All parent member reviews for Skins (U.K.)

Parents say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written bymagbens9 December 15, 2014

Great show!

I began watching this show as a Sophomore in high school and I honestly think that it was very educational in that it showed complications of drug use, diversity, struggles with mental illnesses and a variety of very real and very realistic things that the average teen will come across as they grow up...not to mention that it was incredibly captivating and entertaining
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 May 5, 2012

cool

There are some positive messages in the show and the show does contain some sex. The characters experince arguments and start fighting. There is frequent drug use and teen alcohol drinking. Some brands are visible throughout the show. The show is entertaining and great though but isnt child/teen porn as some parents like to call it. It shows what teens actually go through like degrassi is nothing what teens actually go through thats just an insult to us teens. Im in 8th grade and people in my school do drugs and have sex but just by watching this show cant make you do those things.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4 year old Written byFelces January 24, 2011

wow

I think im a open minded person. Who cares about the violence and the language. But teenagers having a show wherre they can watch other kids having sex and doing drugs. Come on world kids look up to kids on MTV. When I was growing up MTV was so cool to me. This shows kids that it is infact cool to do drugs and have sex if you want to stick in with the crowd. I think it's a great show.. for child molesters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byLeo Vega October 24, 2009
It's too much aggresive to bee seen: sex, drugs, parents who has much more problems than their own teenagers, manipulation... and so on. I don't think this the way to live the life for no one. Although the story is interesting and its a good drama... I don't need to see all the bad things to understand that selfish is a no-happy-ending story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJmR x September 24, 2011

Realistic

Im 16 and i used to watch skins when i was like 14? and now im like in the same situations as the skins characters,its pretty realistic but not for the parents who want to protect their kids from drugs,booze ect..,
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byYBNormal January 7, 2009
Parent Written byHillary Rhinlo March 30, 2015

Skins teaches police life lessons.

There are many positive lessons to be learned from Skins.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bykayleyc March 21, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byKatie57 February 8, 2015

Should your kids watch Skins?

I've watched every single episode and fell in love with the series. I think everyone should watch but, it's not for everyone. There is heavy drug and alcohol usage but it is not promoted. If you're wondering if you should allow your kid to watch it I say use your judgement. I would not recommend letting any child under 14 to watch skins. If your child is 14 or older then consider letting them watch it. 14 is a bit of a stretch, so this is where your judgement comes in. There is drugs and alcohol and sex. It also deals with teen pregnancy. But these are things that are already known to 14 and 15 year olds. If you feel you child is mature enough then allow them to watch it . There are inspiring characters and good messages with in the shows. You will fall in love with every generation.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking