All parent member reviews for Orange Is the New Black

Parents say

(out of 16 reviews)
age 16+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 19 year old Written byValdoria September 25, 2013
 

Sad exploitation of women even in a woman's film

Why they need to make women get naked for this movie is beyond me. Tell the story, don't prostitute the actresses.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013
 

awesome!

The movie has positive messages and role models. The show has some violence, there is some scenes of lesbian sex, there is graphic language and a scene of a toilet made alcoholic beverage, there are corrupt prison guards who sell drugs to some inmates. The show has a very good story and is worth the watch
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14, 18, and 18 year old Written bySaima1111111 June 22, 2014
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 9, 2014
 

Fewer shows capture such great drama and comedy

Before I start the 2nd season, which I hear is already incredible, I wanted to come on here and just gush about "OITNB" for a bit. The performances are all around fantastic, especially Piper, played with humanity and an underlying sadness by breakout Taylor Schilling. To list my favorites: Red, Larry, Nicky and Pornstache. All colorful characters with extremely colorful language that never fail to entertain. This is certainly adult and older teenage drama, and there could never be anything like it on cable...maybe HBO, but not cable! Binge on it now so you'll be in the loop!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant year old Written bykatiem3 June 18, 2015
 

Pornography integrated as a normal part of entertainment

Just because popular media says its ok, doesn't mean seeing the pornographic images and learning the hypersexualized "reality" of this show will not harm your children and yourself. Those images can't be erased and there's no clear warning of what you'll be exposed to anywhere except for "MA" on the description page. Maturity has nothing to do with it. No matter how mature a person is, the brain isn't made to casually view porographic images and NOT be impacted. My family can't enjoy the story because of all the sex, masturbation, and other explicit ideas in this show. Sorry.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bynoellel December 23, 2014
 

Inappropriate

Completely inappropriate on so many levels. Why allow this filth into your home. We need positive shows especially with how society is deteriorating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bybugmq July 31, 2014
 

Anti Christian

STOP DEFAMING THE NAME OF JESUS CHRIST
Adult Written byJust Another Re... June 29, 2015
 

An interesting view on women's prison

Though there is a lot of grit, it is a really great show with a lot of learning opportunities. I am 13 years old and I am currently on season 2. Though I am told I am extremely mature for my age, it's has a very heavy plot. I believe that some of my piers wouldn't be able to watch it. The characters, though different, are all pretty vulgar and raunchy. Their lives and stories are exceptionally raw and sometimes unsuitable for viewers of a younger age. Language like sh*t, f*ck, c*nt, b*tch, and p*ssy are used very often in every episode. There is also a lot of "lesbian activity" as they call it in the show, and full nudity, mostly women but occasionally men. Aside from all of that, the stories of a women's prison are incredible AND educational. Most people don't know a thing about prison, even if they may think they do. It can really warn someone at any age to stay out of trouble, because these womens' lives are not pretty, to say the least. I would ENCOURAGE anyone over the age of 13 to watch it, as it is rich with educational value. Again, it is racy, but worth it. And parents, you might want to talk to your kids to make sure they understand and they aren't confused about anything that they might see that is a bit over their heads, or at least be ready for the conversation.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byheybrittany June 14, 2015
Parent of a 12, 12, and 14 year old Written byEveG June 20, 2014
 
I thought the second season of this was much better actually. More positive female characters. It's a rough show, but...it is about prison. If you watch it with your teen (I think females could relate more), it is good for discussions and talking about choices, etc. If you are very uncomfortable with lesbian sex and intimacy, this show is not for you! (because there is a LOT). It does really show direct consequences and outcomes of decisions, both negative & positive.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygoodingame July 8, 2015
 

Needs to be taken off Netflix

I was disgusted by the amount of sex and graphics shown during those scenes there are, and then I saw the porn scene. These scenes are so detailed and graphic. The label 'MA' does not prepare anyone. This is beyond MA and it should be taken off Netflix for just anyone to see. I was disgusted by it but when I saw the actual porn scene showed on the television in Pennsatucky's room, that is when I snapped. I had to say something. This is not okay. The writers should be ashamed of themselves as should Netflix. Just because this content is on tv doesn't make it at all okay.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMarymargaretrocks July 7, 2015
 

Revolting, disgusting, and outrageous.

I cannot BELIEVE this is considered okay to just be put out there for anyone to watch. Anyone in any family who has Netflix (pretty much every family in America) can watch this show- whether it be 5 or 15. It's appalling in my opinion and I am disgusted by the writers' outlook on this. They seem to be obscenely obsessed with sex and porn. There is not one scene that doesn't have sex in it. Oh, not to mention a literal porn scene was shown on the TV in that one meth head's flashback. Her and her boyfriend were in her room, watching porn, and it showed the porn that they were watching. How is this considered 'okay'? Is this our society now? That just because porn and sex and nudity is shown on TV that is makes it totally acceptable? I'm okay with occasional nudity, but this is a prison show for heaven's sakes. The focus isn't even on prison, the focus is sex, sex, and oh, maybe a little more sex. The fact that they are in a prison and are able to have sex any time anywhere without consequences shows that the writers of this show have no idea of anything they are writing about. If you are in prison, typically, (just from what I've heard)... You cannot have sex whenever you please. It's prison. Not summer camp, which is what the writers make it appear to be. I've heard people say "prison looks so fun, I wanna go now". Prison is NOT fun. The writers of OITNB have no idea what it's actually like. They are clueless. Prison is supposed to be awful, they make it look like the best free hotel in the state. It's absurd. Making prison look like the best place to be, GLORIFYING it. What is wrong with America these days that we can't see this is wrong? Also, Poussey gets drunk and they just blow it off like nothing. "Are you drunk, Poussey? You're stupid." How do you get drunk in prison??! Tell me that? How? Everything about this show is fake and repugnant. Me and my mom love watching crime/prison shows together, but this just crosses every line. It's not about prison, it's about sex, porn, and nudity. And making prison seem like the place to be. Why are the writers so mesmerized by the idea of sex that they have to have it in every single scene of the series? Doesn't that get tiring? A lot of people I know have stopped watching it because of how revolting it is. It's disgusting. I can't stand it, or the writers, or the actors. There is way too much sex for this to be a prison show. It's prison. It's not the strip club. The writers are so clueless and horrid to write this kind of stuff that it's actually terrifying.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjuliam337 July 24, 2015
 

Definitely not for kids

It's a very entertaining show, but especially the first couple seasons seemed to be as focused on being soft-core porn as it did on having a plot. Some of the sex scenes were far too explicit for kids under 15 in my opinion. The themes of right and wrong, drug use and crime seemed to be presented in a way that parents could use as a way to talk to their older kids (tweens/teens) about those issues, but the sex scenes were too graphic to be worth it. There is a pretty nasty rape scene in the third season too which was upsetting for me as an adult.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoonlightā˜½ July 17, 2015
 
Hilarious and touching. Alot of the messages/story lines are honest and powerful. There is some violence and alot of sex scenes but the show is amazing overall.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMom of 03 June 26, 2015
 

Don't watch with children

Many people commenting on this post are children themselves. Stick with the recommended guidance. THIS IS NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER AGE. WAY TOO MUCH SEX. TV MA.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byNathan009 November 18, 2014
 

Amazing

The series is one of the best. It really captures what happens inside a women's instertute.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing