouldn't be watching this show it's a good show for adults and older teenagers.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages