Kid reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

Common Sense says

Sweet tales of friendship have great messages for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 6+
Based on 97 reviews

Kids say

age 5+
Based on 262 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byjackskellingtonlvr February 3, 2013

Good show, some disturbing episodes with happy endings

Good for kids, steer clear of "Lesson zero" and "Party of one" with the little ones. Those are episodes where key characters go insane. No joke, it's true.
Just don't let them go online alone, as things such as "Cupcakes" and "The rainbow factory" are waiting to scare the heck out of your 5-year-olds. They are terrifying mlp fanfics, with a fair share of blood and gore.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Kid, 11 years old May 10, 2015

Good show, but beware of the fandoms

Have you read other good reviews about this? If yes, then I totally agree. Seriously even men(17 and up) watch this show. It's fine by me if boys like this, but what's frustrating is they make r34 art of this show. It's really annoying. DO NOT let your kid search "My Little Pony" or and of the character's names in Google. Something will appear on the "Also search for" bar saying the character's name and r34. They can make the ponies have breasts or even do pornographic stuff! At least that's what I've heard. In youtube, there's this fanmade MLP show called "friendship is witchcraft" and it has bad messages. The exact opposite of the show. In one episode of fiw, Luna(a character) wants to get "more sexy" and Twilight(another character) tells ponies Luna wants to improve her "sex appeal". The show(FIW) also discusses religions and demonic stuff. I hate it when people combine a show meant for 5-year-olds into these stuff! Whatever you do, DO NOT ever let your kid search for MLP pics on google or something. Then thee are the fanfics... There is even some other category of MLP fan fics called "clopfics" basically porn and ponies. SO ANNNOYING. I haven't read one(and I NEVER WILL), but I'm sure there's a lot of inapropriate stuff in there. There's also Cupcakes, and Rainbow Factory. YOur kid might think "Oh wow is that a toy?" Or something, but it's a fanfic full of blood. Cupcakes is, too. In one episode of the ACTUAL show, not fiw or anything, Rarity gets out of a mess by whining. This sends a bad message to everyone, even though the lesson is supposed to be "Anyone can do anything". The episode name is A Dog and a Pony Show it's episode 19 of season 1, and young kids might not get the message. Some fanmade MLP shows make the ponies say swear words(censored), but lots of fanfic readings do NOT censor the bad words(fanfic readings are on youtube, so for the kids who can't read... Well, don't let them hear it). Are all fandoms like this? I don't know

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysixfish11 December 2, 2011

BRONY AWAYYYYYYYYY

oh my god. i mean really. this show is somehow pure genious. LOOK AT ME IM A 13 YEAR OLD BOY AND IVE SEEN EVERY EPISODE.....AND I WAKE UP SATURDAY MORNINGS TO SEE NEW ONES. i have nothing to say but it is addicting. if you want a good kid show this is it....... buuuuut if i haaaaave to nitpick it is a little producty. it has one of the largest toy collections out there and the flashy episodes do make a "want" factor build in children. overall good show.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwaki July 3, 2011

Great for all ages.

All ages can watch this. I'm 14 yet I'm watching My Little Pony. And I'm a male.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Kid, 10 years old December 27, 2017

Yes!

A lot of people I know think MLP is too babyish. Though I agree it did get worse, it's not outright HORRIBLE. It's still great. It still TRIES. I totally recommend this to EVERYONE.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymike-numbers December 19, 2013

Men what a great show

The Best cartoon show in United States of America. Getting bigger and bigger every year.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bylafrancophile January 31, 2020

WHY DID THIS SHOW END????

My Favourite Episodes: Putting Your Hoof Down (season 2 ep 19) and The Cutie Map (season 5 ep 1 and 2.) (Oh, and both episodes in The Cutie Map are EQUALLY as good as each other! Pun Intended!! So, here's my review of MLP: OK, first of all ANYONE can watch this show. Maybe it is targeted towards young girls, but that does NOT mean that only young girls should be allowed/accepted to like it!
Secondly, if you think that a show about friendship sounds cliche, soppy and boring, then you should NOT automatically hate MLP. Sure, it is mostly about friendship in the beginning (which I don't have a problem with, though admittedly I do find the later adventures more interesting) but later on there are some really exciting adventures with powerful evil villains and characters that develop their character strengths to in order become better people - i mean ponies! I think it is a great show to frow up with, as the first episodes, which are innocent, happy and friendship based, are really nice for little kids, and the later episodes, which are not unsuitable for children but are scarier and more tense than the first episodes, are really god for older kids, and anyone else who likes MLP. There are some really good messages in every episodes.
One complaint though: WHY IS THERE NO SEASON 10!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byBen29oak September 1, 2016

Most overrated cartoon

You may think it's safe for your children, but deep down it's something your kids might squirm doing while they are watching. It's immature and overrated.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Kid, 10 years old April 21, 2014

Adorable- but teen fanbase can be offensive

This show, as you can imagine is absolutely enchanting for younger and older audiences, but I wouldn't get a young child to get to much into the fanbase. As plenty of teenagers watch the show and enjoy it well enough, they have their own little ideas that may frighten and upset younger viewers, such as 'Cupcakes'. An idea that sprung from the episode 'party of one', in which pinkie loses her spring when her friends seem to be ignoring and hiding secrets from her. In Cupcakes, people transformed Pinkie Pie into a murderer who bakes people into cupcakes. This was frightening for me, and so the younger base would be horrified. Also, the teenagers tend to incorporate sexy stuff into their ideas of the show, matching up the mane six with each other, ext. I loved the show but would make sure the kids didn't find the internet fanbase by accident. Thanks for reading,
Gothilocks.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byRoosterman June 25, 2013

Friendship is VERY magical!

This show is definitely one of my favourite animated series. I'm a brony, and trust me, it is NOT one of those stereotypical little girls shows. It is not JUST for girls, boys can enjoy it too! I was, at first, not too interested in the show. I thought it was going to be nothing more than fashion, boys etc. But once I watched it, I found it to be nothing like that. This show can entertain both kids AND adults. If the title hasn't given you a clue, the show touches on relationships with friends, which is very important for children (and older people) to learn. The setting is very tranquil and the characters are really well developed, and ultimately is very sweet. The show can get dark in some episodes, though, mainly the two-parters, that usually feature some pretty vile villains who pose actual threats to the characters and their home.
There have been some episodes that feature romance and love. One character is madly in love with one of the ponies. The show also has plenty of great songs that can keep you entertained. As for the violence, it is mainly slapstick. But in one episode, the fighting gets pretty serious and destructive. Language is nothing more than minor insults such as loser, jerk, fool etc. Kids can be educated in mythology by the various creatures encountered by the characters, that are usually from Greek, or other types of lore. Overall, this is a magnificent series to show kids of all ages and will bring joy and laughter into the hearts of younglings. Hehe... Hope this helped! :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Kid, 10 years old August 26, 2012

Cool show

A TV show suitable for children all ages! There is some positive role models, positive messages, and some educational scenes somewhere in there!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrony for life December 6, 2011

mylittleponyizm

my little pony is the best show for kids i even wacth it 12 im a brony and i love the show

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2011

A TOTALLY AWESOME SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think that this is an AWESOME show for girls under 7 and males 17 and up! One of the best shows i've ever seen (besides SpongeBob, CatDog, Adventure Time, and The Simpsons, those of which depends on wether parents thinks their kids should watch)!

Yes, I'm a brony and I'm not ashamed of it!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bygameaddictwn July 17, 2011

I love this show and i'm 16

I am in love with this show and i'm 16!!!!! And I am a horror freak!
This show just "grabs" everyone and pulls them in with its cuteness and awesomeness. Most of my friends laugh at me when I tell them I watch this show...until I show it to them. Then they are hooked. I can't understand it but this is THE BEST show EVER

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bySynchronicity July 6, 2011

Amazing cartoon deserves its whole audience, even "bronies" like myself

I'm just an average hot-blooded American male who you'd expect to play and watch hyperviolent media...and I do. In other words, I'm not exactly the intended audience for My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. And yet, on any given day, you could find me discussing with other people my age and older about how awesome this show is. For a cartoon that's based on a line of toys, it doesn't give off any sort of commercial feeling, like MLP:FIM's sister shows/toy lines Transformers and GI Joe. But unlike those two, which are literally filled with wall-to-wall action (due to their major appeal to the boy demographic), FIM has equal appeal to both boys and girls. A key reason? Lauren Faust. I grew up in the tail-end of Generation Y when shows such as Codename: Kids Next Door, The Powerpuff Girls and Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends all reigned supreme (and Cartoon Network didn't degrade into the accelerated black hole it is now, but that's beside the point.) While those three shows were occasionally inappropriate for young kids due to defiance against authority, violence and innuendo (respectively), they all had amazing amounts of talent behind them, including Lauren Faust. This transfers over to Friendship is Magic effortlessly, and this sense of nostalgia, along with well-developed characters, jokes and references that are snarky but in an innocent way, and good messages all combine to form an awesome show that just needs to be watched by everyone. The only thing to worry about is some minor aggression by characters who are presented as mean to begin with. But such incidents are few and far between (the Diamond Dogs episode is a good example). I'll end with a word of warning: while youngsters should stay away from YouTube, 4chan, deviantART and TV Tropes (well, some parts of the latter two) to begin with, the fact that the fandom of FIM is so rampant and widespread makes it difficult to search up the show on Google, Bing or whatever without running into some objectionable content some fans put together, like the aforementioned fanfics, image macros, 300 and Inglourious Basterds parodies, etc. But every major cartoon/TV show has that sort of audience (called a Periphery Demographic); heck, I don't think that little kids should look up their favorites for that very reason. Keeping that in mind, though, the SHOW is perfectly okay for anyone old enough to watch TV, everypony. (Brony for life. XD)

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byKevin201101 July 7, 2020

Good for kids

It’s pretty good from 2 to 8!! But after teens wont really care about my little pony!!!
Kid, 9 years old June 20, 2020

Good Role Models

This show focuses on many great and valuable lessons. They teach kids that no matter what happens in life, friendships always overpowers.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCandy gil June 11, 2020

Can 15 Age watch this my little pony shows

I love it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byXthemystic June 10, 2020

a kids perspective

I can see where the more negative ones come from, but I personally think they probably haven't seen it from season 1 in order.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAbdefguy June 9, 2020

:)

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is an excellent tv series that teaches the value of Friendship. Some episodes are more violent then others and can have disturbing themes (Lesson Zero, Party Of One) but overall it is an amazing show. Do not let your child go on the internet for My Little Pony. The adults that watch this show make very explicit content and post it online...

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages