Parent reviews for Shameless

Common Sense says

Dysfunctional family dramedy oozes booze, drugs, and sex.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 46 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 113 reviews
Adult Written bytoric1031 December 30, 2017

VERY innapropriate

I was excited to watch this show since most of my friends watch and love it and I will admit it was pretty entertaining, but maybe 15 minutes into the pilot, there was swearing every minute, full frontal male nudity and a 14 year old girl giving a blow job (so I stopped watching it) *JUST BECAUSE YOUR KIDS MIGHT KNOW ABOUT SEX AND SWEARING DOES NOT MEAN IT IS OKAY FOR THEM TO WATCH IT* don't let them watch this show- it won't do them any good

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byPale 4th Horse September 2, 2018

Vile Garbage

This is the most vile celebration of the complete breakdown of human society (and the American family), where they promote and trivialize alcoholism, human trafficking, willful sexual exploitation, premeditated murder, child pregnancy, exploitation of children in extreme adult themed sexual scenes (with minors) and extreme acts of domestic abuse and slavery. And lets not forget children smoking. EVERY SINGLE scene has a child character smoking a cigarette!

This content is SO dark and twisted, anyone who has ever been victimized by any of the above situations would feel their heart break by watching these vile and inhumane reenactments of the worst parts of the human element. Only you can't actually call any of these acts human. Pure vile garbage - anyone who participated in this show should be banned from TV.

Flip over to the children who rated this - 13 year olds saying it's the "best show ever..." Should be a wake up call for Hollywood - for a 13 year old to say how great this show is, when it depicts pre-teens giving oral sex to boys just so they would be liked. So much for the "me too" movement. Hypocrites!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMtgCloser December 18, 2019

Pedophiles love this show

I thought portraying underage sex was illegal? Does this show skirt laws laws like Moonshiners and those psudo-reality shows that ACTUALLY SHOW ILLEGAL alcohol stils and crimes and portray it for TV? I've heard that Archie Bunker promoted racism, according to today standards, what does that say about this show? And William H Macey, used to love him as an actor, not anymore. His wife, (in real life) snookered him out of a lot of money for his kids.....College Admission scandal, and he plays a real life dirt bag on TV? #metoo..... in 50 years ANYTHING will be broadcast on TV, there will be no ratings..... I am supposed to get excited about underage kids having sex????? How can that be? Great societies eventually erode and rot from within.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLLC4260 January 14, 2013

I am a fan but this show is NOT for kids. Of any age.

Uh...at 38, *I* can barely watch this show. While I am a fan and it is beautifully acted and I do root for the success of the Gallagher kids, there is simply NO way would I allow any of my kids to watch this. EVER. (How the parents of the child actors on this show remain ok with their kids being on this show is a mystery to me, frankly.)
Adult Written bylavender_lily November 15, 2011

Ok for Teens

Definitely not appropriate for small children, but teenagers can watch. They speak and swear in a true to life form - overall it does have positive messages and shows the strength of the family.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFelicia S. February 7, 2018

Heartbreaking

I have never gone through such extreme measures to rate and inform others of a show or movie like I am for this show. Honestly this isn't even something I would recommend for adults over the age of 18. The content, weight and value of the show is ridiculous. It has no substance and sadly it is made so available to your adults (teens) to watch. I don't want the characters to be out of a job but I truly think that this show should be discontinued and no longer made available. It goes against moral standards, teaches things that are not okay to society to become okay. I am extremely disturbed by this show, mindless well call it porn and hate training for kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byEmma C. November 27, 2018

Not For Kids Of Any Age

After hearing so many glowing reviews about what a phenomenal show this is, I finally rented the first season and sat down to see what all the excitement was about. I forced myself through the first thirty minutes of the pilot episode and turned it off.
I, as a grown woman who went to public school, am not overly sensitive to the alcohol, drugs, and swearing elements (middle school kids have comparable mouths on them these days), but the *literal* pornographic content was so, so overkill. Whether it's 'realistic' or not (every kind of horrific thing is 'realistic' somewhere in the world) constant graphic sex scenes, crude sexual conversations, and scenes of kids viewing pornography are not things that any kid should be absorbing. It was all so gratuitous that after I finished showering and felt clean again, I couldn't even take the show seriously.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySafteyisapriority September 30, 2018

INAPPROPRIATE

This show includes MANY inappropriate scenes as a 40 year old I still have to skip parts!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 13-year-old Written bysumayyah August 9, 2018

NOT FOR 15 Yr

I Started watching this show a month ago and i'm only on season 6 and I started looking away from the screen in the first episode, i'm 19 years old and I feel like this show is getting way out of hand, not only do it show and tell viewers that its okay to have a baby at a young age, but it also tell viewers that its okay to be on berth control at the age of 13.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byHannah J. December 6, 2016
Parent Written byFinBEAR March 2, 2019

Amazing!!! But won't even let my almost 16 year old watch it.

Let me start off by saying this is a masterpiece show but definitely not for kids or teens of any age. Every curse word you could possibly think of is used constantly in every episode. Constant nudity and sex is graphically shown in many episodes as well as sexual dialogue throughout. Violence isn't big but some disturbing bloody images and violent dialogue is shown, other than that it is nothing more than fist fights on the streets. One of the main characters and dad of the family is a drug addicted and alcoholic and is shown doing, heroine, meth, crack cocaine, and more. Other characters under age are also shown drinking and smoking pot. Entertaining and exciting show but nothing for kids under at least 16 and even that is a little young for this show obviously made for adults.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bylovehailee11 November 4, 2018

It's great

I think it's a great show I believe teens should see it to learn about life and all the hell people go threw I don't think young kids should see it because of all the nudity and inappropriate language
Adult Written byEduardo A. May 22, 2018

This show is not that great

Let me tell you that this show is not that great. In contrast to what positive comments people will tell you, this show is garbage. There's too much sex for even the most mature person out there to see. I don't like the number of gratuitous sex scenes the show spews out not because they're inappropriate, because that is all the content the show offers and does not even try to develop its characters and flesh out the story telling to keep the show going. Obviously i do not recommend children under 17 to watch but on the other hand I think what shameless fails to do is what Game of Thrones succeeds. Yes i know there is sex and violence in that show but it does not glorify needless vice behavior compared to shameless, it shows that in GoT, needless sex and violence has severe consequences and at times more often punishes the characters than reward them. Some of the GoT characters actually began to flesh out from these experiences and become better people that can reflect real life events in history, plus is set in the middle ages where there was more rampant vice like behavior than today so it's kinda educational. Shameless on the other hand is set in the present day and it's much more dirtier and degenerating than GoT, the characters in that show engage in WAY too many sex scenes than GoT characters and GoT has other stuff than just sex. Shameless is nothing more than glorified porno that does not reflect real life circumstances compared to GoT that was based on real life events and people and also plays with the basis of human nature and challenges our views for story telling, shameless offers nothing innovated or challenging other than pander to the Lowest Common Denominator crowd. Sorry for long review but I hope it helps.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byr h February 2, 2018

appalling

It's absolutely appalling that any parent would allow their child(ren) to watch this show. I wouldn't even let any of my children read the reviews of this show! Even if a person has been exposed to the terrible things this show depicts doesn't mean they should watch it!! Any positive messages of this show are buried in drugs, violence, offensive language, and sex. It disgusts me that this series even exists.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byCarla R. January 27, 2018

Awful! Graphic scenes of sex in every single episode!!!

If you want your teenage girls to think that oral sex is the way to show a guy she likes him, let her watch this show! There are no boundries, lots of graphic sex and zero values! They try to make you believe is a “real life situation” for a vulnerable disfunctional family but it is not like that, people can do better in real life, there is cero hope in this series. I am 39 and I couldnt watch anymore after few seasons! Parents! SET PARENTAL CONTROL NOW ON NETFLIX!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bysassieo December 17, 2015

Shameless TV Show on Showtime must be paid for by Big Tobacco

This show has every single character, even showing a 12 year old, smoking excessively. There is constant smoking of pot and cigarettes in the faces of infants, even a newborn.
The word "f--k" is used no less than 40 times PER episode. There is also the actual sex act in every single episode with FULL female and male nudity. I realize this is a cable channel (Showtime) but it's constant and unnecessary to story line. This show is about how far a cable network can push the boundaries to shock its audience with sex, nudity, profanity and drug/cigarette use.
Also, despite all the awful shock to viewers, the characters can't be believed. There is no way anyone can be this stupid and ignorant. If Showtime wants porn to be broadcast in prime time, then go for it. You'll have the scum of the earth there to watch. However, to expect even the scum of the earth to attach to the characters and believe characters portraying real people can be that stupid is stupid.
I'm so sorry I wasted even 10 minutes of my life trying to watch this awful show. I saw more penis/t-ts/balls/asses and heard the word "f--k" far too often in that 10 minutes too. Pathetic Showtime....pathetic.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byjmaur21 May 24, 2012

Best show in a long time!

Fantastic show! Really addicting and there is always something good doing on! Recommend to everyone!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMoreBrie September 17, 2019

Great Show, Can Be Inappropriate

Definitely a lot of nudity, drugs, and swearing. However, in this day and age with the access kids have to the internet, it’s most likely nothing they haven’t seen before. Overall, it has a great message. There’s a lot of extra comedic antics and drama, but it’s actually a pretty good depiction of the struggles of poverty in the city. Touches on a lot of important issues. If your kids are pretty mature, I recommend letting them watch it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKintnewyork00 June 13, 2019

This show it's very disgusting to watch

I decided to watch the show because everyone at my job is always talking about the show here's my opinion I just watched Shameless from season 1 until season 2 this show it's very disgusting very disgusting very disgusting this is why I stopped watching the show watch the show very disgusting every five minutes there is sex scene and there's a lot of gay sex in this show every 10 minutes there is a sex scene in the show very disgusting to not let your teenager teenager and your kids watch TV show this show needs to be taking off this show needs to be taken off of American television because so many kids are watching the show whoever made this show needs to be in jail because this is very disgusting to watch

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 11, 11, and 13-year-old Written bymalecccyyaaassss September 18, 2018

I really like this show but...

This show is amazing and has a good story that gets me hooked but i would never let my child watch this show unless hes with me so i can skip some parts. Lemme say something which is what i said to my son when he begged to watch the show "If you wanna watch porn go ahed and watch shameless." and he obviously didnt say ok then continued playing his video games. There is FULL frontal male and female nudity as a 30 year old i even look away at some parts. But i am glad they are open with LGBTQ2+

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages