Kid reviews for Orange Is the New Black

Common Sense says

Quality true-story prison dramedy with sex, strong language.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 45 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 111 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written bypollohermano5. June 20, 2015

Orange Is the new Black

To start off, people need to know that oitnb is one of the best tv shows out right now...if you have yet to see it, go watch it. It is truly unbelievable (I finished season 3 literally 10 minutes ago). Being 14, I think you should be 13 to watch Orange. Yes, it has bad language. Yes, it has sex. Yes, it has drugs. But by the time a child is 13, they know everything already, and if they aren't watching through Orange, they are definitely watching it or seeing it through something else, and that I know, no matter how much you think you know your child. You just have to make sure your teenager, or younger, is mature enough, and almost all by the age of 13 are. Parents don't realize how comfortable there kids are by 13, and think they still don't get dirty sex jokes and all that jazz. But we do. As long as your kid doesn't, for example, giggle when they see boobs or someone says boobs, they are fine. People make a much bigger deal about language and sex than they should. It's a part of life...why are you trying to hide it?

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2016

Kids know more then adults think.

I've seen lots of reviews on here about how this is inappropriate for even teenagers. But I think parents should take a step back because you don't realise that kids know a lot more than you think. For example, I'm only 12 but I think OITNB is great! I may pause it if my mum comes in the room because of the language, but it's not going to make me start swearing. As for the sex and nudity, it's not more than I or any teen doesn't know and it's not exactly going to disturb or effect me.
There's not much violence except for some suspenseful fights and the rare death, but nothing scary.
As for content, as I said, it has an amazing story line with well thought out characters, and has lots of dark humour as well as emotional scenes.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySybTaco August 21, 2014

Great! For mature audiences.

OINTB (orange is the new black) is a great show. Amazing actors, plot, and writing. The cast is very talented, the concept of the show has many lessons about life, and the writing flows perfectly to keep you on the edge of your seat. I started watching this, I'm 13. But, I know not all kids or teens can watch more mature shows. The show includes nudity, frequent swearing, and lesbian/straight material (sexual scenes) it only shows breast and behinds nothing else. However the story revolves around drugs, except unlike most shows, it's not encouraging about drugs. In fact, I believe it can teach the consequences of drugs. Piper (main character) was in love with a female drug dealer, and carried the drug money for her. 10 years later, she went to prison for it. Even though it was 10 years ago. She was charged about a year, and the show is about her year in prison. It also includes other inmates stories which also include lessons. The show is inappropriate, but great for teens and adults. The best part it's based on the true story of Piper Kerman. The show is her about her actual year in prison. I wouldn't reccomend 10 and under (or even 12 or 13 year olds) but above that if they can handle watching inappropriate shows without being encouraged then overall it's a great and funny show to watch.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byhagrid21 June 8, 2014

New favorite show!

After downing Season Two this weekend, OITNB has truly proven itself as a highbrow dramedy. Though there can be nudity, sexual situations, and strong violence and language, the show is so real and relatable. And that's where it gets you. Also, the fact that an 8 year old wrote a review on this show is insane. Nice parenting.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAriana507 October 11, 2014

BEST SHOW ON NETFLIX.

I'm fourteen years old and I love this show. I'm way to young to watch it, but my mom is fine with it and I often watch it with her, she loves it too. This show is a comedy. But it has a lot of sex, cursing, and drugs. The main character piper, is in prison for smuggling heroine. There is a lot of lesbian sex, then there is also sex with piper and her fiancé, and other men and women having sex. VERY DETAILED. This isn't scary at all, but sometimes has depressing and sad parts. One person is hung in the first season, in the second season finale a person is hit with a car, which could be frightening or scary to some. There is a few fights.
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Tv Addict September 25, 2014

Amazingly done show has lots of "sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll"

This show has lots of lesbian sex and some drug use. Actually a lot of kids my age watch this show but it is definitely R rated. There is actually lots of positive role models showing feminism, heroine, and etc. This show is a very well written show and recommend it to any one 13+.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byx.o._.x.o August 30, 2016

For mature minds, but can be for different ages.

So I personally love this show. Yes it does have mature content, however, I am 13 but have grow up with only people older than me. So I've grow to be more mature then most people my age. Yea it does show nudity. But it's not like we've never seen them in tv, movies, and other media. Also all/most children have seen their mothers nude. Wether that's breast feeding or whatever. We will all see it at some point. I've seen myself what's the difference. They're older? They're more mature body wise? But just I don't think it's a big deal. Its not horrible. People ages ago didnt even have clothes, people, children, everyone saw everyone nude! Its not like it's any different. That's all I have to say. I how you see the show a little different and this helped you.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bytylerkippert September 22, 2013

Hilarious Comedy About Prison Also Has Heart

Orange is the New Black is a comedy about a woman's time spent in a prison. This show is strictly for mature audiences only. Since it's on Netflix, they can get away with practically anything on this show. Every curse word you can think of is uttered. Violence isn't too frequent, but when it is, it's graphic (regular prison fights, one graphic fight that has teeth and blood shooting out one's mouth). The sexual content is heavy for sex scenes are shown in and out of prison. Drugs are a main theme in this show mainly because that's how people got in prison. Illegal drugs are imported into the prison and prisoners find ways around getting alcohol.
Overall, this is an excellent show. Highly recommended- but viewer discretion advised

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 25, 2015

Great for teens

i think that this tv show is suitable for teens or kids ages 12+. Even though it does contain some sexual scenes the overall plot is very interesting and gives an insight into how life is inside a women's prison. Although some parents may think it's a concern, I personally don't think it's a problem. A lot of my friends watch it and we are 13 years old. Sometimes i even watch it with my family

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byElliewest777 May 4, 2015

Amazing

DEFINITELY NOT FOR KIDS. There is occasional nudity, sex, and profanity but it's an awesome show. Super hilarious, dynamic characters, and a unique storyline. It's a must watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bypopking565 August 16, 2014

Insightful Netflix drama dives deep into the world behind the bars of prison..

This is one of those shows where you really got to know your kid. OITNB is going to be one of those shows everyone's going to want to see to be on the bandwagon, when it has a lot of iffy material. Mainly, the issue is the sex which is mostly put in for thick plots and shock value, but it rarely occurs during the first season. Each new episode delves into the inmates back stories and let's you determine their innocence. I'm mature for my age, which gives me the power to watch this without giggling, but I should let you know there are pictures of a vagina and penis early on, that might shock of disturb you. But overall, it teaches everyone that we all make mistakes and are all discriminated for what makes us different, which is a good thing to build off of in your future, while still being able to crack up at a Russian chef! :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlue Crayon August 2, 2014

Good show, bad stuff

I've read some of the other reviews made by kids and must say that you should never ever look at kids reviews ever again. This show is incredibly inappropriate, but very good. I personally love this show but... You see adult things. Lets be serious, It is a show about a women's prison. In almost every scene/Conversation the word F**k or Sh*t, even Pu**y is said. There are racist scenes, sexual scenes (with insane amounts of nudity, like you see everything), drug dealing, killing, fighting, rape, and a lot more.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bynaomixoxo July 22, 2014

Worth It

Yes there is sex and nudity but not as much as you may think. nudity comes up on occasion but you usually only see it for a couple seconds seconds. As for the sex it's all part of prison drama it's not insanely graphic like porn either. It doesn't happen often either. there are sexual "references" more often than sex. violence is minimal and drug use isn't necessarily inappropriate. The plot line is amazing and the characters are impecable. loaded with life lessons as well. Great great show I would recommend to anyone who can handle seeing a boob once in a while. I've seen worse in sex ed in school. the sex and nudity is overbearing and it's totally worth it because the show is so interesting

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byJustLiveLife July 4, 2014

Maturity and Awareness are Key

The show has an AMAZING plot line and every single character is incredibly developed and thought out. I could not stress how much I recommend the show - to those who are able to take it. Obviously there is strong language, nudity, etc. as should be expected. Children raised by parents who did not allow any of this and did not teach their child that bad words and sex exist should probably not venture into this side of television. I'm sure Disney Channel has some lovely shows for them. As a 16 year old - this being the age I am and the age I watched it first - I've seen quite a few r-rated films, most notably the American Pie series which is one of my favorite comedy film series in existence. My parents know this show exists and are aware that I watch it, while neither has seen it, but my sister, who is 26, and her husband are big fans of the show and I have watched it in her presence. In all honesty, unless you or your child has been raised under a rock, there isn't much to be afraid of. Teenagers know this stuff exists. So long as you're aware that this is what you're getting into when you start watching the show, it's absolutely, 100% worth it to watch and I'm sure you'll love the plot and characters.
P.S. As I've marked "great role models" I'm going to explain the fact that even though they are in a women's prison - so the characters aren't all "great" role models, the idea behind it is that - especially for girls who know the boundaries - they are very strong women characters for the most part and even outside of that the actresses are all amazing.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byeloisep16 June 26, 2014

Not for younger kids, but absolutely amazing

I love this show, it's hilarious and heartfelt. But there is a lot of nudity, and sex, and language, and some violence. But if your kid or you are mature, it's no biggie. It's a really great show with a positive portrayal of LGBT+ characters, which is sadly pretty rare. It's well worth a watch.
Teen, 14 years old Written bycatperson June 6, 2014

Great show if your mature enough.

This show is for mature people yes theres brests showing in scenes and some straight and lesbian sexual content but other than that it has a great plot. I think that mature teens could watch this but as a guide line to go by if your child giggles if someone says brest they should not be watching this.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byfroggy.milf May 13, 2021

Trigger Warnings! Pros & Cons

Pros:
- Lots of LGBTQIA+ representation
- Lots of representation of POC
- Lots of representation of neurodiversity
- Shows a realistic representation of life in prison
- Many good role models and strong healthy friendships, prison families
- Very funny characters and storylines!
- Overall a great show i recommend it so much!

Cons/Trigger Warnings:
- Major rape trigger warning! There are graphic scenes and discussions of rape which i do not recommend if you have trauma regarding that.
- Eating disorder trigger warning! Talks of dieting and Piper Chapman is being starved when she begins at the prison. She is not starving herself but it may be triggering for you.
- Self harm trigger warning! There are scenes of people cutting themselves and one woman burns herself as a result of her PTSD.
- Racism, homophobia, and transphobia trigger warning! There are race wars with inmates chanting "White lives matter", a black inmate is killed by a guard, slurs such as dyk3, tr4nny and f4ggot (I am a nonbinary lesbian) are used by straight people, and a transgender woman is locked in solitary confinement for no reason.
- Drugs, alcohol and smoking trigger warning! This does include overdoses, so be careful x
- There is murder, torture, and graphic violence to be aware of before watching.
- Sex scenes and swearing - if you are a parent do be aware of this, however i guarantee this will not bother your kid. They will already be aware of sex and swearing and will hear about it/ hear it from friends and classmates anyways. The nudity should not be worrying, seeing as your child has seen bodies before and i guarrantee it will not bother them.

This is one of the best shows and I recommend it so much!!! I began watching when i was 13 and it did not bother me but be careful if you are sensitive and/or have trauma. I hope you love the show and have a good day! Remember to eat today and drink water, love you! :)
Teen, 13 years old Written bykcuub February 20, 2021

enjoyed this show

my parents told me “dont watch this its very inappropriate” i ended up watching it anyways and i enjoyed it. honestly if u are under 15 and wanna watch it go ahead im not gonna stop u lol, but they were definitely right about it being inappropriate it has a lot of sex mostly in the first couple of seasons. drugs were also commonly seen and mentioned throughout this show, there is mentions of rape and also some deaths mostly the cause is them over dosing. no the emotions i had while watching this show was all over the place at first i would hate someone then love them, i did a lot of crying in the later seasons tho. anyways i love this show definitely in my top 5 favorite

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written bySuzzyPotatoe January 1, 2021

For mature audiences

Yes the show can be highly inappropriate in sex, drugs, language, and etc. let kids watch it, as long as they don't do any of these things (which we won't) so be it. And also we know much more than you know and definitely more than you all give us credit for.
Teen, 14 years old Written byharrypotterfilmfan December 20, 2020

Excellent, mature prison drama

Based on the true story of Piper Kerman, the story of her on-screen equivalent Piper Chapman is just a jumping off point for many better and more interesting characters. What is so shocking is that through a series of excellently constructed backstories and flashbacks, placed intricately through the story as needed to illustrate the lives, personalities and what moulded these women to become federal prisoners. It is a long, long show with many tragedies and successes, and the numerous storylines are tied up nicely through the often 90 minute season finales. There is a lot of sex, much of it quite graphic, and the violence is sporadic, but can be disturbing at times. Finally, there is some references to and shown drug use (including a scene where three of the main characters take crack in the middle of a corn field). Despite this, it is an excellent show with brilliant underlying messages of acceptance and diversity, and really does question what justice and the word criminal can be defined as.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff

Pages