Parent reviews for NCIS

Common Sense says

Upbeat but average crime show with blood, bodies.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 33 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 105 reviews
Adult Written byMatt19 June 28, 2019

My favourite crime drama of all time!

The original NCIS series is a fantastic crime drama with great character role models throughout the series. However the series is not for children and young teens under 18 because of intense bloody violence with plenty of gore. Shootings, stabbings, bombings and torture are all common crimes in the series. The BBFC need to rate this series 18, not 15. 15-17 year olds are still too young to see the series. Re-rate it 18!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written bydragonrich9 December 21, 2010
I am watching the episode tht shown at 8 a,m, the boss chases after the criminal at the station, he should take care himself before have himself killed.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Parent of a 11 and 15-year-old Written bygabajoran September 18, 2009
I've let my kids watch most episodes of NCIS. I usually preview first if it's a PG14. I'll sometimes restrict it. To be honest, the violence doesn't bother me too much. What I like about this crime drama over so many others, is that the people have integrity and honor. They care. Too often today the bad guys win anyway. Not on NCIS. One character is a very smart goth with a heart of gold. One is an ex-marine who lost his wife and child to a murderer. One is an Israeli working with US navy employees. Other characters are also quirky which makes the show funny. The show has some stereotyping but it seems to promote story lines that actually break those down. Promoting hard work and science is always a good thing. Overall I see the show as positive.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bylaya086 February 8, 2021

lit the bets

the best show i have ever watched. watch ittttttt. i mean it. youll like it.
i recommend 13+ unless you child is mature then you should be ok with 10+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySupermomxxx November 9, 2020

Amazing

I love it I let my 9 year old son watch it and he is hooked. It has some cussing and a lot of violence. I recommend it to kids who like crime shows.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byTre7up April 3, 2020

Ncis a lot of good life lessons

Ncis is a show that while focusing on sex alittle more than I like for my kids has many many good life lessons weaved into each story. It has a family friendly vibe because of their loyalty to each other and their respect for each other. Also the characters go through a lot of growth over the seasons to become better people.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written by[email protected] November 25, 2018

Don't take NCIS off the air

Love the show regardless as to who comes and who goes. Very little gore, very little sensuality and ALOT of good morals. Keep reeling in the new cast members, don't take Gibbs. Actually it is good now. Visits from previous cast would be cool.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byfatjOe October 24, 2018

it is very good show ok?

this show is good for ur kidsss..... very good education and it teach about how to take care of good people and be good human...

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byMatt B. April 1, 2018

Like all the other crime shows it contains violence.

This is milder than some of the other crime shows. It should be OK for 12+.
Adult Written byNassir L. January 3, 2018

One of the best TV shows ever !

With 15 seasons so far this show is definitely one of the best dramas ever created. Still with the bodies, the blood, the complexity of the investigations and the humour, it might be a little too much for young teens.
Parent of a 17-year-old Written byDesiree O. May 20, 2017

Awesome Series

I have watched NCIS since it first aired and I have not missed an episode, I hope it stays on the air for a long time. The only NCIS I could not watch is NCIS: Las Angeles and NCIS: New Orleans, love the cast on all, but NCIS is my show.
Adult Written byjulialynn July 7, 2016

Missing Good Plots Through The Last Three Years

Parents should be aware of the elements of good TV shows such as characterization and plot so the aspects of characters can be discussed as they relate to the plot. In this way, parents can discuss what is happening in the episode and how the characters react to conflict. Good conversations between parents and teens can keep the relationships going while watching NCIS together. One problem with the show is that plot development has been deteriorating for the past three years, and sometimes the show can be dull and boring and teens lose interest. The show used to have interesting storylines along with character development but hasn't since the character Ziva left. The last episode of season 13 affecting the closure of the Ziva and Tony characters presented the possibility of parents discussing with their teens how relationships come to an end and that endings might not always be a very happy ones, but adults can cope with loss and make better lives for themselves and their children. That final episode held much interest, moved quickly through the tension between the plot and characters and ended on a better note for the series.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bynewtftmcgee December 17, 2015

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byjordynannee February 21, 2015
Adult Written bywakaa010 May 20, 2012

Highly recommended

This show is amazing, love it! They do show dead bodies which may be too much for some people, but it's usually not too bad. The plot lines are presented in a professional manner, but there are also hints of comedy as well!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byeclap3 February 13, 2012

Great show - for teens and adults

I love this show, however there are many gruesome scenes (eg. removed eyes, divsembowled bodies, vomit) also there are many autopsy scenes but they arent too bad. there are also suggestive language and a small amount of swearing. But is a great show and if you're willing to sit with your kids its (in most cases) a decent show to watch with them, thats if they want to watch it though, most of the jokes children probably wouldnt get and i just dont think that kids would like it anyway. But i watch it with my 16 year old and she loves it.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 5, 10, and 15-year-old Written byasdfgfa October 8, 2011

I guess its ok...

My 10 and 15 year old love this show... I let them both watch it, they watch about 3 episode every night and one in the morning... It may get a little bloody at times, but mainly its ok... They always solve the mystery and there is a twist to every episode that keeps you on the edge of your seat.. Awesome!!!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byMi3 February 2, 2011

five stars

violence, language, sexual humer. good show.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byShivs January 2, 2011
I love NCIS and watch it all the time. The plots of episodes are interesting, but not too hard to follow and their details make for an engaging experience. The characters are also interesting and enjoyable. The humour in NCIS counteracts the angst and tension of the crimes. Young kids should watch out for bloody gunfights and gory autopsies and crime scenes.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Positive role models
Adult Written bysarahkay89 November 17, 2010

Enjoyable show. Good for adults or teens, not children

I really like this show for me, but would not suggest for young teens.
I enjoy the 'action and mystery' elements of the show, as well as the relationships of all the characters and how they interact with each other.
Every episode as violence and mild swearing.
Dead corpses are props in nearly every episode, which I don't really like because it degrades the human body to being just another piece of evidence, instead of viewing it as a 'life' (which I get that NCIS has to be non-emotional to do their job, but still...)
As far as sexual content, there is frequent sexual innuendos between the characters, occasionally you see a character in bed with a partner (not necessarily a graphic scene, just big implications).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language

Pages