All teen and kid member reviews for Rocko's Modern Life

Kids say

(out of 44 reviews)
age 8+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byCartoonLover February 8, 2012

Best Show Ever!!!!!

Awesome Show!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bydanny 7000 October 13, 2014

rockos modern life was not for kids

rockos modern life is an amazing classic cartoon but it is not for kids because theirs lots of adult jokes in the show that are very adult and dirty and very innapproapriate for little kids some even where banned also it can sometimes be pretty vilonte with some blood with that being said i think rockos modern life is an amazing cartoon but it is not for kids it is a cartoon aimed at Adults and i dont reccomend it for kids under the age of 13
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn June 13, 2013

So-so

I don't think this is good but it's not that bad, there are episodes I like and some of the jokes are funny. I don't agree with commonsense's age rating, how the hell is this edgy for 11, the jokes will go over kid's heads, dumba** CSM...
Kid, 11 years old April 10, 2011

Awesome for all ages!

BEST SHOW I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old September 9, 2010

Funny show, but non-stop innuendos.

This is a brilliant children's show that appeals to adults too with it's cartoonish depictions of real life events that people go through, and they just twist it around to make it hilariously insane. The problems with this show are it's non-stop innuendos which includes scenes of a character mistakenly grabbing a bear's testicles, a scene of a character having an orgasm from a milking machine, an entire episode where a character tries to seduce another one, and tons more. On the plus side, the episodes have great messages and educates children too, a good example being an episode entirely about recycling.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2016

Funny cartoon, mild rude humor

It's a very funny cartoon. Sure there is some rude humor, but it is okay.
Kid, 12 years old November 22, 2015

Modern and funny, but edgy content isn't for young kids.

Sexual innuendo is hard to miss in coy references to sensitive body parts I shouldn't name and euphemisms like the "Chokey Chicken" restaurant, most of which will be recognizable to tweens' keen eyes and ears. In fact, "Chokey Chicken" was removed when the censors realized it meant something really dirty that I shouldn't say. I've seen on screen puking, one episode had the word "h***" on a sign, Heffer was gonna say the H word before he was interrupted by Satan, there's blood sometimes, it can be gross, and characters can be seen smoking. Yours, Goatworlds.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2014

Shows good values, but edgy sexual content.

I went back to this show after a few years, and thought I'd review it. Rocko's Modern Life show a wallaby named Rocko transitioning from Australia to the States. It does show some good problem solving skills, and some good-hearted humor. However, like I said before, it does have some touchy sexual references that can be said as innapropriate. For example, when I started watching this show a few years ago, all of the sexual references sailed above my head, such as the Playslug magazine in the first episode, obviously a reference to the pornographic magazine, Playgirl. Or Rocko's favorite restaurant, Chokey Chicken, a reference to masturbation. Well, a few years have passed, I've gained knowledge, and when I started watching this again, it was awkward to watch with my family, and I was afraid that they would deem the mild sexual references as inappropriate, and ban the show. But, overall, this is a good-hearted show, with good humor, and good for kids because most of the sexual references will sail above their heads, as it did mine in the past.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byEntertaimentCritic88 November 26, 2013

This show was super-good.

This show was a classic. I loved it. I like the theme song and the animation. This is my 2nd favorite 90s Nicktoon next to Hey Arnold. SpongeBob is my favorite show overall, but even it premired in 1999, I wouldn't consider it as a 90s show.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymusicforver July 25, 2013

Edgy Cartoon For Mature Young Ones

Iffy for 10 and under
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byAlexLovesCartoons June 25, 2013

I Love Rocko!

I grew up watching Rocko's Modern Life and honestly, it's an amazing show. I wish it still aired. I watch it with my little brother, who's 12, and I think it's fine for him. He doesn't understand many of the jokes or adult humor anyways. There are quite a few adult jokes throughout the series, but a lot of them got cut out anyways and weren't aired. Yes, the restaurant is named "Chokey Chicken", but little kids won't know what that means. There's jokes such as Spunky falling in love with a mop and, as Rocko says, "trying to make love" with it. There's an episode about how Heffer gets sent to "Heck" for being a glutton. Rocko speed dates in one episode, and in another Heffer thinks he dad is trying to tell him about "the birds and the bees". One of the show's running gags is Heffer's brother being gay, although it is never said straight out. I think the main things people pick up on about the show is the edgy humor. There's no drinking, minor cigar smoking, and no drug references. There's also minor violence, such as being chased by a giant vacuum cleaner and Rocko wanting to beat up his childhood bully. But it's perfectly fine for kids 10 and up. The thing that stuck with me about Rocko's Modern Life through all these years is the humor or the shows. It's just filled with quirky and lovable characters. Plus, Rocko is a great role model for younger children. Overall an amazing show!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 11, 2013

This show is not for young kids? I first watched this show when I was a little kid, and the edgy content didn't bother me.

Yes, it is a little crude for the little ones. But it's really funny. I loved this show so much. I loved RML because it was funny, just like everyone else. I love the epsode where Rocko gets a haircut.
Teen, 16 years old Written bySuperSonicSteve896 April 23, 2013

C'mon CSM, it's not THAT edgy.

I thought Rocko's Modern Life was a great show. It was really funny. Nice theme song too. One word: CLASSIC.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytvzillia March 11, 2013

Nickelodeon's best classic (next to Ren and Stimpy)

This is a good classic cartoon that I have been watching since I was like 6. This cartoon led to the start of other very popular creators and directors like Stephen Hillenburg (Creator of Spongebob Squarepants) and Jeff "Swampy" Marsh (Co-creator of Phineas and Ferb) and Chris Savino (Director of Dexter's Laboratory) Sure the show has some innuendos, but nothing major (even when, it is EDITED OUT) but it is very funny and sure the word "hell" is on a sign but it is only in ONE EPISODE and they have to hear it eventually and youngsters won't even notice the innuendos (I sure diddn't) Sure it's edgy, a lot of shows are edgy these days. Bottom Line: Good Show, Good For 6 and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written byswearingkid December 28, 2012

If kids knew about sex it WOULDN'T be a problem

Everyone is so uptight about kids knowing about sex. There's no reason for it. Why is sexual innuendo bad for kids?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTWEENMiss August 13, 2012

Funny Show!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old June 28, 2012

i like it

it is cool
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJoseph Rock 2 June 18, 2012

LOL!

Common Sense Media,this isn't edgy for young kids! Just like Johnny Bravo,I started watching this at a young age! The jokes are very funny!
Kid, 12 years old March 15, 2012

Oh my gosh

ROCKO WORKED AT A SEX HOTLINE AND HE SAID OH BABY 3 TIMES
Kid, 10 years old January 14, 2012

perfect for ages 4 and up, i like it a little bit

I recommend that this show is fun to watch and its for 4 years and older, except that i haven't heard about anybody complaining about innuendos they show in some nickelodeon cartoon shows i guess messages (4/5): POSITIVE: rocko is always sees the good mood to hang out with his friends. language (2/5): "stupid", "idiot", "you stink!", "i hate you!", "i will kill you!", "shut up!", "easy with the bladder", "how dare you!", "imbescles", "what the!", "loser" and one use of "hell" and some name calling as it gets. sexy stuff (3/5): lots of sexual innuendos which including vague references to genitalia and sexual acts. violence (4/5): lots of comic cartoonish violence such as arguing/yelling as it gets, pushing/shoving/punching/hitting, dangerous acts, characters gets injured, bodies ripped off, some blood shown in season one as, a body rips apart since a tough guy is working out, throwing stuff around as harder as it gets. several funny pratfalls included also. drink, smoke & drugs (3/5): several characters smoke cigarettes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages