All teen and kid member reviews for Rick and Morty

Kids say

(out of 36 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byDr. Zoigberg 97 December 7, 2013

Hilarious

Do not skip over this because I'm a teenager. Out of the entire adult swim line up nothing beats Rick and morty. This show is clever, creative, original and most of all just straight up funny. This show has a wonderfully grim sense of humor. You won't find another show with this type of humor. It was created by the creator of community and influenced by back to the future and British sifi. I encourage you to watch this. That being said this show does include some raunchy material. Violence: cartoon sifi violence honestly no big deal. Language: mild swearing is appearant but not offensive. Sex: basically the only thing parents find unacceptable . Pretty raunchy, innuendo is infrequent but pretty crass. Drinking drugs and smoking: I don't really think it's a big deal. Rick drinks, belches (a lot), slurs his words and so on.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2013

What the

Give it a chance, I know there is some violence but not graphic, you guys gave South Park iffy 13-17, this iffy 14-17, South Park is 10 times worse than this, fix the review, and ik there was a scene when Rick was rubbing Jessica's t1ts parents would find that innapropriate for their yong ones, swearing is not too bad, drinking Rick can be severely alcoholic
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Hyperdroid March 4, 2014

GREAT SHOW!

The review states that it has sexual content (The only thing most parents are uneasy about!), which is true though it isn't often. But believe me, if your child is 12 or older, they aren't alien to this sort of thing. The only thing they'll worry about is you cutting off access to the show because of that. I give this show 5 stars and would put it in the same bin as Futurama. Also, how is this "Iffy for a 17 year old?!
Teen, 15 years old Written byskeletonslife441 December 8, 2013

I'm 15 years old.

But this should be like, +14, and yes, there is some drinking. Also, do you realize that you aged this more than Family Guy and the same as South Park?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 18, 2015

Crude, Rude and Hillarious

Rick and Morty is about Rick, who takes his family on crazy adventures. The language is strong (motherf----r, f--k, c--k, s--t, bitch) and some other milder terms. However, these are censored out on TV, and are only uncensored on DVD/Blu-Ray releases. It also has some crude sexual material, which is presented in a comic and light way. But some of the innuendos go over the top. There is also some violence, with some blood, but is always cartoonish. Rick is an alcoholic and he does alien drugs (mostly off-screen), which made him have a pump of adrenaline. Overall, a very awesome, great show of epicness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheProdigy November 18, 2015

10+ anyone who wants to watch.

I started watching this show when I was ten yrs. old. Sure some episodes have sexual content, but on TV's now you can fast-forward. I think anyone 10+ who wants to watch this it's ok.
Teen, 15 years old Written byTrustygun October 17, 2015

A depressing look on the idea of multiverses

Parents need to know mainly that this is a depressing look on the idea of multiverses, and the show deals with them in a realistic manner. The main duo, a 14 year old kid named Morty (implied to be mentally disabled in some way) and his grandfather Rick, who is an alcoholic, is definitely an abusive relationship; it is even straight up mentioned in one epsiode Rick only uses his for camouflage against the Intergalactic Federation, and the adventures they go on routinely traumatize Morty. Most of the swearing is censored if you are listening on Adult Swim, but it's there. Violence is definitely an issue; one episode grotesquely shows the transformation of some humans into "Cronenburgs" (humorously named after the famous film producer), a cross of Mantis, Horse, Elephant, and a mixture of other various DNA. Sex is usually not an issue, most of it is mainly mentioned. There are two parts where you will need to be careful: one episode shows Morty's Sister (in a dream) attempt to coax Morty and Rick into a threesome. Morty is also nearly raped in one epsiode (fairly graphic). I only recommend this to teenagers who can deal with depressing morals and stories, as well as some out-there humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeroShade644 May 27, 2015

Great Show

Rick and Morty is a hilarious show with a sense of humor. However, there are countless instances of alcohol scenes, seeing as one of the main characters is a severe alcoholic. Some episodes, such as "Lawnmower Dog", have scenes of nudity such as characters in revealing clothes, and a few episodes have depictions of nude butts. Beyond that, there are numerous jokes about inappropriate content, such as Rick wanting Morty to put illegal seeds up his butt to avoid getting caught, and there are a few implied sex scenes, although no sex is actually seen. Most of this content is for laughs and is not serious, but there are some heavy things like Morty shooting a bug creature and its comrades talking about his wife and family, creatures keeping innocent hostages, and an attempted assault scene. You should know your child before letting them watch this show. There is some foul language, such as "b*tch" and "f*ck", but these words are not used as insults and rather as jokes. If your child is in middle school, they probably hear worse than this everyday. Violence wise, the only serious instances I can think of are in the episode "Rick Potion #9" where characters brutally kill numerous bug like creatures with guns and baseball bats who were originally humans, and at the end a graphic scene is show where Rick and Morty are killed. If you are worried about violence like this, just skip this episode and you will be fine. In conclusion, you should know you child before you let them watch this show, but if you do let them watch it they will love it. I would say that the show is fine for kids over 16, and if they are below 16 judge for yourself if they are ready. Definitely not for kids under 10.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySirNovaLux September 12, 2015

Come for the drunken scifi adventures, stay for the existentialism.

An episode like "Auto Erotic Assimilation" can start out silly and funny, but end up being really deep and I think that's perfect. I think the humor is intelligently stupid if that makes any sense. Justin Roiland is quite the genius and I was heartbroken that since I was under 18, I couldn't see his "Rick and Morty" improv show at Comic Con. I believe the show's overarching message (if it has one at all) is to not put too much thought into the things you can't do anything about and to remember what a small part you are of the uni/multiverse. Like one of the show's most famous quotes, "Nobody exists on purpose, nobody belongs anywhere, everybody's gonna die. Come watch TV?"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byRift August 23, 2016

Hilarious, but waaay too many provocative moments.

This show is absolutely hilarious. There have been so many moments where I've burst out laughing, either from the wonderfully dark humor to the silliest gags. There are a few good messages littered around it, but generally it's overshadowed by either the sex or the humor. Yeah, that's right, sex. There is soooo much sex. In the first episode, Morty begins to daydream about his school crush flashing him and letting him touch and squeeze her boobs. In the second episode, Rick & Morty find themselves "incepting", which is the act of infiltrating a dream. While incepting Morty's math teacher, they enter a literal sex dungeon full of aliens and humans alike, where he finds his sister dressed in lingerie, who then begins to dance for him. In this same episode, they enter a horror scene where the freddy krueger-esque villain says 'bitch' after every sentence. In a later episode, Rick & Morty are in a space pawn shop. Morty, being a hormonal 14 year old, sees a scantily clad robot and asks Rick if he can get it because it "looks cool". A little bit later, it's revealed that this is a sex robot (duh), and Morty has sex with the thing and ends up impregnating it. Although nothing is shown besides Morty being in his underwear, his parents and sister can hear the bed squeaking from his Robo-Sex. Another reviewer called this "masturbating", but really it was just blatantly obvious sex, even if it was with a robot. In another episode, Beth and Jerry (the parents of Morty) go on a Titanic cruise experience, based on the movie Titanic. Beth seems uninterested with most of the romantic attractions on the cruise, so Beth instead has Jerry do them with one of the janitors/maids on the boat. After Jerry and the maid have a lot of purely platonic fun, they find themselves in the cargo bay where the iconic car from the movie Titanic is seen. At this point, the maid drops her clothes and holds a gun up to Jerry. Although no womanly parts are shown, you can see her butt. She then forces Jerry into the car at gunpoint, with clear intentions of raping him. That is, until Beth saves the day by knocking the maid out by throwing a book at her. And that's all that's in the first season! I haven't even broken into the second one. As for swearing, the words "b*tch" and "f*ck" are used very often. There is some violence, and it can get fairly graphic at some points, even for a cartoon. All in all, it's an absolutely hilarious show that just has way too much sex for it to be suitable for anyone under 16.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMagical Boy January 30, 2016

Proof that cartoons aren't just for kids

Rick and Morty may be a cartoon, but it's definitely not for young kids. Rick is an alcoholic and is later revealed to be an intergalactic terrorist, and there's lots of bloody violence, swearing, and sexual content. With that said, there are redeeming qualities. For one thing, the comedy is great and will make you laugh. Also, while Rick does emotionally abuse Morty, over the course of the show the former learns to (kind of) care for his grandson, and (SPOILER ALERT) sacrifices himself to save Morty and his family a few times. And while one episode does have a particularly disturbing scene with attempted rape, it is not played for laughs and is treated as serious and horrifying. Aside from moral issues, the show has a pretty cool lore and interesting sci-fi elements. Overall, I'd keep this show away from kids and tweens, but if your teen is mature enough, it's a fantastic series that I'd highly recommend.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 12, 2014

Just give it a chance

Listen. i think this ts a great show and many people do too. While some people think its crass others like it. however children under 14 will have to watch it with a parent due to some scenes being sexual and ricks consant drinking and one time drug use in episode 10. the show is as inapproprate as family guy but some episodes are as lighthearted as classic disney movies. this show is rated TV 14 DLSV with the exeption of rick potion no.9 which is TV 14 DLV.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2016

Great Sci-Fi cartoon!

Rick and Morty is one of the highest rated tv shows, with a 9.3 on IMDB. This show is violent, coarse, sexual and very funny! The violence is sometimes very graphic and comical, along with slit throats, exploded people, brains exploding, and lots of gore. The language includes very frequent uses of s--t, the "F" word, and motherf----r. There are other swear words such as a--hole, bitch, hell, and damn, with the exception of the "C" word, which has only been said once in the show. In most cases s--t is uncensored, but rarely it is censored, it's on and off. a--hole is occasionally censored, depending how it is used. In the shows first TV-MA episode in season 2, the episode is about Jerry (the dad) almost has his penis given to aliens for surgery, because apparently the penis, is a heart to the aliens :)! LOL. The episode is very sexual because it shows a quick uncensored shot of a penis, and lots of fake penis jokes. They also say s--t tons of times uncensored along with tons of censored "F" words. In all the show is very funny and has plenty of crude, raunchy, and awkward scenes, storylines, and innuendo in to, but very funny, also Rick is an alcoholic and is constantly drinking! :)!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 26, 2016

Great show on the Adult Swim lineup!

Common Sense Media meddling again with their ratings. This show is for 13+. Sex And Nudity 6/10 Violence And Gore 8/10 Profanity 10/10 uses of f--k,s--t c--t,holy crap. S--t is censored sometimes. F--k is said uncensored once.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bybashed11 August 20, 2016

Clever, Twisted, And Hilarious

This show has it all. Interesting concepts, lovable characters, and good animation. This show is very funny and definitely revolutionary. Though only let mature kids watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMackyMuse August 17, 2016

This show is great

Rick and Morty is a show directed for mature viewers, but can be enjoyed by the younger demographic, such as "The Simpsons" This show is more than crude humor and all out craziness, it asks deep philosophical questions that no other show asks before, "Whats the point of living", "Nothing we do matters due to the scale of the universe" This is not just to make you feel depressed, but it makes the characters in this show who they are. I'm 16 at the time of watching this, so parents. If a "Child" at this age can realize all this I think you should let your child too.
Teen, 17 years old Written byNotScarredForLife August 9, 2016

An amazing philosophical, funny, and adventurous masterpiece

At first glance, this show admittedly looks like another family guy piece of garbage (sorry to you out there who like family guy, but I watched it with an open mind and found it incredibly bland). Instead, I got a show packed with meaning. Rick isn't just some drunk mastermind. He is a man who's gone through a lot, constantly struggling to find meaning in life, to which he never really finds the answer. Morty, on the other hand, steps into rick's world in which trying to do good usually leads to death and disaster, a concept which Rick is already numb to. The show successfully made the best possible anti-hero protagonist (Rick) who, while he effortlessly kills and ruins the lives of others (including morty), is still very likable and relatable to through our deepest sense of apathy accompanied by loneliness. Sex: Uncommonly some characters are shown in skimpy clothing but no nudity is shown. Not much here to worry about since it is all animated. Violence: people explode and are slashed in two with buckets of blood and a couple organs here and there. A man is tuned into bloody cubes after being chopped up by a laser. Humanoid ghost people have their faces melted off. It is pretty violent in some parts, but at least it isn't very detailed. This is probably the roughest part of the show. Drinking/Drugs: Both are there, including some alien powder that they snort. Language: sh**, b**ch, cr*p, ect. F**k and mother f***er is censored. Use is fairly freqent, but not constant.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bykooledud August 8, 2016

A good show

It's a good show. Just saw one episode, and I'm in love with it, but it's not for kids. Violence: 4/5. There is loads of Violence, and LOADS of Blood splatters. A bit of gore. Sex: 3/5. Even though there is no graphic nudity, there is loads of sex sense. Language: 2/5. Damn, Hell, Oh My God, Crap, etc. is used. It's still a good show. Totally worth watching. Edit: S--t is used in this show, and F--k is beeped out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 28, 2016

Give it a chance

Good show the most concerning stuff is the sex and drinking to me.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byHephaestusFi June 25, 2016

This show made me love science

Rick and Morty is brilliant, yeah the humours a lil crude and silly sometimes but it's also genius. I wrote an essay on Rick and Morty at school and got an excellence (A+) all about the secret messages behinf the humour and the absolute genius from the creators. It really made me think more about sciencey stuff and made me happy. It's also hilarious
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages