All parent member reviews for Orange Is the New Black

Parents say

(out of 18 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Parent of a 19 year old Written byValdoria September 25, 2013

Sad exploitation of women even in a woman's film

Why they need to make women get naked for this movie is beyond me. Tell the story, don't prostitute the actresses.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013

awesome!

The movie has positive messages and role models. The show has some violence, there is some scenes of lesbian sex, there is graphic language and a scene of a toilet made alcoholic beverage, there are corrupt prison guards who sell drugs to some inmates. The show has a very good story and is worth the watch
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14, 18, and 18 year old Written bySaima1111111 June 22, 2014
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 9, 2014

Fewer shows capture such great drama and comedy

Before I start the 2nd season, which I hear is already incredible, I wanted to come on here and just gush about "OITNB" for a bit. The performances are all around fantastic, especially Piper, played with humanity and an underlying sadness by breakout Taylor Schilling. To list my favorites: Red, Larry, Nicky and Pornstache. All colorful characters with extremely colorful language that never fail to entertain. This is certainly adult and older teenage drama, and there could never be anything like it on cable...maybe HBO, but not cable! Binge on it now so you'll be in the loop!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant year old Written bykatiem3 June 18, 2015

Pornography integrated as a normal part of entertainment

Just because popular media says its ok, doesn't mean seeing the pornographic images and learning the hypersexualized "reality" of this show will not harm your children and yourself. Those images can't be erased and there's no clear warning of what you'll be exposed to anywhere except for "MA" on the description page. Maturity has nothing to do with it. No matter how mature a person is, the brain isn't made to casually view porographic images and NOT be impacted. My family can't enjoy the story because of all the sex, masturbation, and other explicit ideas in this show. Sorry.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bynoellel December 23, 2014

Inappropriate

Completely inappropriate on so many levels. Why allow this filth into your home. We need positive shows especially with how society is deteriorating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygoodingame July 8, 2015

Needs to be taken off Netflix

I was disgusted by the amount of sex and graphics shown during those scenes there are, and then I saw the porn scene. These scenes are so detailed and graphic. The label 'MA' does not prepare anyone. This is beyond MA and it should be taken off Netflix for just anyone to see. I was disgusted by it but when I saw the actual porn scene showed on the television in Pennsatucky's room, that is when I snapped. I had to say something. This is not okay. The writers should be ashamed of themselves as should Netflix. Just because this content is on tv doesn't make it at all okay.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byheybrittany June 14, 2015
Adult Written byJust Another Re... June 29, 2015

An interesting view on women's prison

Though there is a lot of grit, it is a really great show with a lot of learning opportunities. I am 13 years old and I am currently on season 2. Though I am told I am extremely mature for my age, it's has a very heavy plot. I believe that some of my piers wouldn't be able to watch it. The characters, though different, are all pretty vulgar and raunchy. Their lives and stories are exceptionally raw and sometimes unsuitable for viewers of a younger age. Language like sh*t, f*ck, c*nt, b*tch, and p*ssy are used very often in every episode. There is also a lot of "lesbian activity" as they call it in the show, and full nudity, mostly women but occasionally men. Aside from all of that, the stories of a women's prison are incredible AND educational. Most people don't know a thing about prison, even if they may think they do. It can really warn someone at any age to stay out of trouble, because these womens' lives are not pretty, to say the least. I would ENCOURAGE anyone over the age of 13 to watch it, as it is rich with educational value. Again, it is racy, but worth it. And parents, you might want to talk to your kids to make sure they understand and they aren't confused about anything that they might see that is a bit over their heads, or at least be ready for the conversation.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 14 year old Written byAnnie Cowe October 25, 2015

Let them

Everybody is complaining about the sex, but many parents don't realize how much sex is on the internet and life. All around you there is sex: in movies, advertising, ect. Keeping your child from watching a few shows wont stop them from knowing what sex is. If your teen already knows what sex is there is nothing left to hide in this show. The amount of perspective and deterrent from prison and the unique story shouldn't be taken from your teen because of a few breasts shown once every 3 episodes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12, 12, and 14 year old Written byEveG June 20, 2014
I thought the second season of this was much better actually. More positive female characters. It's a rough show, but...it is about prison. If you watch it with your teen (I think females could relate more), it is good for discussions and talking about choices, etc. If you are very uncomfortable with lesbian sex and intimacy, this show is not for you! (because there is a LOT). It does really show direct consequences and outcomes of decisions, both negative & positive.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjuliam337 July 24, 2015

Definitely not for kids

It's a very entertaining show, but especially the first couple seasons seemed to be as focused on being soft-core porn as it did on having a plot. Some of the sex scenes were far too explicit for kids under 15 in my opinion. The themes of right and wrong, drug use and crime seemed to be presented in a way that parents could use as a way to talk to their older kids (tweens/teens) about those issues, but the sex scenes were too graphic to be worth it. There is a pretty nasty rape scene in the third season too which was upsetting for me as an adult.
Adult Written byPerryPerry December 26, 2015

Marvellous, younger viewers will not get the full experience and understanding, but amazing

This show is fantastic and the only 1+ hour show that I have committed to watching because of the quality. While I found some characters to make the story drag, the amount of quality and well developed characters cancels them out. The show destroys many of the stereotypes plagued in society, and has shed light on many issues including the stigma towards LGBT individuals. However if I was a parent, I would never let anyone under 17 to watch this show. The adult themes are not bad. The problem would be that a younger viewer doesn't have the correct context in order to watch this show properly, even with parental guidance. That however is dependant on your child and not one size fits all. I also wouldn't see it as much of a family show. I've always found the show to be very intimate, and one I mostly watched either alone or with a friend. However once 'of age', this is a fantastic show and is worth a watch, even if prison shows are not your cup of tea, I know they usually aren't for me, but Orange Is The New Black is an exception. Enjoy!!!
Parent of a 15 year old Written byAmy Jones October 25, 2015

Good for teens

It sends good messages that show how bad prison can be. Its entertaining because of the bad things that happen and teaches kids to stay out of jail for the same reason
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byLucy Hall October 25, 2015

Its about the kid

As long as you have a teen that's old enough to understand sex and what's going on I feel there is no real problem. The show has nudity and language but it doesn't center around it. If your child doesn't curse already I doubt this will change them. For the nudity part, I think that they don't show nudity often and when they do they don't focus on it. Piper Chapman is a character your teen can look to to see the effect prison can have on you and how it can change such an innocent character. The rest of the cast aren't the best role models but regret what they did. Th e show is a very popular show with a huge underlying story that a teen can understand.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoonlight☽ July 17, 2015
Hilarious and touching. Alot of the messages/story lines are honest and powerful. There is some violence and alot of sex scenes but the show is amazing overall.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMom of 03 June 26, 2015

Don't watch with children

Many people commenting on this post are children themselves. Stick with the recommended guidance. THIS IS NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER AGE. WAY TOO MUCH SEX. TV MA.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byNathan009 November 18, 2014

Amazing

The series is one of the best. It really captures what happens inside a women's instertute.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing