All parent member reviews for Psych

Parents say

(out of 30 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written bysarahkay89 April 16, 2011

Good for adults and older teens, but not kids or young teens.

I personally LOVE this show. It is so hilarious and brilliantly thought-out! I love the dynamics of Shawn and Gus and the witty, humorous dialogue between the two Psych does have language in it, as well as a few sexual innuendos that occasionally manifests itself in a sensual scene. Overall, I think this show has many positive points, but the negative things, make it unsuitable for young teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byvals June 12, 2012

Not what it once was

Psyche used to be a nice clean funny and entertaining show. I tuned in to watch it the other day and will not watch it again. The language was bad, and there were repeated references to sex. Using *Christ* as a swear word on a supposedly family oriented show is absolutely unacceptable.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byWisdombody February 23, 2015

Awesome show for slightly older crowd

I love this show so much, I know every episode like the back of my hand and want to share my thoughts for other parents. I let my then 9-year old daughter watch this with me but with great caution. This is such a fun show but you must consider your child's maturity level. Dead bodies are shown (thought never over graphically) and there are some taboo scenes and innuendo. There are still a handful of episodes my daughter hasn't seen and won't see until she's a couple years older. If in doubt, I suggest watching a few episodes to get a feel for the content and use your best judgement.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written bySteven Matthews September 1, 2012

Funny, But...

This is a very funny show. My 11-yr-old son and I discovered it when a local TV station was having a Psych marathon. We became instant fans. Some of the episodes are scary though, enough to give my son nightmares. The Yin/Yang episodes and "Devil in the Details..." come to mind. There are probably others. For this reason, I stopped him from watching it. And, while there are certainly worse shows, regarding cursing, I always thought that this show could do without it. It adds nothing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byChrissy505 February 20, 2009

i love this show!!!!

This is my favorite show ever!!!! It is hilarious and it's fine for 6 year old me my sister (10) and my brother (6) love it. The only episode that you should worry about is the Tuesday the 17th episode because it's based on friday the 13th the movie. At first it's a joke but then people really get murdered. Think prom night and you've got it. One girl is stabbed to death and a man is electrocuted by a man who the victims liked and trusted.
Adult Written bySunnyZim May 2, 2014

Hilarious, fun detective comedy

I have thoroughly enjoyed watching all 8 seasons of Psych over the past few weeks - I haven't laughed so hard in a long time! It is relatively clean (no sex scenes or nudity, minimal language) and full of interesting storylines and characters. Well-written and acted and well worth watching.
Adult Written bydadnmelover123 January 28, 2012

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hillarious!!!!!!! i am addicted this show is educational and awesome although there is one episode that can scare the crap out of anyone 12 and under if you have young children the bad episode is tuesday the 17th great series must see!!!!! for 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byfriscomama January 28, 2012

entertaining, but you know your children best

Witty and funny. Things to discuss: it's intended to be silly; no adults could behave so childishly and get away with it. The father and son relationship is conflicted and caring at the same time; just like it can be in real life. Flashbacks convey the constancy of the friendship between the partners, who were also childhood friends. I've just been catching this in rerun broadcasts, and read elsewhere in the reviews that they cleaned it up a little after the first season. I have found it *relatively* wholesome. Great puns and word play. "You're prophetic!" she says admiringly. "No, you're prophetic!" he responds, obviously getting it mixed up with "pathetic." That kind of clever.
Adult Written byMidwestguy January 16, 2014

Sad this shows went South

This season and last season's episodes are terrible. They had to change writers or something. This is more like Naked Guy "humor" Very disappointed.
Adult Written bytolkien geek mi March 21, 2014

Pleasant but Predictable

Psych is great for about ten episodes. Then it gets incredibly redundant. They're on the final season now, and the initially very mild content has reached a peak. There's swearing and innuendo but very little violence for a crime drama. Oh, and the main character's life is based on a lie that he's a psychic. There is that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byxXxGaborik10xXx May 6, 2012

The best

Amazing, best show I've ever watched it honestly is a show for the family to watch it is a great show you can try to guess who committed the crime, and nothing is snot sex, drugs, or anything our kids shouldn't been witnessing at a young age.
Adult Written byKee2008 April 9, 2008

Safe TV Show to watch with my Kids!

It's nice to watch a show that isn't entirely geared towards kids or adults. It's fits nicely between the two with absolutely no nudity and sex scenes, no bad language and no overt sexual references.
Adult Written byWendy Darling April 25, 2011

Very Clever

There is rarely, if any innuendo in this show. It is funny because they are clever, and doesn't have to use crude humor.
Adult Written byAnna_lana November 25, 2008

Easily one of the best shows on television

Psych is HILARIOUS and amazing. The two main characters work great together and add intelligent, comedic elements to the show. All of the supporting characters have great chemistry with the dynamic duo and make the show even more worth watching. There is very, very little objectionable content (the occasional blurt of language) and makes for a superb family show. Hats off to the writers, as well as the great actors. I have yet to see an episode that I didn't like. Very highly recommended!!!
Adult Written byLeshley July 15, 2010

Good for all ages for the most part

One of my favorite shows. It is clean for the most part I can only think of two episodes where there is sexual content (making-out and references to sex), which is very short. (Pilot and Psy vs. Psy) It is funny, intriguing, and weird all wrapped up in one.
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byGeorgia Wilson March 28, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySushi forever July 30, 2011

The Best Comedy Detective Show Ever!!!

This show is a must watch for all fans of the ridicules and fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educator and Parent Written byking-county-dad May 29, 2016

nothing to be woried about

fun nothing to be bothered by ....
Parent Written byannew2 April 8, 2016

great tv show

the show is great and is good for 13 years old kids, but there is more swearing then common sense media reports such has son of ****. sh**t and damn it and some times just one part of the word mother****. but has for that common sense media is right about everything else
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byHelpfulnessrules1234 March 7, 2016

Great Show

Psych has everything that a person wants in a show, it is funny, fun,and suspenseful. I think it is okay for most kids who know about crime, and are ready fro those more inappropriate jokes. It is such a fun show and you should watch it with your kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages