Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Stranger Things

Common Sense says

Dark "strange invader" drama will appeal to sci-fi fans.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 199 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 577 reviews
Adult Written byCosmin K. February 18, 2018

Great show, but just some things to keep in mind… 13-14 up (depending on maturity)

The name of the TV show has popped up and been mentioned, quite frequently by my friends and other parents, in the past half year or so, so we (my 14y old and I) thought we'd give it a go. And I must say that its quite alluring and compelling with the plot and the different, relatable characters. Although the consumerism and sex is quite minimal, I'd have to disagree with the 12+ overall rating given by parents on this site as the graphics and swearing at times can be quite intense. As a mother of four, I would not want my 11 or 9yo to be exposed to the language and some of the more graphic scenes shown in this tv show. I am able to watch this show with my 14y old and they understand swearing at this age so the language used in this show isn't alarming or triggering in anyway, and in some scenes has even been amusing. However if you are uncomfortable with your teen listening or being exposed to these words, I suggest you watch over the episode before letting them watch it. Theres been a couple of reviews from parents mentioning and being slightly alarmed by the party and some of the 'sexier' scenes in this tv show. However in all honesty it's really quite minimal and I'd think that teens by the age of 13 or so would have probably been exposed to worse, and they know and understand by this age that parties and stuff do go on and they are well aware of that stuff. Pretty much all teen TV shows these days include these kinds of scenes, and I have seen a lot worse from other 'teen' shows. There are a lot of cigars consumed by the characters in this show, however this is because of the era it is plotted in (the 80's), so there's nothing to be worried about by this, so long as your kid understands the effects of consuming them and you are certain that they won't go on and do the same. The violence in the show was the one thing I was worried most about, as I don't want my kids to be witnessing any overly violent acts and to be influenced by them in anyway. And there are a couple of gory death scenes, however most of the time (especially cause my daughter hates blood and all sorts of gory stuff) they look and cringe away anyways, so i'd say that kids (over 14) can responsibly make their decision to look away if it gets a too much for them. Most kids by this age are old enough not to be under the influence of this violence and most of the violence in this tv show is unrealistic, being done so my unrealistic living creatures. There are some great kid actor/actresses in this TV show that have a good image, and I myself am a fan of some of them and think that they're great role models for my kids, unlike some young actors/actresses that sometimes portray unrealistic standards and images for young teens. Overall i'd be fine and would feel comfortable with my daughter watching this on her own.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Parent Written byLawrence T. October 29, 2017

Inappropriate Things

I can't believe all the parents that think this show is appropriate for any Kidd under at least 14. I stupidly started watching this with my wife and 13 yo daughter because everyone said she was the right age for it. The show, in addition to being terrifying, had high school kids making out in the bathroom in the first 10 minutes and the town sheriff joking about "how bad someone's mother looked when he had finished having sex with her" ... Unbelievable! I was so annoyed with myself. Everyone seems to love this show, and it did seem entertaining for adults and older teens. I just can't believe how many parents let their tweens watch this kind of stuff.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bymick f. August 9, 2016

Too Dark

Too dark and too tragic. Not what I'd consider family entertainment. As a Christian and a parent, I don't want this program in my home or in my mind. Definitely not a good influence on kids. Themes of demonic activity and communication, government experiments on children (whom they have kidnapped for the purpose of experimentation), child death, depression, drug use, teenagers drinking alcohol, teenage sex... the list goes on. And I've only watched three episodes. If this were on a major tv network, it would have a mature rating rather than 14+.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bykittenofdeath676 August 8, 2016

I think it's just awesome!!

I like it. There is some swearing. And the characters don't exactly keep there clothes on all the time. But other than that i have nothing negative to say about it.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMad max road warrior July 14, 2019

Stranger Things Parents Guide

Sex/Nudity: One teenage character flirts with a 40 year old woman. There's a scene where a couple make-out, their shirts are off but she's wearing her bra, they lay down on her bed and continue to kiss, there's no moaning or actual sex, this last about 4 seconds, then in the next episode its still happening but while they're kissing something else is happening, this is nothing too sexual In season 2, one character asks another character if he's there, and the other character replies with, "Yeah it's me, don't cream your pants." In season 1 two characters make-out on a characters bed, this is inter cut with something else that is happening, this is by no means a sex scene. In season 2 two characters kiss each other 4 times then race into their bedroom, scene ends there, nothing else major happens beside a few kisses. Nothing to bad. Seasons 1 and 2 contain a couple of suggestive scenes. In season 3 a pornographic magazine is shown briefly. A woman shirt is lifted up, revealing about 90% of her breasts. Nipples must have been edited out because they are not seen A couple make out like said below, but it doesn't go unnoticed, the parents find out and punish her child In S3 E1 a girl wakes up out of bed with another boy her age and jumps up out of bed with only a top on and underwear. There is a mild make out scene between El and Mike but it is nothing too far where you have to cover your kids eyes unless you don't want them to see kissing. These a lot of kissing between Eleven and Mike in Season 3. In season 3, billy makes a sexual flirt about swimming, and asks a 40 yr old women what strokes she knows. After she answers with only "not much", billy says "Free style, butterfly, and 'breaststroke'" as a flirt. Season 3 - two porn magazines are found in a drawer that each depict a woman on the cover with the majority of their bare breasts exposed. This scene lasts for about 3-5 seconds. Season 3: A teenage boy's room is entered, and a pin-up poster of a scantily clad woman is seen on his wall, then there is a close-up of a drawer being opened and dirty magazine covers are fully visible. Season 3: Two boys in the mall watch an aerobics class from behind. Women are seen from behind in tights & leggings, including one with a thong leotard over it. Women are shown gyrating their hips to music, with a close-up shot on their butts. Violence: A few punches here and there, mainly Hopper when he needs to get passed a guard, two fights between two men In season 3, a man is beaten in his office. First, his head is pushed and slammed into the door, breaking his nose, and he is then repeatedly punched (we only hear this from outside the locked door) and then is thrown over his desk. After this, his finger is forced into a cigar slicer and the person beating him pushes down on it almost cutting his finger, but stops after his answers are given. He is then taken hostage, but not further hurt. His face is bloody all throughout the episode. In season 3, people and rats melt or explode into graphic puddles, and a man is dismembered in a rotating blade (brief; blink-and-you-miss-it blood and gore shown) s3e8: A knife is used to cut someones leg open. This is extremely bloody and graphic. Everything is shown. The violence and gore of the seasons goes from "ooh thats a bit interesting" to very quickly "this is extremely graphic". A girl's leg is cut open with a hot knife and multiple hands are stuck under the skin in order to take out an item from the leg. Multiple cases of bloody violence, including what could be interpreted as extremely bloody gore. Many different cases of this graphic gore are displayed throughout the season and it is far worse than what is portrayed in seasons 1 and 2. Season 3: Episode 5: In a hospital, there is a chase scene which is pretty gory. A man is stabbed with scissors. When taken out blood spurts out. One man's nose is broken, but the blood is black. At the end, their skins melts into chunks of blood. in the last episode hopper throws a man into a machine and he he torn apart and blood goes everywhere, though this is only seen for 1 second. This show starts off as a PG-13 show, but soon ascends into a R rated one in terms of violence. Profanity: season 1: 53 uses of sh!t, 6 uses of godd*mn, 11 or so uses of a**/a**hole/a**kisser etc, 3 uses of p*ssy, 7 uses of D*ck, 15 Son of a b*tch/B*tch. Season 2: 67 uses of Sh*t, 9 Godd*mn, 10 a**/a**hole/a**kisser etc, 2 p*ssy, 8 D*ck, 16 B*tch. 1 middle finger season 3: 73 uses of sh*t, 12 uses of godd*mn, 19 or so uses of a**/a**hole/a**kisser etc., 4 uses of p*ss and bastard, 2 use of f*ck, 5 uses of d*ck/d*ckhead/d*cksucker etc., 10 uses of b*tch, 12 uses of son-of-a-b*tch, 2 middle fingers along with over 30 uses of other milder swears throughout the season. Drugs/alcohol: Will's mother, and Hopper always smoke cigarettes. Teens are also seen smoking Heavy smoking by multiple characters; adults and teens. In Season 3, two characters are drugged and begin acting euphoric (basically the same effects of MDMA) A character is ask if he is drugged and say he doesn't do any drugs besides a little marijuana every now and then Seasons 1 & 2. Considerable use of alcohol including minors getting drunk or being served alcohol both illegally and in excessive amounts. Numerous minors drinking to severe drunk stage and sickness is depicted at a party. An adult and two high school students drink vodka in a couple scenes in an episode during season 2. Season 3 is borderline TV-MA for its uses of profanity and voilence.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byTaylor F. September 6, 2016

Stranger Thing... strangely captivating.

I went into this series without any expectation of it being something I would appreciate. I am not a fan of "scary" films or monster shows. "Stranger Things" was surprised me. The acting is solid. The plot keeps you guessing. Every episode deepened my interest. In my opinion, the final episode is the one of the most powerful that I have seen of any show in a long time. I watched it twice. The show does have some rough edges and doesn't sugar coat its characters. The children characters use language fit for adults (but do not use the f-word). One female character loses her virginity and is seen removing her shirt. The violence in the film can be more mental than what is seen, save one scene in the 7th episode where El sees the body of a friend. What shines through these rough elements is the journey of the characters. The characters mature. They make sacrifices that are commendable. The "questionable" characters prove themselves in the end and the "good" characters reveal their flaws and weaknesses. Love is seen through the relationships. I feel like parents should do a watch through and be mindful of the maturity of their children. (I suggest watching beyond the 2nd episode where the female character loses her virginity as this element of the story is not a common event or theme in the series.) I feel like families would have much to talk about after watching the series. The spiritual parallels are numerous and I felt like Stranger Things provided me a powerful new image of Christ's victory over death. Worth a watch for those who are mature.

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 15 year old Written byjsnowhite August 18, 2016

Know Thy Kid!

We're 2 episodes into this, watching with our film-savvy 15 year old, and after episode 2 (unfortunately watched RIGHT before bed) I (the 54 year old mom!) had seriously stressful dreams, followed by a screaming 15 year old showing up in our room at 4 a.m. It's well done and fun scare, but this is definitely the last time we'll watch before bed! As far as the sex scenes go, as I parent I appreciated that our daughter was yelling at the TV-- "BAD DECISION!! NEVER LEAVE YOUR BUDDY!". lol... it showed bad decision-making on the part of the "smart girl", (she also "shoots" a beer before the heavy making out) which opens LOTS of room for discussion.
Parent of a 9, 12, 14, and 16 year old Written byHayley K. August 2, 2016

Great eighties set science fiction show!

I binge watched this with my husband and three oldest children! It had some language, violence, and sex. But is very compelling and well written! Very similar to Polergist, Stand By Me, and Goonies!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bycrhj July 16, 2016

Rats! Typical "Original" Netflix fare.

My husband and I watched the first two episodes of Stranger Things. The Common Sense Media was correct about all the items listed to be prepared for if you are concerned about for example, language, except I noted they left out the fact that a number of characters said "Jesus" and none of them were praying- this is a sensitive issue for many folks and why it was ignored is curious to say the very least. The facts also ignore the abundant drinking and smoking done by teens and adults. So... typical "Original" Netflix fare, it would seem. These folks seem to cater to the seamy, gritty side of life but if that's what floats your boat... Just thought others should get the whole picture.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byNic78 July 5, 2019

Not suitable for young kids

I'm shocked that so many people are recommending this for children. The sexual content alone puts it into a category for teenagers. It is a fantastic series and I look forward to my son being old enough to enjoy it with me, but to get the most out of it I'll wait until he is 13/14+. For parents reading the reviews to check suitability for their own children, I recommend you watch it before allowing your child to view it. This is one of those shows where the content may be suitable in some families but in many others it would be far from appropriate.
Adult Written byPilfro December 30, 2018

Not made for children

Ive let my kids be scared watching movies not deemed appropriate.. 8 year old favorite movie is jaws. But this show was made for adults and I think 16 is appropriate age.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJean L. October 28, 2017

Had to make a stand with my own child on this one.

I didn't even make it past the first 20 minutes. My 17-year old daughter wanted to try this show so while everyone else was in bed (thank goodness), I agreed to watch it with her. What bothered me the most was the bad language coming out of children's mouths. I can tolerate some swearing in movies when adults are the culprits because I know they know better and are choosing to say those lines, but any director/screen writer who thinks it's o.k. and encourages kids to use that kind of language obviously does not have any scruples and I don't trust what other messages will come from that kind of director/writer. I know one reviewer felt this show displayed some Christian messages but I don't think Christ would be able to stand the language or the befouling of our youth any more than I could. Unfortunately, my daughter didn't see things my way and she was pretty miffed with me for not wanting myself or her to continue watching it. Hopefully she'll eventually see my turning it off as a good example of even adults choosing what they watch carefully.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byjuan c. September 10, 2016

Great show

Great episodes. Bravo! Bravo! I watched it with my eleven year old son and now we watch 2 episodes a week. Great show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byRjanosky July 20, 2019

Disappointing content

The plot is good and would have received higher ratings if they would have left out the sexual content. Several inappropriate content. References to banging someone, two people having sex to get over arguing, and the revealing of one’s sexual preference as a lesbian. Why is any of that necessary? There is also tons of swearing which is just pointless.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byCommonSenseHuman July 13, 2019

Get real

There are parents on this site who think the P word and a girl taking her shirt off is acceptable for 13-year-olds. Not to sound like an 80-year-old, but shame on you. No wonder our country is in the moral trash can. Good God. Get real. The moral Republican America has become trashy. I can say that because I’m a moral Republican middle American clinging to reasonableness.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byCabletie July 6, 2019

Not suitable for kids or teenagers

Not suitable for kids at all. Very graphic violence, monsters, horror. A lot of swearing. Demonic inspired show. Season 3 was nothing like the first season.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bymomma_joan June 18, 2019

great show for my kids

as a mother of four, i am able to watch this show with my 8 year old (though there are some scenes i have to cover his eyes for), my 10 year old, who is ok with swearing, and my two 12 year olds. there is also mild drinking, but nothing too extreme. overall, a great show for the whole family, and all my kids can’t wait for season 3 to arrive!!
Adult Written bychotabheemistheflash June 16, 2019

Definitely a kid appropriate show that is very fun filling!

Stranger Things is definitely a show that will take you into the depths of different universes. Similar to a classic Marvel movie, Stranger Things deals with other monsters such as Demogorgons from the Upside Down, a parallel universe. Not scary at all, Stranger Things takes its viewers through a thrilling and fun filled adventures through a mystical world hidden inside the normal town of Hawkins. A great tv show, I recommend it for 12 year olds through and through! The characters are great role models, and definitely show kids how to use perseverance, mental strength, and use logic do deal with everyday situations. It is a great message, and truly a great show!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byHBrooklyn February 24, 2019

It really depends on the kid

There is some bad language and there certainly are some scary situations. But my son, who is 9 going on 10, thinks this is the best. I watched the entire two seasons before watching with my son so I knew what to expect and could discuss it with him. The themes of friendship and trust are strong.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byTexasFather January 1, 2019

Amazing!

This show is amazing and personally I don’t think it’s scary sure there’s experiments kidnapping and monsters but nothing scary and for language they say s*** b**** hell d*** d*** and d*****b** and refers to being pi**** and screwed and there is a little bit of kissing and make in gout but you can just look away and there is poor choices like teen drinking but good choices too honestly let your kids watch this

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language

Pages