All parent member reviews for That '70s Show

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bysuffacate April 29, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Drugs, sex, and cussing. This show follows a group of friends and their parents in a small suburb town in Wisconsin. I'm pretty sure they're smoking pot in almost every episode, someone is always having sex, and there is definitely a lot of cussing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It is simply a great show....

This show is really funny, one of the few good shows that I like too. The kids are stereotypes for sure, but you know people are stereotyped in every show. The jokes sometimes go to a highly innuendo level but I know that I wouldn't have understood it till I became a teenager. It could just very well be my favorite show.
Adult Written byCyraxPredator November 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

love it

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymattqatsi April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bylizb86 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byPanya April 9, 2008
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

...

There's way too much sex and drugs for younger teens. I'd say only older teens and adults should see this.
Adult Written byadultswim April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This is suitable for adults only

This show I say is for adults only. The sexual content of this show makes it unsuitable for anyone under 17 years of age. I don't thank any child should watch this show.
Parent of a 15 year old Written byhorsegurl22 January 14, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 13 year old Written byAunt Cat August 23, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
This show reflects the 70s pretty accurately--I was there. Pot smoking was eventually considered normal for teens, even those going into the military--again, I was there. That didn't make it right. If you watch this excellent show with your kids or grandkids, there is a lot to discuss, and that's a good thing--IF YOU DISCUSS IT. It helps if you know what was going on in the 70s too.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byJimmyH December 16, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate.

A funny show, especially for those of us who grew up in the 70s. However, not for kids due to implied drug use, teens drinking, sexual dialogue of teens having sex, language, etc....
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byThe JP Show June 27, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Show is TV-PG and TV-14

I Don't think it's for kids under 13.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycookie123 January 19, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

must have

bebe
Adult Written byba April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I Laughed

This is a funny show with lots of entertaining references to the 70s. It is not for children. It is a good show to share with your adult children about how standards have changed. You can also discuss how some of the people who participated in certain activities (sex and alcohol/drugs)are now trying to make sure that today's young adults do not make the same mistakes.
Adult Written byOmgomg123123 December 25, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good for older teens

This show is really inappropriate! Although they don't show them having sex or doing drugs, they make it pretty clear what they are doing. Like it a few years ago I didn't realize that when they got in a "circle" they were high. They painted inappropriate body parts on a water tower, accidentally gave "special" brownies to their parents, and red thought perverted things about a highschool girl. Jackie acts like a rich girl, Hyde is a complete pothead, fez is the perverted foreign kid, kelso gets a girl pregnant, and red doesn't stop cursing. But other than that this is a HILARIOUS show!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, infant, 3, and 5 year old Written byMississippiQueen January 7, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Parent Written bysumoni May 20, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Better for older preteens and family

I can understand the arguments that 15 may be a bit much. However this show is obviously not aimed at young teen audiences. Real world or not, a show that centers around underage drugs, drinking, and sex, isn't something that parents should just be "okay" with. Parents can't always control what the media puts out, but they have a right to feel whether or not they allow their kid to watch it. That 70s show may have teen humor, but it's more so for adults. I would recommend it's okay for preteens to watch with the family. The characters are very horny, sometimes an entire episode will center around sex. There's an episode where they go see a porno flick and Eric attempts to try out what he sees in the movie on Donna. The characters are also looking for ways to score or steal alcohol from their parents.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymommygirl987654321 February 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Better than most flashback TV

The people on this show do very mature things. Such as smoke pot, have lots of sex(by the end of the show all of the characters have lost their virginity),swear like sailors,and do many illegal acts with almost no consequences except when it involves Red. However the humor, acting, and plot twists are very smart for a teen show and overall enjoyable for a 12 year old.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 28, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Awesome show!

The 70s Show is one of my favorite shows of all time.The jokes are funny and the voice acting is GREAT!
Parent Written byTyWill39 November 28, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very funny show, but the casual use of marijuana is troubling

The show is very funny, but I can't help thinking it should not be watched by younger viewers. Two weeks ago I was laughing along with my 13 year old niece as we talked about some of the funnier episodes. She knew what they were doing in the "Circle Scenes". Yesterday she was implicated in a pot smoking incident at school. I can't help but think the normalized portrayal of the pot smoking factored in to her decision to experiment at such a young age.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byToujoursPurSang August 21, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I guess it depends on you're tastes and values.

It's been a while since I last saw the show but what I do remember is full of sexy, drugs and alcohol. Personally I don't have a problem with the sex, my main problem is with the marijuana.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages