Kid reviews for The Good Doctor

Common Sense says

Doc on autism spectrum defies prejudices in medical drama.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 17 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 16 reviews
Kid, 12 years old September 27, 2017

The Main Character is a great role model

I think that that this show has a great role model. There is some violence and a little bit of sex but overall I think that this is my new favorite show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNick208 December 20, 2017

Depends on the Kid

Ok, first off it’s a great show. Secondly, I’m only 13 and I enjoy the show. I’m raised in a home where I learned not to repeat stuff said on TV, so kids who have learned that should be fine with language. The age limit is based on how well a kid can handle a surgery scene and blood. But other than that it’s fine. Good show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byMalArken September 26, 2017

Brilliant work.

Last night, I watched the season premiere, and I really appreciated how it was created. Highmore portrayed the roll far better than expected, and I really sympathized with the characters in just the first episode..

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeeping-you-safe November 7, 2017

Parents and teens know this

Some things may get a little too bloody and gory for younger kids and multiple sex references are included watch with your parents in under 12 years of age

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byPandaman1234 November 1, 2017

Rating + Review

this show is very relatable as I too have autism and many aspects of Shaun's life appeared in mine like his increased sensitivity to noise and how he fidgets with things in a manner only found in people with autism when he is stressed with life and/or things going on around him. My parents haven't aloud me to watch this show but I still watch it in secret as I find the main character very relatable and a good role model for kids who may also have autism. In conclusion this show gave me a sense that every child with autism wishes they had so much of... The sense that they are not alone. Many kids with autism seem to not fit in with people whether it be at work, school or at home and this show gives them a sense that it is alright to be different in ways that most others could not comprehend.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysnowflake8983 October 27, 2017

Amazing!!!

This show in my opinion is one of the best medical dramas out currently. It's about an autistic doctor and has great messages showing that even if you have a disability it doesn't have to stop you! My only warning is that in the pilot there is a brief scene with residents in the on call room under the covers, but nothing sensitive is shown. There is frequently open heart surgery's but not too bad on gore. Little to no swearing or drinking and has great role models! There is also a girl in ep 4. with an STD but consequences are shown and she feels terrible. Overall this show is a must watch in my opinion and probably best for 13+.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byKK_Loves_Disney March 17, 2018

OMG Love this show

I love this show soooo much. My family doesn't let me watch inappropriate stuff or anything and this show is honstly okay for teens. It doesnt talk a lot about sex but the surgies are explict so i get that CSM reviewed it a +14. Really great role modles too.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byThe Screen Ninja November 18, 2017

Interesting

Definitely give it ago, only you can form your own opinion on this one. I do think this show is suitable for teens at least the age of 15, depending on how sensitive they are as there's different strengths of gore in each episode. Episode 6 was more than the average (for example blood spurting, burn wounds) but not too horrific in my eyes. Sends a good message about hope and learning to be open minded but seems a bit unrealistic. None the less the loveable "Shawn Murphy" played by Freddie Highmore keeps viewers never knowing what will occur next.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byTaliaReinstein June 10, 2018

Great

I love this medical drama it’s fun and has a great role model usually with this medical dramas you see inside and it’s gross but the don’t to that here and it’s fun, yes I do admit it gets a little dark but it’s really good my advice WATCH IT

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byAll For Jesus May 23, 2018

So far, it’s alright. Plot doesn’t redeem some excessive immorality

So far, I have watched through Season 1 Episode 4, and this is the rundown: The first three episodes are great, and reasonably appropriate for (in my opinion) kids 14+ish. I would, however, recommend skipping the fourth episode entirely, as it more or less graphically details several plots and subplots that deal with sex, sexual activities, abortion, and immorality. The primary plot of Episode 4 is good, so to speak, but I would only recommend this episode for 18+. In my opinion, the official review for this series does not sufficiently warn about scenes of couples in bed, reference to pornography or hooking up, etc. However, if you are only looking for a show based on minimal swearing, this if for you. As always, you, the reader/viewer, should bear in mind that I am a very conservative teen, in case that effects the helpfulness of my review. I will update this review as I watch more of the show!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 9 years old April 10, 2018

a little kissing good role models

I like shawn good role model

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byChrysanthemum17 April 8, 2018
This show is great! I can't wait for the second season to come out!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bylittlepig1 April 2, 2018

Amazing

This show is so beautifully done. The representation was great, and I love it for that. The gore is pretty bloody since it's a medical show but there are no sex scenes and just a couple of kisses. Recommend it for everyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byhd838837 March 30, 2018

Awesome show

This show is important because it allows for a clear understanding of challenges some people face and how people with disabilities can still achieve their dreams. There are a few mature scenes every now and then but nothing extreme. Children above the age of 11 should be okay. The only thing that may disturb others are a few surgeries that take place in some episodes.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byAdali March 15, 2018

an absolute favorite

I love this show! Typically medical make me queasy, but this one doesn't bother me. I love Dr. Shaun Murphy, as Leah puts it he is 'refreshingly honest'. The characters are wonderfully dynamic and celebrate humanity. The ideas explored on this show are intriguing and insightful. There is such focus on respecting and loving people for who they are. This show is amazing, but it is for an older audience. I warned about violence, because the surgeries don't always go well. There are deaths and complications which can be extremely emotional. The topics explored are often quite serious, and may not be appropriate for some younger teens and tweens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byMochiWolf February 18, 2018

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!

Okay, let me just get the bad stuff out of the way: There is some sexy stuff, and a sprinkling of cuss words. Also, there is a lot of blood and organs shown, but hey, it's a hospital show, what do you expect? Onward to the good stuff! Shaun Murphy is so lovable, and because of his condition, he is a very sincere, honest character who you can't help but want to be friends with. The lessons learned in the episodes are amazing, and I love the unique blend of hospital, drama, and romance. This show is quite emotional, and the only show in the world that ever succeeded in making me cry. (I NEVER cry watching TV or movies, so I was as surprised as anyone when I started bawling!) Also, I have a cousin who has autism, and this show really helped me know how to talk to her and interact with her. This show is amazing, both because of the plot, and how it's actually educational, in a way. Anyway, I HIGHLY recommend this show.