Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Shameless

Common Sense says

Dysfunctional family dramedy oozes booze, drugs, and sex.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 37 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 94 reviews
Adult Written bytoric1031 December 30, 2017

VERY innapropriate

I was excited to watch this show since most of my friends watch and love it and I will admit it was pretty entertaining, but maybe 15 minutes into the pilot, there was swearing every minute, full frontal male nudity and a 14 year old girl giving a blow job (so I stopped watching it) *JUST BECAUSE YOUR KIDS MIGHT KNOW ABOUT SEX AND SWEARING DOES NOT MEAN IT IS OKAY FOR THEM TO WATCH IT* don't let them watch this show- it won't do them any good

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bylavender_lily November 15, 2011

Ok for Teens

Definitely not appropriate for small children, but teenagers can watch. They speak and swear in a true to life form - overall it does have positive messages and shows the strength of the family.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLLC4260 January 14, 2013

I am a fan but this show is NOT for kids. Of any age.

Uh...at 38, *I* can barely watch this show. While I am a fan and it is beautifully acted and I do root for the success of the Gallagher kids, there is simply NO way would I allow any of my kids to watch this. EVER. (How the parents of the child actors on this show remain ok with their kids being on this show is a mystery to me, frankly.)
Adult Written byEmma C. November 27, 2018

Not For Kids Of Any Age

After hearing so many glowing reviews about what a phenomenal show this is, I finally rented the first season and sat down to see what all the excitement was about. I forced myself through the first thirty minutes of the pilot episode and turned it off.
I, as a grown woman who went to public school, am not overly sensitive to the alcohol, drugs, and swearing elements (middle school kids have comparable mouths on them these days), but the *literal* pornographic content was so, so overkill. Whether it's 'realistic' or not (every kind of horrific thing is 'realistic' somewhere in the world) constant graphic sex scenes, crude sexual conversations, and scenes of kids viewing pornography are not things that any kid should be absorbing. It was all so gratuitous that after I finished showering and felt clean again, I couldn't even take the show seriously.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byxoagxo October 23, 2018

Disgusting

Extremely sexual. Always see complete nudity,
Breasts, penises, vaginas. Too much for anyone under 18. Shouldn’t be a show. It’s disgusting

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byPale 4th Horse September 2, 2018

Vile Garbage

This is the most vile celebration of the complete breakdown of human society (and the American family), where they promote and trivialize alcoholism, human trafficking, willful sexual exploitation, premeditated murder, child pregnancy, exploitation of children in extreme adult themed sexual scenes (with minors) and extreme acts of domestic abuse and slavery. And lets not forget children smoking. EVERY SINGLE scene has a child character smoking a cigarette!

This content is SO dark and twisted, anyone who has ever been victimized by any of the above situations would feel their heart break by watching these vile and inhumane reenactments of the worst parts of the human element. Only you can't actually call any of these acts human. Pure vile garbage - anyone who participated in this show should be banned from TV.

Flip over to the children who rated this - 13 year olds saying it's the "best show ever..." Should be a wake up call for Hollywood - for a 13 year old to say how great this show is, when it depicts pre-teens giving oral sex to boys just so they would be liked. So much for the "me too" movement. Hypocrites!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byHannah J. December 6, 2016
Adult Written byPittaz_01 April 27, 2015

Probably the best show i have ever watched.

Every season just gets better and better. Cant take my eyes of the screen.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bylelexy2000 December 20, 2013

Shameless

I think this show is really good but It also has alot of nudity, and language in it. I think Fiona is positive role model because she took on the role of raising her 5 younger siblings and more sisters won't do that.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byjmaur21 May 24, 2012

Best show in a long time!

Fantastic show! Really addicting and there is always something good doing on! Recommend to everyone!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMoreBrie September 17, 2019

Great Show, Can Be Inappropriate

Definitely a lot of nudity, drugs, and swearing. However, in this day and age with the access kids have to the internet, it’s most likely nothing they haven’t seen before. Overall, it has a great message. There’s a lot of extra comedic antics and drama, but it’s actually a pretty good depiction of the struggles of poverty in the city. Touches on a lot of important issues. If your kids are pretty mature, I recommend letting them watch it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by66whiteknight July 3, 2019

Not a stumbling block for intelligence...

Truth.
This show is filled with sex, cursing, and "not a stumbling block for intelligence..."
It has its moment and when it has a plot, the plot is enthralling (if it is not sex obsessive).

There is better on the web\cable.

I'm waiting for #Ozark season 3.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKintnewyork00 June 13, 2019

This show it's very disgusting to watch

I decided to watch the show because everyone at my job is always talking about the show here's my opinion I just watched Shameless from season 1 until season 2 this show it's very disgusting very disgusting very disgusting this is why I stopped watching the show watch the show very disgusting every five minutes there is sex scene and there's a lot of gay sex in this show every 10 minutes there is a sex scene in the show very disgusting to not let your teenager teenager and your kids watch TV show this show needs to be taking off this show needs to be taken off of American television because so many kids are watching the show whoever made this show needs to be in jail because this is very disgusting to watch

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMothership82 April 15, 2019

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 1, 2, 8, and 10 year old Written byLawsons_baby_gu... March 24, 2019

what i think about shameless

I LOVE SHAMELESS

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byFinBEAR March 2, 2019

Amazing!!! But won't even let my almost 16 year old watch it.

Let me start off by saying this is a masterpiece show but definitely not for kids or teens of any age. Every curse word you could possibly think of is used constantly in every episode. Constant nudity and sex is graphically shown in many episodes as well as sexual dialogue throughout. Violence isn't big but some disturbing bloody images and violent dialogue is shown, other than that it is nothing more than fist fights on the streets. One of the main characters and dad of the family is a drug addicted and alcoholic and is shown doing, heroine, meth, crack cocaine, and more. Other characters under age are also shown drinking and smoking pot. Entertaining and exciting show but nothing for kids under at least 16 and even that is a little young for this show obviously made for adults.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bylovehailee11 November 4, 2018

It's great

I think it's a great show I believe teens should see it to learn about life and all the hell people go threw I don't think young kids should see it because of all the nudity and inappropriate language
Adult Written bySafteyisapriority September 30, 2018

INAPPROPRIATE

This show includes MANY inappropriate scenes as a 40 year old I still have to skip parts!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 11, 11, and 13 year old Written bymalecccyyaaassss September 18, 2018

I really like this show but...

This show is amazing and has a good story that gets me hooked but i would never let my child watch this show unless hes with me so i can skip some parts. Lemme say something which is what i said to my son when he begged to watch the show "If you wanna watch porn go ahed and watch shameless." and he obviously didnt say ok then continued playing his video games. There is FULL frontal male and female nudity as a 30 year old i even look away at some parts. But i am glad they are open with LGBTQ2+

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byDwightSchrute3245 August 28, 2018

Has good heart!

To be honest, 13 year olds have probably already seen the stuff on the show. Also, you can just cover their kids eyes. I mean it has some nudity and language in every episode but it has a very good message. For example, the daughter has been taking care of her siblings since she was 10. There is very good heart and role models.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages