All teen and kid member reviews for Rick and Morty

Kids say

(out of 44 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byDr. Zoigberg 97 December 7, 2013

Hilarious

Do not skip over this because I'm a teenager. Out of the entire adult swim line up nothing beats Rick and morty. This show is clever, creative, original and most of all just straight up funny. This show has a wonderfully grim sense of humor. You won't find another show with this type of humor. It was created by the creator of community and influenced by back to the future and British sifi. I encourage you to watch this. That being said this show does include some raunchy material. Violence: cartoon sifi violence honestly no big deal. Language: mild swearing is appearant but not offensive. Sex: basically the only thing parents find unacceptable . Pretty raunchy, innuendo is infrequent but pretty crass. Drinking drugs and smoking: I don't really think it's a big deal. Rick drinks, belches (a lot), slurs his words and so on.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2013

What the

Give it a chance, I know there is some violence but not graphic, you guys gave South Park iffy 13-17, this iffy 14-17, South Park is 10 times worse than this, fix the review, and ik there was a scene when Rick was rubbing Jessica's t1ts parents would find that innapropriate for their yong ones, swearing is not too bad, drinking Rick can be severely alcoholic
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Hyperdroid March 4, 2014

GREAT SHOW!

The review states that it has sexual content (The only thing most parents are uneasy about!), which is true though it isn't often. But believe me, if your child is 12 or older, they aren't alien to this sort of thing. The only thing they'll worry about is you cutting off access to the show because of that. I give this show 5 stars and would put it in the same bin as Futurama. Also, how is this "Iffy for a 17 year old?!
Teen, 15 years old Written byskeletonslife441 December 8, 2013

I'm 15 years old.

But this should be like, +14, and yes, there is some drinking. Also, do you realize that you aged this more than Family Guy and the same as South Park?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 18, 2015

Crude, Rude and Hillarious

Rick and Morty is about Rick, who takes his family on crazy adventures. The language is strong (motherf----r, f--k, c--k, s--t, bitch) and some other milder terms. However, these are censored out on TV, and are only uncensored on DVD/Blu-Ray releases. It also has some crude sexual material, which is presented in a comic and light way. But some of the innuendos go over the top. There is also some violence, with some blood, but is always cartoonish. Rick is an alcoholic and he does alien drugs (mostly off-screen), which made him have a pump of adrenaline. Overall, a very awesome, great show of epicness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeroShade644 May 27, 2015

Great Show

Rick and Morty is a hilarious show with a sense of humor. However, there are countless instances of alcohol scenes, seeing as one of the main characters is a severe alcoholic. Some episodes, such as "Lawnmower Dog", have scenes of nudity such as characters in revealing clothes, and a few episodes have depictions of nude butts. Beyond that, there are numerous jokes about inappropriate content, such as Rick wanting Morty to put illegal seeds up his butt to avoid getting caught, and there are a few implied sex scenes, although no sex is actually seen. Most of this content is for laughs and is not serious, but there are some heavy things like Morty shooting a bug creature and its comrades talking about his wife and family, creatures keeping innocent hostages, and an attempted assault scene. You should know your child before letting them watch this show. There is some foul language, such as "b*tch" and "f*ck", but these words are not used as insults and rather as jokes. If your child is in middle school, they probably hear worse than this everyday. Violence wise, the only serious instances I can think of are in the episode "Rick Potion #9" where characters brutally kill numerous bug like creatures with guns and baseball bats who were originally humans, and at the end a graphic scene is show where Rick and Morty are killed. If you are worried about violence like this, just skip this episode and you will be fine. In conclusion, you should know you child before you let them watch this show, but if you do let them watch it they will love it. I would say that the show is fine for kids over 16, and if they are below 16 judge for yourself if they are ready. Definitely not for kids under 10.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheProdigy November 18, 2015

10+ anyone who wants to watch.

I started watching this show when I was ten yrs. old. Sure some episodes have sexual content, but on TV's now you can fast-forward. I think anyone 10+ who wants to watch this it's ok.
Teen, 15 years old Written byTrustygun October 17, 2015

A depressing look on the idea of multiverses

Parents need to know mainly that this is a depressing look on the idea of multiverses, and the show deals with them in a realistic manner. The main duo, a 14 year old kid named Morty (implied to be mentally disabled in some way) and his grandfather Rick, who is an alcoholic, is definitely an abusive relationship; it is even straight up mentioned in one epsiode Rick only uses his for camouflage against the Intergalactic Federation, and the adventures they go on routinely traumatize Morty. Most of the swearing is censored if you are listening on Adult Swim, but it's there. Violence is definitely an issue; one episode grotesquely shows the transformation of some humans into "Cronenburgs" (humorously named after the famous film producer), a cross of Mantis, Horse, Elephant, and a mixture of other various DNA. Sex is usually not an issue, most of it is mainly mentioned. There are two parts where you will need to be careful: one episode shows Morty's Sister (in a dream) attempt to coax Morty and Rick into a threesome. Morty is also nearly raped in one epsiode (fairly graphic). I only recommend this to teenagers who can deal with depressing morals and stories, as well as some out-there humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySirNovaLux September 12, 2015

Come for the drunken scifi adventures, stay for the existentialism.

An episode like "Auto Erotic Assimilation" can start out silly and funny, but end up being really deep and I think that's perfect. I think the humor is intelligently stupid if that makes any sense. Justin Roiland is quite the genius and I was heartbroken that since I was under 18, I couldn't see his "Rick and Morty" improv show at Comic Con. I believe the show's overarching message (if it has one at all) is to not put too much thought into the things you can't do anything about and to remember what a small part you are of the uni/multiverse. Like one of the show's most famous quotes, "Nobody exists on purpose, nobody belongs anywhere, everybody's gonna die. Come watch TV?"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byRift August 23, 2016

Hilarious, but waaay too many provocative moments.

This show is absolutely hilarious. There have been so many moments where I've burst out laughing, either from the wonderfully dark humor to the silliest gags. There are a few good messages littered around it, but generally it's overshadowed by either the sex or the humor. Yeah, that's right, sex. There is soooo much sex. In the first episode, Morty begins to daydream about his school crush flashing him and letting him touch and squeeze her boobs. In the second episode, Rick & Morty find themselves "incepting", which is the act of infiltrating a dream. While incepting Morty's math teacher, they enter a literal sex dungeon full of aliens and humans alike, where he finds his sister dressed in lingerie, who then begins to dance for him. In this same episode, they enter a horror scene where the freddy krueger-esque villain says 'bitch' after every sentence. In a later episode, Rick & Morty are in a space pawn shop. Morty, being a hormonal 14 year old, sees a scantily clad robot and asks Rick if he can get it because it "looks cool". A little bit later, it's revealed that this is a sex robot (duh), and Morty has sex with the thing and ends up impregnating it. Although nothing is shown besides Morty being in his underwear, his parents and sister can hear the bed squeaking from his Robo-Sex. Another reviewer called this "masturbating", but really it was just blatantly obvious sex, even if it was with a robot. In another episode, Beth and Jerry (the parents of Morty) go on a Titanic cruise experience, based on the movie Titanic. Beth seems uninterested with most of the romantic attractions on the cruise, so Beth instead has Jerry do them with one of the janitors/maids on the boat. After Jerry and the maid have a lot of purely platonic fun, they find themselves in the cargo bay where the iconic car from the movie Titanic is seen. At this point, the maid drops her clothes and holds a gun up to Jerry. Although no womanly parts are shown, you can see her butt. She then forces Jerry into the car at gunpoint, with clear intentions of raping him. That is, until Beth saves the day by knocking the maid out by throwing a book at her. And that's all that's in the first season! I haven't even broken into the second one. As for swearing, the words "b*tch" and "f*ck" are used very often. There is some violence, and it can get fairly graphic at some points, even for a cartoon. All in all, it's an absolutely hilarious show that just has way too much sex for it to be suitable for anyone under 16.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMagical Boy January 30, 2016

Proof that cartoons aren't just for kids

Rick and Morty may be a cartoon, but it's definitely not for young kids. Rick is an alcoholic and is later revealed to be an intergalactic terrorist, and there's lots of bloody violence, swearing, and sexual content. With that said, there are redeeming qualities. For one thing, the comedy is great and will make you laugh. Also, while Rick does emotionally abuse Morty, over the course of the show the former learns to (kind of) care for his grandson, and (SPOILER ALERT) sacrifices himself to save Morty and his family a few times. And while one episode does have a particularly disturbing scene with attempted rape, it is not played for laughs and is treated as serious and horrifying. Aside from moral issues, the show has a pretty cool lore and interesting sci-fi elements. Overall, I'd keep this show away from kids and tweens, but if your teen is mature enough, it's a fantastic series that I'd highly recommend.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 12, 2014

Just give it a chance

Listen. i think this ts a great show and many people do too. While some people think its crass others like it. however children under 14 will have to watch it with a parent due to some scenes being sexual and ricks consant drinking and one time drug use in episode 10. the show is as inapproprate as family guy but some episodes are as lighthearted as classic disney movies. this show is rated TV 14 DLSV with the exeption of rick potion no.9 which is TV 14 DLV.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byRobert Stiles November 8, 2016

A Good Show For 17 Year Olds

It Is Was An Amazing Comedy Show, I Would Say It Is Suitable For Ages 17 And Up For Violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byTomiscool November 15, 2016

Back to the Future in Cartoon!

Violence: 2/5: Some Episodes Are Violent. Sex: 3/5: Jokes, Rape, Sex, Stripping, ect. Language: 3/5: Ass, Bitch, And Bastard Are All Used Offen, While Shit And Slut Are Used Rarely. Drugs/Smoking: 4/5: Rick Seems To Be Drunk. He Drinks In Almost Every Episode. Overall: 12/20. My Rating: TV-14, TV-MA (Some Episodes).
Teen, 13 years old Written byJ.Cameron2003 November 6, 2016

best tv show ive seen

Teen, 16 years old Written byMiniiguana October 26, 2016

My favourite show of all time.

Swearing, cartoon violence, and sexual content, but no nudity. this is probably my favourite show ever and I reccomend to every single person who is mature enough.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byXx that one bro Xx October 16, 2016
Wow wow common sense media what in the frik is wrong with you? This is one of the best shows out there stop being concerned about sex jokes and refrenses there's a lot of jerking off stuff in it some drinking and drugs but still nothing worse you'de here in high school.
Teen, 14 years old Written byLhofoster12 September 8, 2016

One of the most hilarious shows, but not without iffy content

One of the best cartoons of the 21st century. It had a 9.3! review on imdb. That means it deserves at least 4 stars. With great voices, hilarious jokes, and fantastic stories and plots, this is an extremely creative crew.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnAverageTeenager September 4, 2016

Great show for mature teens!

Rick and Morty is an absolutely fantastic show. With clever humor and a lovable cast of characters, Rick and Morty is surely a hit for both adults and teens. This show does however tackle EXTREMELY mature themes about violence, sex, drugs, drinking, etc. The show does however go over these things in a way that isn't just plain mean and spreads positive messages throughout, unlike shows such as Family Guy or South Park. The show has some really dark themes such as suicide, torture and rape (whilst being as lighthearted as possible). Rick & Morty is packed with sexual innuendos and (less importantly) cursing. Most of the sexual references are spread throughout visual scenery and other characters that often resemble genitalia. There are trees shaped like penises and testicle monsters. This is all however very comical and doesn't matter a huge lot. One of the main protagonists, Rick, is a heavy alcoholic and often stutters, belches or vomits in every sentence he says. This may be a problem for adults. This show is rude, dark and violent however it is extremely well done and I can only recommend it. As stated above though, this show is ONLY for extremely mature teenagers 13 and over, that can deal with some serious themes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylughaidh the radical September 3, 2016

really great

this show is really really good in my opinion one of the best out there. I think that Rick and Morty are really entertaining to watch and sometimes it can be really profound in it's messages. the humour is really good and i think it's very creative. if you havent seen it go watch it right now, you won'n regret it
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages