All teen and kid member reviews for Parks and Recreation

Kids say

(out of 31 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bypunkrocker July 1, 2009

Hilarious for older kids

THIS IS THE FUNNIEST SHOW EVER! It's one of my favorite shows and I think that kids should be able to watch it. Kids younger than 10 probably wouldn't get the jokes but I think it's apropriatte for basically any age. It's really funny. I LOVE AMY POEHLER! I love how she just turns any situation around in this show. cough *positive messages* cough.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byjohnthemon February 6, 2011

Not nearly as bad as the main reviewer says

This show is pretty clean, and mostly quite family friendly. And did I mention it's hilarious? Recommended for basically everyone 10 and up
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 6, 2015

great show!

i love this show. there's dirty parts sometimes but nothing too serious.
Teen, 13 years old Written byChloester23 July 27, 2015

It's fine!

I have watched this show since it started... So since I was 6 I guess. And it is totally and completely fine! Any joke they made was right over my head but now when I re watch them they are so funny! I cried when the farewell season came to an end. Anyway my point is it is the best show I've ever seen... I've seen every episode 13 times! I'm kinda addicted
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byakirschner June 20, 2015

Hilarious show!

Really the only issue with this show is some sexual innuendos. Most episodes are fine, but some are a little questionable for a tv-pg. On some occasions they have blurred nudity (mostly comical), and bleeped swearing (infrequent). Kids 13 and up would be able to handle this show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 18, 2012

Amy P. Does a Comedy That Wins! :)

Parks and Recreation has iffy side effects but altogether a GREAT show. LANGUAGE: a$$, bit*h, da*m and bleeped words like f*** and s*** and surprisingly c***. SEX: One night stands and talks of getting laid. Tom is constantly hitting on "chicks" and has or had a green card marriage. He is like a slightly more inappropriate Zack from Suite Life. DRINKING: Wine, beer, and talks of "Hey wanna get drunk!" at times of stress. Amy is lovable and is very positive along with her friends who can sometimes be mean ( Especially a bleak assistant who is not happy or positive ever) but always stand by her. Mature viewers will enjoy this greatly!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysandi96 February 23, 2011

Ok for 8+

my little sis sometimes watches it and although she doesnt understand the full storyline, she loves the immediate jokes
Kid, 12 years old January 1, 2011

13 and Up Seems Just About On

From what I've seen of it, this one's great.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byFathomT February 25, 2015

Best comedy on TV

This is easily the smartest comedy on TV right now. The show has a great ensemble of colorful characters, almost as colorful as the one in Greg Daniels's other show, The Simpsons. But this show is a heck of a lot less edgy than The Simpsons! The show boasts many comedic talents, especially those of Amy Pohler, Aubrey Plaza & Chris Pratt. It should be noted that the first season kinda sucks, and while things aren't really good until season 2, the show nears perfection after season 3. That does not, by any means, that this is a good show for the youngest. While Leslie is smart & determined, she's also kinda nuts, especially in season 1. Andy is a perfect non-example for how your boy should lead his life. The characters all pick on one character. There is a considerable amount of drinking in the show. There's some sexual innuendo, but only one instance of implied sex comes to mind (Ron's ex-wife, Tammy [Tammy II], is kind of sociopathic and keeps coming & seducing Ron), and that one's a doozy! There's some network TV standard "cursing" as well as bleeped words, which come in all shapes & sizes. Parks & Rec is a great show for mature tweens and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bywhitneyrev February 1, 2015

Amy Poehler Shines

I can't stress how much I adore this show. It is an absolute ray of sunshine in the midst of televised comedies, and at the very least I urge you to give it a good try, and to at least make it into the second season before you decide on giving up. The character's are lovable and funny and Amy Poehler is a gem. The show is stock full of deadpan, which I certainly love, but if you're not a fan of dry comedy you may want to steer clear. Anyways, the show is absolutely endearing, and I actually much prefer it over The Office, which it can /easily/ be compared to. Please give it a go if you're reading this and are trying to decide whether or not to take it up!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byParker H. April 21, 2009

Whats the big deal?

This TV is definitely appropriate for kids eleven and up. There is minor sexual reference and some language but its not bad at all. My only complaint is that it is very much like the Office and the main character is a slightly more knowledgeable Michael Scott in female form. I love it and it is particularly funny especially when the main character tries to sing Lady Marmalade and says "Lady Marmalard!"
Teen, 14 years old Written by3spnalr0 February 15, 2016

I LOVE this show!

This show is Ok for kids, but GREAT for teens and up. Lots of references to sex. People make out and talk about their sex lives. But nothing too extreme. Language is fine, most of it is censored. Not all. Some words include d**k, h*ll, s**t, and d**n. There are some great messages from this show, like to follow your dreams, take risks, etc. Characters get drunk, but a 10-year old could handle it. If you're looking for a good laugh, I would definitely recommend this show. LOVE Parks and Rec!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBroteam123 November 27, 2015

Best Show Ever!

This is a great show! Season 1 is a bit different, but after that it is an amazing show! There is some swearing, but the worst of it is censored.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAsthenicShoe July 13, 2015

LITERALLY, the best show ever!

This show has no bloody violence, but there is a little bit of talk about sex. This show is fine for pretty much anyone who has had, "The talk." The TV-MA curses are bleeped out (played for laughs) B**** is used, as well as some damns, craps, etc.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byfandoms February 14, 2015

THE BEST

Okay, I honestly believe this show is appropriate for ages 13+ Season one and some of season two go along more with what CSM has to say but after that the show starts to lighten up a bit. It's hilarious and quirky and really well done. I recommend it for mature teens 13+
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 9, 2013

Appropriate for all

I've been watching this show since I was in second grade! It's completely fine, though it does have a lot of language and sexual stuff, nothing graphic what so ever!!! It's super funny, too, and Leslie, Anne, Chris, April--everyone in this show--is a great role model for kids. :-D I highly recommend it!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byEagleEyes20_20 August 20, 2016

Funny government spoof is a great choice to watch with teens

One of cables most popular sitcoms, Parks and Recreation is a great show to watch with teens and mature preteens. The show contains crude and lewd humor, sexual references (especially when charecter Tammy 2 is involved), and language (stronger words like, f--k and s--t are bleeped, but still obvious as to what word was intended). Some episodes are rated Tv-PG but most are Tv-14 Not intended for younger audiences
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDanimalManimal August 15, 2016

A sometimes suggestive but often funny sitcom.

Parks and Recreation is a wonderful show. It can even be watched by your entire family, (save for some episodes revolving around sex ed, porn stars, etc.) as long as they are all old enough to. The show is about government workers in the Parks and Recreation department (duh) in an extremly obese town. The show has semi-positive role models, as they do have flaws. I see this as more realistic, as it makes them more human. For example, there is a character that is fiercely loyal, but cannot deal with change such as someone moving; a character that is intense to the point of being insane, but is only intense because he genuinely cares about his friends, coworkers, and job; and a character who is very dumb in a funny, lovable way, but is very friendly and loving. There is mild swearing (a** hole, d**n, very infrequent do***es and bi**hes,) a character who regularly drinks whiskey, some sex references (all nudity is blurred out, but still suggestive,) like putting a condom onto a zuchinni, and a small amount of violence (slaps, and guns being used for hunting.) It is a good show. It helped me form a better bond with my brother, which is invaluable.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byshortguy June 9, 2016

Actually a pretty good show for families

The only problem I can really think of with this show is sometimes the characters say things like "We're gonna go have sex'. If your child is young enough that they will have questions about a statement like that, avoid that episode. The bottom line is, watch an episode first by yourself before deciding if you want your kids to see it. Other than that, I felt like the review was a little oversensitive. Unless you're super worried about your kid hearing the word 'damn' every few episodes, the show is actually pretty safe for families. Any mature humor goes right over kids' heads, but to be honest, most of the humor is actually pretty juvenile (ie, mild fart jokes). That's part of what makes the show good for family members of any age: the story arcs are so ridiculous that kids, teens, and parents alike crack up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 6, 2016

Terrific Laughs every second of every Episode!

I was very late to this show. I started watching it in October 2015 and thought it was funny. Then in April I started to watch it again and loved every second of it! Not only is this the best TV Show ever but I think and man, woman, child or animal should watch this show. Yes, its that good. This show also has terrific role model like the main character "Leslie Knope", who never gives up on her dreams and keeps going even if people try to stop her. You will fall in love with this show from episode one!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex

Pages